We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Bij-de-Amstel

Burmanstraat 9, 1091SG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bij-de-Amstel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 27: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here as hotels booked up. I'm not very picky normally. Told there was no lift so the stairs were fine. Really disappointed there was no wifi. Unacceptable as this was advertised and a vital selling point. Would not normally mind if away for a visit but as was in business this was no good. Tried to make contact with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Georgiegirl27
bijdeamstel, Owner at Bij-de-Amstel, responded to this review

Indeed there was a disturbance with the WIFI connection, which could not be solved during your stay, as we explained several times. In the meantime WIFI is working perfect and I really feel sorry for you that it wasnot during your stay. We didnot know that this interruption of the WIFI would happen. We checked the lights and we couldnot... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed 3 days at the B&B Bij-de-amstel. Honestly it was horrible! First of all they weren't expecting us, so the room wasn't CLEAN (we paid extra 35 pounds for cleaning on the arrival and the room was never cleaned while we stayed there) or READY .. basically the OWNER demanded us to carry the mattress up... More 

Helpful?
Thank Inês R
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Everything about this b&b is great! It was our first experience of staying in rental apartment,but turned out to be great! Apartment is very clean and tidy , located in a very nice area on a bank of Amstel chanel! The owner was very nice and helpful!!!

Helpful?
Thank Natali K
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This accomodation is located in a residential part of Amsterdam so it is perfect if you do not want to stay in the hustle and bustle of the centre. However it is less than a 5 minute walk to the metro and then in only 10 minutes you will be back in the centre of Amsterdam. On arrival at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dannydbessex
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed in the bed and breakfast for 3 nights in October and we really loved it. The room and en suite were spacious and very clean. The bed was really comfortable! The apartment is in a quiet residential area but is right on the metro line so it's very easy to get into the city. The owner, Willemien, was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire S
Novara, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at the bed and breakfast for three nights. Willemien was helpful and kind. The room was clean and nicely furnished, with lots of light, overlooking quiet gardens. There was a ceiling fan as well, which was useful given the summer temperatures. There was no breakfast available, but in the room we had a boiler we could use, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank ColdCappuccino
Sabie, Mpumalanga, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

It is a wonderful place to stay if you want to be on your own. Willemien was very kind and helpful. We had a wonderful time and recommend this place if you want to stay in a quite area in Amsterdam. The place is very near the metro and a small shopping place for your milk and bread.

Helpful?
1 Thank laeveld
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed in the bed&kitchen room for 4 nights, the room was quiet and noiseless and the location was in a residential quarter but very close to the metro stop. In the bathroom there was several towels and shower products so we didn't need to bring them from home. Nice and friendly, good price for the location and the provided... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Betbetbet
artist from Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Warm and comfortable with coffee and tea maker. Very quiet to the rear of the house overlooking the garden. As in typicaly dutch houses, steep stairs to the room. Willemina checked that everything was OK. It is 4 subway stations from Centraal but very close to the Amstel River and it is a nice walk to the Hermitage. Crockery was... More 

Helpful?
Thank artpainter
Heerlen, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The location is nice. Information about the city Amsterdam was pourly. The beds were good. The pratice of the owner is also in the house. This makes to much noise in the house. People going in and out. The neighbor has also a bed and breakfast. You can feel the tension between this two. Sorry about this review, but we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jan v
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#46 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 732 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#113 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#109 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,589 reviews
Hotel Casa 400
#61 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bij de Amstel is a cosy, quiet ‘Bed & Breakfast’ and ‘Bed & Kitchen’, situated in a beautiful area at a stones throw from the river from which Amsterdam derives its name. During a tourist and/or business visit to Amsterdam, Bij de Amstel is an ideal operating base to rest and enjoy yourself, while surrounded by luxury and comfort. You will find our colourful, fully equipped studio with private access in the attic of our nineteenth-century house. Very suitable for a longer – business stay. Also very suitable for parents with child.‘Bed & Breakfast’ is a spacious double-bedded room, situated quietly on the first floor at the back of the house. The room is equipped with all conveniences (bathroom with bath, internet, TV). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bij-de-Amstel

Address: Burmanstraat 9, 1091SG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range: $131 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bij-de-Amstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay