We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Javakade 766, 1019 SH Amsterdam The Netherlands
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$210
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$210
View deal
Etrip
$181
View deal
Hotels.com$210
Travelocity$210
Priceline$210
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1761)
Room & Suite (314)
Dining (186)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#23 of 417 hotels in Amsterdam
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.6
Value
4.4
2022 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best

See why so many travelers make Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam their hotel of choice when visiting Amsterdam. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a romantic setting with an array of amenities designed for travelers like you.

Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Museum Het Rembrandthuis (Rembrandt House) (1.1 mi) and Dam Square (1.2 mi), guests of Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam can easily experience some of Amsterdam's most well known attractions.

The rooms offer a flat screen TV, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam features room service. In addition, as a valued Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam guest, you can enjoy a pool and free breakfast that are available on-site.

When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out Foodhallen, THE DUCHESS, and Zaza's, which are some Mediterranean restaurants that are popular with locals and out-of-towners alike.

Looking to explore? Then look no further than Red Light District (1.1 mi), A'dam Lookout (0.9 mi), and Body Worlds (1.2 mi), which are some popular Amsterdam attractions – all conveniently located within walking distance of the hotel.

At Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Amsterdam.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Parking
Internet
Indoor pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Harbor View
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch, German

Location

Full view
75Somewhat walkable
Grade: 75 out of 100
104Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
55Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
1702Reviews46Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,259
  • 300
  • 88
  • 33
  • 26
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Nathan B wrote a review Yesterday
Cloquet, Minnesota530 contributions98 helpful votes
In my opinion I am confused as to how this hotel has such a high rating (the reason I booked). Maybe this is normal standards for a hotel in the Netherlands, but the rooms are SMALL, dinky little hallway to walk into one’s room. I have had the air conditioning on for 3 days trying to cool the tiny room down, not cool in the slightest, while I keep the drapes shut to keep the sun from heating it up more. It’s a quite busy hotel, but from the moment you walk into the building you are crammed in, your immediately at the reception desk, elevators are directly across for the reception desk with very little room as new guests are attempting to find room to stand until it’s their turn. The breakfast is nothing remotely special or even a 5 in a 1-10. Small area to attempt to feed so many people, there seems to be enough seating, but the small layout to feed people was not planned very well. The front desk has specifically told me she was giving me an extra key to keep the air on, (doesn’t work anyway) but let’s present it does, House Keeping comes by today and takes the darn key out so their was zero chance of cooking the room off. For those not wanting to be in the middle of a rush of people you will like this place as it is certainly on its own plot of land away from everything else.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nico Evers, General Manager at Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam
Responded today
Dear Nathan, Thank you for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations. For sustainability reasons we do not have air-cooled air conditioning, but we have floor cooling and fresh air supply to provide the rooms with outside air. If you intend to stay with us in the future, please send me a personal email and we will make sure your room is at the right temperature. Kindest regards, Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam Nico Evers General Manager nico.evers@hoteljakarta.nl
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Craig N wrote a review Yesterday
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom32 contributions26 helpful votes
+1
This is a beautiful hotel with a great story behind it and my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our three nights here celebrating our second wedding anniversary. The communication before arriving was excellent, with the reception staff helping me order a bouquet of flowers for my wife that were in our room on arrival. They were also kind enough to let us check in to our room even though we arrived before 3pm. The hotel itself has everything you could need. The rooms are spacious with very comfortable beds and a balcony. There is a spa, swimming pool, bakery, restaurant and bar on site, all of which were excellent. The staff were also overwhelmingly friendly and helpful, more down to earth and chatty than you might expect at quite a grand-looking hotel. Make sure you book your spa treatments well in advance as unfortunately we were not able to book a couples’ massage on arrival. The location of the hotel is great, on a tranquil island which provided respite from the enthusiastic chaos of central Amsterdam but also only five minutes away from the centre by a bus which stops right outside. Unfortunately there were a few minor negatives. I had requested bedding without feathers before arrival as my wife has allergies so we were disappointed to find our bedding did contain feathers when we got to our room. Once we contacted reception, this was put right very quickly though. Despite the staff being very good on the whole, we were a little disappointed with a couple of the interactions. Firstly we were advised by the reception to book a table at the restaurant but after standing for a few minutes waiting for a member of staff from the restaurant to take our reservation, we were then sent back to reception to do this. We also enquired about getting a late check-out and, having called the evening before check-out as advised, we were told we could check out slightly later at 1pm. It was therefore disappointing when we received a call to our room at 12.30pm, reminding us our check-out was at 12pm and essentially asking us why we hadn’t checked out yet. Again this issue was resolved quickly when we explained we had arranged for a slightly later check-out, but it’s disappointing this oversight was made.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nico Evers, General Manager at Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam
Responded today
Dear Craig, Thank you for being our guests and for taking the time to write this review on Tripadvisor ! Your compliments about the rooms, facilites, and staff are highly appreciated. My apologies for some inconvenience caused. Your feedback will be shared with everyone involved. I do hope to get the chance to welcome you again soon! Kindest regards, Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam Nico Evers General Manager nico.evers@hoteljakarta.nl Please use code friend5 on our website to receive an extra discount and other benefits
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard S wrote a review Aug 14
Birmingham, United Kingdom39 contributions56 helpful votes
This hotel met all our expectations, and more. We stayed for a few days and it was a perfect base for our trip. The tropical gardens are stunning, and the pool and its water jets were the perfect way to relax and unwind after a day in the city. We had coffees and cakes from the hotel's bakery, and the breakfast and dinner options were great for us. One of the big plus-points for us was the location - we loved the views across the water from our balcony, and from the hotel's bar - particularly spectacular after dark. A quick stroll over the bridge gets you to the tram stop, and in less than 10 minutes you're in central Amsterdam. There are nice cafes and supermarkets just a few minutes along the waterfront, and a park area next to the hotel to relax in on sunny days. The staff were also wonderful - super helpful and welcoming. We will be back :)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Head over the river bridge and grab a tram to Centraal or anywhere else around Amsterdam in just...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nico Evers, General Manager at Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam
Responded today
Dear Richards, I am glad to hear that we met all your expectations. Thank you for pointing out the advantages of our great location! We are proud to have this beautiful location surrounded by the river IJ. Also, the compliments regarding my team are highly appreciated. I will share your comments with them! I do hope we can welcome you again when your travel plans bring you back to Amsterdam. Kindest regards, Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam Nico Evers General Manager nico.evers@hoteljakarta.nl Please use code friend5 on our website to receive an extra discount
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bill wrote a review Aug 14
1 contribution1 helpful vote
This was the worst stay in a hotel I’ve ever had. I stayed 3 full days in this hotel and recieved food poisoning from the buffet breakfast on my first day. My entire trip was spent violently Vomiting as a result. My entire trip was worthless as I could barely function. Needless to say my trip was ruined once this happened. The food sits out for hours before being consumed by patrons. Fell ill an hour after eating the breakfast. I’m guessing it was the eggs. I notified the front desk as to what had happened and their response was to offer me a free drink from the bar. GTFO!! As I’m vomiting over and over and over they want me to come down to the bar for a free drink? Worst attempt from management to help relieve the situation. Was also told by an employee working in the hotel that I don’t have food poisoning because no one else complained to the front desk. His rationale did not make any sense but he was doing everything possible to not take responsibility for the bacteria ridden food. The Jakarta employee is not a doctor so not sure why he was attempting to diagnose me and tell me I didn’t get food poising from Hotel Jakarta when it was the only meal I had in Amsterdam!! Seeing how defensive he was made me believe even more he was hiding information from me. I will never return to this hotel. The staff couldn’t care less and we actually got worse service once they found out we complained. Don’t be fooled by plants in a hotel, when you get food poisoning here you won’t care how nice the plants look. Pool is also cold and rooms have no AC. Could have had a better experience staying literally anywhere else. Still suffering from the Food poisoning days after consuming the rotten food. I also have no allergies.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Lindi S wrote a review Aug 13
Cape Town Central, South Africa25 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
This is my second time at Jakarta, and as always I truly enjoyed the stay. It is a beautiful hotel, with lots of extra features, like the relaxing pool area and lovely spa. The rooms are spacious and well laid out, it’s in a nice location and the staff are friendly. My only comment would be that the first layer of sustainability is there but there is a lot of room for improvement. Little plastic jams, butters, etc at breakfast (which has no real vegan /plant based food options) and cups and soaps wrapped in plastic in the room are a bit curious.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nico Evers, General Manager at Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam
Responded yesterday
Dear 307lindis, Thank you for returning to the hotel for the second time. Returning guests are the best compliment we can get! Also, thank you for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor! We will take the comment regarding plastics and vegan/ plant based options to heart. We are working on it and are trying our best to do the most possible in terms of sustainability. I do hope to get the chance to welcome you again! Kindest regards, Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam Nico Evers General Manager nico.evers@hoteljakarta.nl Please use code friend5 on our website to receive an extra discount and other benefits.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ion wrote a review Aug 12
1 contribution
Very nice hotel with friendly staff. Will definitely go back again. Rooms are well designed with comfortable bedding. Breakfast has lots of selections between pastries, fresh cooked veggies and egg benedict.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nico Evers, General Manager at Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam
Responded yesterday
Dear lontech, Thank you for being our guest and the compliments are highly appreciated! I do hope to welcome you in the future again. That is the best compliment we can get! Kindest regards, Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam Nico Evers General Manager nico.evers@hoteljakarta.nl Please use code friend5 on our website to receive an extra discount and other benefits
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
julius s wrote a review Aug 11
Ukraine8 contributions
Had a really nice stay at this hotel in the capital of the Netherlands. Simply put it’s an amazing top quality hotel. From the warm reception, nice room, the wellness facilities, beautiful skybar and friendly staff. The beautiful greenery …
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nico Evers, General Manager at Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Julias, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and our facilities so much. The compliments regarding my team are going to be shared with them! I am sure that the compliments will make them as proud as I am. I do hope to welcome you again in the near future! Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam Nico Evers General Manager nico.evers@hoteljakarta.nl Please use code friend5 on our website to receive an extra discount and other benefits
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Olivia D wrote a review Aug 10
14 contributions3 helpful votes
My husband and I have just returned from 3 nights at Hotel Jakarta. We absolutely loved the hotel. The staff were so friendly, the room was beautifully decorated with all the amenities you could need and we felt the location was perfect - just far enough out of the centre that you escape the hustle and bustle but equally only two stops on a very quick and efficient tram to be right outside Central Station. We hope to return to Amsterdam and will most definitely stay here again if we do.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nico Evers, General Manager at Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Oliviad, Thank you for staying at Hotel Jakarta for 3 nights and for taking the time to write this wonderful review! I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. I hope you will return in the future! Returning guests are the best compliment we can get. Kindest regards, Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam Nico Evers General Manager nico.evers@hoteljakarta.nl Please use code friend5 on our website to receive an extra discount and other benefits.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elizabeth N wrote a review Aug 8
2 contributions
Hotel Jakarta is an absolute dream. The hotel itself is gorgeous. The rooms are quiet and large. The bed is incredibly comfortable. The bathtub is huge and inviting. The hotel thought through everything in making this space and it shows. The balcony overlooking the water is surreal and brings a calming atmosphere to the stay. My fiancé and I were so happy with this hotel. The walk to the city center does take a bit longer. But the public transit has a stop right by the hotel, so it was easy to get everywhere from the hotel. We are looking forward to returning next time we come to Amsterdam.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: There is a bus stop right outside the hotel that will take you to the city center. Alternatively,...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nico Evers, General Manager at Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Elizabeth, Thank you for staying at Hotel Jakarta and for writing this amazing review on Tripadvisor! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much, especially regarding your room and the location of our hotel. We are proud to have this beautiful location surrounded by the river IJ. Thank you for coming back in the future, that is the biggest compliment we can get. Kindest regards, Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam Nico Evers General Manager nico.evers@hoteljakarta.nl Please use code friend5 on our website to receive an extra discount and other benefits.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharon00London wrote a review Aug 8
London, United Kingdom11 contributions5 helpful votes
Good hotel, very clean excellent buffet breakfast. Only fault is the rooms to the front of the hotel up to 3rd floor are very overlooked. Only heavy curtains for privacy, which not ideal as this makes room very dark during daylight hours. Maybe some kind of net curtain would solve the problem
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nico Evers, General Manager at Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Sharon, Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor! We will have a extra look at those rooms with de heavy curtains and how we can improve on this. It has been a pleasure to welcome you to the Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam! I hope you will be back in the future! Kindest regards, Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam Nico Evers General Manager nico.evers@hoteljakarta.nl Please use code friend5 on our website to receive an extra discount and other benefits.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$208 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamJava Island / Amsterdam East / Zeeburg / Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
200
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam?
Nearby attractions include WONDR Experience (0.4 miles), Het Scheepvaartmuseum| The National Maritime Museum (0.6 miles), and Glow MiniGolf Amsterdam (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam?
Conveniently located restaurants include Grand Cafe 1884, Heart-Garden Waffles & Coffee, and Mount Everest Tandoori.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Concertgebouw (2.4 miles), Portuguese Synagogue (1.1 miles), and Museum Het Rembrandthuis (1.1 miles).
Does Hotel Jakarta Amsterdam have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.