We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pestana Amsterdam Riverside

Save
Share
Amsteldijk 67, 1074 HZ Amsterdam The Netherlands
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Pestana
Hotels.com
Destinia.com
$169
View deal
Expedia.com$202
Booking.com$202
Priceline
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (293)
Room & Suite (82)
Dining (22)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 09/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 09/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#106 of 419 hotels in Amsterdam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
A classical landmark turned haven of minimalist chic, this beautiful hotel is housed in a pair of 19th – century Neo-Renaissance-style buildings and two modern annexes on the banks of the Amstel River. The hotel is rising above the hippest part of town, “De Pijp”, in a quiet location just outside the hustle and bustle of the Amsterdam inner canal belt. With elegant guestrooms and a stunning lobby with beautiful ceilings and arches, this is the perfect base for your visit to one of Europe´s most picturesque and exciting cities. The SPA at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside includes an indoor swimming pool. Together with the restaurant ARCHIVE by Pestana and secure valet parking, this hotel is your perfect place of choice in Amsterdam. With a total of 10 meeting rooms including the stunning Town Hall Ballroom, with its original architecture facing the Amstel river, this is the perfect place for your business events, exclusive banquets, weddings and cocktail parties for up to 160 guests. Enjoy a sophisticated yet intimate experience in this contemporary 5-star hotel on banks of the Amstel River in Amsterdam.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Boating
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Walking tours
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch, German

Location

Full view
99Great for walkers
Grade: 99 out of 100
94Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
17Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
706Reviews27Q+A43Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 375
  • 164
  • 84
  • 52
  • 31
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
GijsWehkamp wrote a review Jan 13
Noordwijk, The Netherlands21 contributions1 helpful vote
Unfortunately i had to do a 7 day quarantine due to a corona infection! I stayed in one of the large studios and it was a fantastic room to do quarantine in; spacious, quiet, lot of daylight, small kitchenette, all the things you need to help you through the day! Staff was very helpfull and understanding! Will defenitely return!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Pestana Amsterdam Riverside, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Mr. Gijs W, On behalf of the entire team at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside, we would like to thank you for your kind feedback. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel (hopefully next time not to quarantine)! Warm regards, The Team at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside
Read more
Dawn_Lockmiller wrote a review Dec 2021
Knoxville, Tennessee16 contributions24 helpful votes
We spent 4 days in Amsterdam pre-river cruise, and chose this hotel because it was fairly close to the embarkation port. We used uber and car services to go into the main part of Amsterdam and enjoyed the relative quiet of the hotel's location. During our stay, Amsterdam went into a soft lockdown due to covid, and all restaurants/bars were closed at 5:00 p.m. The first night, because no preparations could be made in advance of the announcement, we walked down the street to a grocery to buy meats/cheese/bread for our dinner. The hotel very graciously opened up the bar for our group to use for our "picnic". The next day, we were given full menus to select our dinner, and the kitchen staff came in and prepared our dinners and delivered them to our rooms. The lobby is beautiful, the beds are ultra comfy, and the showers are wonderful with multiple shower heads. The staff was most accommodating, especially in view of the lockdown. We would DEFINITELY stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Pestana Amsterdam Riverside, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr./Mrs. Dawn_Lockmiller, On behalf of the entire team at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside, we would like to thank you for your fantastic feedback. We are extremely happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that we could help you make the best out of the stay with the current circumstances. It was our pleasure to have you as our Guest and we look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel! Warm regards, The Team at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside
Read more
robert wrote a review Nov 2021
Tucson, Arizona1 contribution
The hotel is very nice and we had a great room overlooking the Amstel River. The bed was comfortable and the staff was amazingly helpful. The bathroom was clean and had a great shower. The only issue we had was we felt that the food in the hotel restaurant was overpriced. We would definitely stay there again. It was our first trip to Amsterdam and we had a hard time figuring out the tram system (for which we bought a 3 day pass). One thing that would have helped would have been a map that was legible (the one the transit system gives out has type so small that you can’t read it) and written instructions on which stations to get on and off at to see the various tourist attractions in Amsterdam.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Take a canal cruise on your first day to get your bearings and get some history of Amsterdam.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Pestana Amsterdam Riverside, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside
Responded Nov 30, 2021
Dear Mr./Mrs. Mobile24787734185, On behalf of our entire team at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Your opinion is valuable for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs. We have shared your comments with our teams to ensure that adjustments will be made. It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside. Best regards, The Team at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside
Read more
Liam T wrote a review Nov 2021
6 contributions6 helpful votes
Very ….. unremarkable Meh, it was ok! Everything was ok, the accommodation, the breakfast the staff all ok. A few things annoyed me, like ringing down for an adaptor as I forgot mine to be told they don’t hv any spare ones however they had 15e ones for sale, very tight considering I had just parted with over 1000e. I also paid for a mini bar with literally 5 things, all you guessed it …ok!! also anytime I rang for a request or something was met with this confused voice who seemed like they had never heard this request before. Ie a jug of water for the room??? The tall curly haired gentleman at the front desk needs to spend some time being thought people skills. All in all fairly bland and just scrapes a 3 star from me 2 and half would be fair, considering they are literally MILES outside the centre and 25e cab ride away they need something to keep interest of guests. I put a bit of time into choosing this hotel and it didn’t meet my expectations at all. I would not return unfortunately.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Pestana Amsterdam Riverside, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside
Responded Nov 20, 2021
Dear Mr./Mrs. 871liamt, We would like to thank you for giving us your honest opinion on your stay. Unfortunately, we did not satisfy your expectations. Please accept our sincerely apology for any inconvenience caused. We have taken note of all the issues mentioned and we are working on implementation of improvements in short-term. We appreciate that you chose Pestana Amsterdam Riverside for your stay. We hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our high service standards and regain your trust during your next visit. Kind regards, The team at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside
Read more
António L wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
Very nice hotel, great location, good hospitality The staff is always available and helpful, the room is very good and spacious, and the bed looks like a cloud... It's the second time in three years I went to Amsterdam, and I stayed in the same hotel!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Ask for River View,
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Pestana Amsterdam Riverside, Guest Services / Front Office at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside
Responded Nov 14, 2021
Dear Mr./Mrs. 400ant_niol, On behalf of the entire team at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside, we would like to thank you for your kind feedback and for coming back to our Hotel. It is delightful for us to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that we could help you create memories. We look forward to hosting you again at our hotel! Warm regards, The Team at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$176 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamAmsterdam South / De Pijp / Nieuwe Pijp
NUMBER OF ROOMS
154
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pestana Amsterdam Riverside
Which popular attractions are close to Pestana Amsterdam Riverside?
Nearby attractions include Cafe Tapmarin (0.2 miles), Holocaust Memorial Walk (0.2 miles), and House with the Gnomes (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pestana Amsterdam Riverside?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tulsi Indian Restaurant, Rijsel, and Casa Nostra.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Pestana Amsterdam Riverside have airport transportation?
Yes, Pestana Amsterdam Riverside offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Pestana Amsterdam Riverside offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Dutch.