We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

NH Amsterdam Noord

Visit hotel website
Traveler (160)
360
Panoramas (12)
Video
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Silver level
The four-star NH Amsterdam Noord hotel in Amsterdam boasts 290 newly renovated rooms, all with modern facilities and air-conditioning. Located in northern Amsterdam, The hotel encompasses a large parking lot with 150 spaces, and offers complimentary shuttle service to the city center day and evening.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free Parking
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast Available
Business Center with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Public Wifi
Shuttle Bus Service
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:GET UP TO 25% OFF!
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
80Somewhat walkable
Grade: 80 out of 100
64Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
15Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
809Reviews
534Photos
37Q+A
27Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 321
  • 341
  • 98
  • 23
  • 26
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We chose the NH group as it is a brand we trust. To say we were am disappointed is an understatement. Even though we knew it was outside main Amsterdam, the area was worse than expected. The public areas of the hotel were incredibly shabby. We were guided to what looked like
Read more
Although the hotel is a little way out of town, there is a free shuttle bus which picks up & drops off guests at the east end of Central Station, right up until midnight. (Pick-up point is outside the Sixt Car Hire office). For anyone wishing to stay in town a little later, I
Read more
Response from NHAmsterdamNoord, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Noord
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Im-crafty-legend, Thank you so much for taking your time to write this review. We are glad to see that you have had a nice stay with us at the Noord. How lovely to read that you have had a warm welcome and that you enjoyed our facilities. The prices are higher since the beginning of this year because of the TAX rate etc. so I do understand it seems a little bit expensive to you. We are looking forward to welcome you again soon! Warm regards, Dagmar Gielens Hotel Director
Read more
Stayed a few nights here. Hotel is s little bit out but a shuttle bus runs up and down to central station daily. First night our room was freezing heating didn’t work asked them to have a look. Second night was the same so reported it again. We were given an upgraded room and
Read more
Response from NHAmsterdamNoord, Manager at NH Amsterdam Noord
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Wburns5, Thank you very much for taking the time to express your thoughts with regards to your recent stay with us at the Noord. It was a pleasure to have welcomed you, although it is disappointing to read that we have been unable to fully live up to your expectations. Would you be so kind to share some details about your experience with us? We are always eager to learn and truly appreciate the feedback that our guests provide us with, enabling us to continuously improve ourselves and the service which we want to offer to everyone! Please feel free to reach out to me via a.kurowska@nh-hotels.com. I am looking forward to getting in touch with you! Warm regards, Aneta Kurowska Quality Manager
Read more
Absolutely outstanding service and hotel. Free shuttle service to/from city centre/hotel was second to none. Every fifteen minutes! Amazing! Shuttle bus driver was on his break so the hotel booked a taxi and paid for it. I was freezing at night (I’m ALWAYS cold, this isn’t
Read more
Response from NHAmsterdamNoord, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Noord
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Amoruso04, Wow! What a wonderful review about your recent stay with us, thank you so much! We feel truly delighted about your praising words and are happy to see that the hospitality of our team has enabled you to fully enjoy your visit to Amsterdam. How lovely to read that our complementary shuttle service has enabled you to easily access the very city centre of Amsterdam in a short period of time! If you are planning to visit Amsterdam anytime soon again, we would be excited at the possibility to welcome you once again as one of our guests! With warm regards, Dagmar Gielens Hotel Director
Read more
Just recently stayed at this hotel before I start can I just say how amazing the staff are so polite defiently the nicest Hotel staff We have come across. I spent my birthday here I was given two glasses of free champagne in the morning and on arrival back to my room in the
Read more
Response from NHAmsterdamNoord, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Noord
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Jasmine, Our most sincere gratitude for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay with us at NH Amsterdam Noord - and what a wonderful one! We feel absolutely honored to receive such a rating and will surely share this with the rest of our team. The comments for our Shuttle department were discussed directly with the department head concerned. If you are planning on visiting Amsterdam any time soon again, then we will be looking forward to welcoming you again! Warm regards, Dagmar Gielens Hotel Director
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorNH Amsterdam Noord
The Superior Room at the NH Amsterdam Noord
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorNH Amsterdam Noord
The Standard Room at the NH Amsterdam Noord
Photo provided by managementNH Amsterdam Noord
Room big photo
room
PreviousNext
12345635
Hi Michelle, I am sorry but on what is exactly allowed in a coffee shop, it might be wise to contact them about the rules. The bulldog is quite famous, they probably can answer your question online. Best regards, Dagmar
0 votes
Hello Simon, You are right over 20 years ago it started as Galaxy hotel. It has changed names frequently. The hotel is now part of the NH Hotel Group and is called NH Amsterdam Noord. Hope to have answered your question sufficiently. Kind regards, Dagmar
1 vote
Show all answers
Dear Scott, Thank you greatly for booking our hotel NH Amsterdam Noord. Unfortunately, we do not provide a shuttle service from the airport to the hotel. Please find below the details on how the hotel can be reached: // From Schiphol Airport// Trains run every 10 minutes from Amsterdam Airport Schiphol to Amsterdam Central Station between 05:40h am and 00:30h. Train tickets can be bought at Schiphol Airport itself. The costs of a single-way ticket are approximately 4,2 EUR. // From central station by bus // Take bus 34,35, 91 or 94 from the station to the Mosplein. From there, the hotel is approximately five minutes on foot. // From central station by shuttle // We also provide a complimentary shuttle service from our sister hotel NH Collection Barbizon Palace between 09:00 till 00:15. The hotel is situated on the Prins Hendrikkade 59-72, 1012 AD Amsterdam just on the opposite of Central Station. Should you have any other questions, please feel free to reach out to us. We are looking forward to welcoming you! Warm regards, Bart van den Hauten Hotel Director
1 vote
Show all answers
Dear Paul, Thank you greatly for your question. Hereby I would like to inform you that the airport is located on a 30 to 40 minute travel by making use of public transport. A taxi drive from the hotel to the airport takes about 20 minutes. By making use of our complementary shuttle service you can access the city center within 10 to 15 minutes. If you have any other questions, please feel free to reach out to us! Warm regards, Bart van den Hauten Hotel Director
0 votes
Dear Paul, Thank you greatly for making a reservation with us. With regards to your question, I am happy to inform you that we have a complementary shuttle service available as from 09:00h until 00:15h. The shuttle drives from NH Amsterdam Noord to NH Collection Barbizon Palace, located across the central station of Amsterdam. From 15:00h until 22:30h, our shuttle service is leaving every 15 minutes. Before and after this time, the shuttle is on request via the reception within both hotels. The hotel is also easy accessible by making use of public transport. Either make use of bus 34,35, 91 or 94, leaving at Central Station and exit at Mosplein. From here, the hotel is approximately five minutes on foot. Might you have any other questions, please feel free to reach out to us directly. We are looking forward to your arrival! Warm regards, Bart van den Hauten Hotel Director
0 votes
PreviousNext
1234568
"we had a porch but there is no river view either way"
"Add breakfast onto your rate! You won't be disappointed."
"Room 642 has great views of the centre of Amsterdam."
"Rooms close to the elevators have a balkony."
"ask for a room NOT next to flying personnel who needs to get up very early"
PreviousNext
123456
PRICE RANGE
$117 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
nh galaxy hotel amsterdam
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
NH Galaxy
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamAmsterdam NorthOud NoordVolewijckVan der Pekbuurt
NUMBER OF ROOMS
290
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing