We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Canal House

Save
Share
Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam The Netherlands
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Snaptravel
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (485)
360
Panoramas (50)
Room & Suite (363)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
Read more
Updated 08/05/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Canal House
Updated 08/05/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#42 of 411 hotels in Amsterdam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2020 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
Canal House offers boutique-style rooms in the Grachtengordel-West district, 290 yards from Westermarkt tram stop. This design hotel features free Wi-Fi and grounds with summer house for private meetings.The rooms at Canal House feature sumptuous decor with dark woods and luxurious fabrics. Each room has an open-plan layout and includes a flat-screen TV, minibar and work desk.The Amsterdam Tulip Museum and Anne Frank House are less than a 5-minute walk from Canal House. Amsterdam Central Train Station is less than a 15-minute walk away.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Nightclub / DJ
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Safe
Laptop safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
280Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
140Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
880Reviews23Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 605
  • 202
  • 45
  • 16
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
phyllisSanFrancisco wrote a review Apr 2020
san francisco32 contributions8 helpful votes
Our room was spacious and looked onto the canal. All employees were helpful, kind and welcoming. Breakfast was wonderful. Made our visit memorable. Ask for a room facing the canal. Small bar area near the lobby was great for a before turning in night cap.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Travelot wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom12 contributions1 helpful vote
This was a real gem of a find. Our host could not have been more friendly and helpful. The steps would be challenging to older folk but not problem for us. Perfect location to walk from or use public transport. Great places to eat and drink just yards away
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
L8411 wrote a review Feb 2020
35 contributions8 helpful votes
Pros Good service, friendly staff with good knowledge Comfy bed Visually pleasing Good location Good facilities - amazing free toiletries Cons Having to pay for hot breakfast items inc tea or coffee Charging €12 for the cocktails when we checked out despite the menu saying €10!!! Dodgy shower - goes hot and cold all the time Noisy church bells that chime every 15 minutes
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
LissyBtravels wrote a review Jan 2020
Geneva, Switzerland174 contributions60 helpful votes
Would loved to have stayed here but couldn’t get beyond the incompetence of the reservations people. Was offered a rate for two of the more expensive rooms for a booking a few months hence, and told if I joined the membership programme there would be a further 15%off this rate. Yippee! Duly signed up and went back with the promo code to book, to be told by another reservations agent, forget the 15% code, you can have 30% off on a “winter deal”. Said “ yes please let’s book”, to be told “sorry that doesn’t apply to your dates” . Said “no matter I’ll have the15% discount please” only to be told that the original price quoted already included a discount, so I couldn’t have that either. When I queried the quote in writing - which clearly stated the discount would be applied on the rate above - the hotel admitted their agent had made a mistake, and refused to honour the discount. At this point I looked on the online booking to find there were cheaper rooms available for the dates I’d asked for, which hadn’t been offered by email, so I phoned the hotel to check out this availability. A different reservations agent told me, even though it was showing on the website as available, this cheaper room was full. At this stage I gave up entirely, having wasted 48h on emails and calls getting me nowhere, and booked elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Minime79 wrote a review Jan 2020
Sandnes, Norway8 contributions1 helpful vote
Everything was perfect from arrival to departure. Friendly staff who went out of their way to make sure my friends and I had everything we needed/wanted. Great combination of charming and classy interior. Perfect location! If I should point out something less than perfect, it must be that the prepaid breakfast wasn’t worth the money.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristeld D, General Manager at Canal House
Responded Jan 22, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I’m happy to read that you enjoyed Amsterdam and that your overall experience was a fantastic one. I’m of course sorry to read that you felt your stay lacked that extra wow factor you were anticipating. We work very hard to delight each and every guest who stays with us – we would love to have you stay at Canal House again and for the opportunity to make sure that you arrive and leave absolutely thrilled with your stay. Have a lovely day, Kristel Dom
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$262 - $531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
canal hotel amsterdam, canal house amsterdam, canal house hotel amsterdam
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamGrachtengordel-West / Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) / Centrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Canal House
Which popular attractions are close to Canal House?
Nearby attractions include Anne Frank House (0.1 miles), The Jordaan (0.3 miles), and Museumphoto (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Canal House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Canal House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Canal House?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Canal House?
Conveniently located restaurants include VISSER Amsterdam, Ta Toru, and Tacos & Tequila.
Is Canal House located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Amsterdam.
Are any cleaning services offered at Canal House?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Canal House?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Canal House?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Anne Frank House (0.1 miles), Concertgebouw (1.4 miles), and Portuguese Synagogue (1.0 miles).
Does Canal House have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.