We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Post
Inbox
Search

Generator Amsterdam

Save
Mauritskade 57, 1092 AD Amsterdam The Netherlands
8 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$86
View Deal
Trip.com
$70
View Deal
Hostelworld.com
$94
$47
View Deal
SAVE $47
Expedia.com$86
Travelocity$86
Otel.com$94
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (463)
Room & Suite (74)
Dining (21)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Ride your bicycle along café-lined waterways, visit the most creative shops around De PijP or just kick back by the canal and try a few cold Dutch beers. It's pretty hard to get stressed in Amsterdam, but having a good time is easy. Generator Amsterdam is located in the up-and-coming eastern side of the city overlooking Oosterpark. This former zoological university building can accommodate 564 guests in 168 twin and quadruple rooms with incredible views on the surrounding and en-suite bathrooms. There is also one luxury apartment for six people with views of the park and a self-catered kitchen. It has flexible and spacious social areas, filled with creative design touches like glass-fronted elevators, a raised café and an outdoor terrace. We've turned the former lecture hall into an impressive chill-out lounge and bar, while the old library is now a relaxation and private events room. The basement and café are now dining destinations and the original boiler room has become a secret late night bar.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Game room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Street parking
Parking
Free internet
Wifi
Public wifi
Internet
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Bottled water
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
  • HOTEL CLASS
    1.5 stars
  • HOTEL STYLE
    Modern, Trendy
  • Languages Spoken
    English, French, Dutch, German and 1 more
  • NUMBER OF ROOMS
    168

Location

Full view
88Good for walkers
Grade: 88 out of 100
38Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
24Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1,184Reviews60Q+A54Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 550
  • 373
  • 146
  • 68
  • 47
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I can't speak highly enough of this hostel! Wonderful food in the cafe, AMAZING BAR STAFF, awesome people behind the desk. The room was clean, the amenities were wonderful. My only minor frustration was with the club noise reaching our 0 level room, and I wish the cleaning staff had emptied our trash and replenished our toilet paper in the week we were there. Otherwise, simply a beautiful place to stay.
Read more
Response from ManagementGenerator, Receptionist at Generator Amsterdam
Responded yesterday
Hi Jessie, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate the feedback. Our policy is to monitor the rooms and clean any rubbish. If you require extra cleaning, you can always mention this to our fabulous team at reception! :) Generator Amsterdam
Read more
Worst place here. They charge you the lump sum amount of money but no customer service or help provided. Make my trip was also of no help as they are third party agents and in Europe, they do not give a damn about them. Do not book this hotel at any cost.
Read more
Response from ManagementGenerator, Front Office Manager at Generator Amsterdam
Responded 6 days ago
Hi, I am sorry to hear you had a bad experience with the reservation. You do not explain what the situation is, so I am not sure about the issue. When possible we always try to help out our guest as good as we can, but when booking through a different channel we are restricted to make changes from our side. Hence, I would recommend to book with us directly. I still hope you will stay with us someday so we can make a better impression on you ;) All the best, Generator Amsterdam
Read more
Genuinely never met such an amazing member of staff. Such a caring and attentive person. She really went out of her way to make us feel welcome and was more than happy to help us out. She is an absolute goddess and I'd give her 10* for her service.
Read more
Response from ManagementGenerator, Front Office Manager at Generator Amsterdam
Responded 2 weeks ago
We Agree, she is the best! I will pass on this great compliment ;) Hope you also enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again! Generator Amsterdam.
Read more
Had a great time at Amsterdam Generator. Super impressed with the hotel and room. considering the price I wasn’t expecting much. Think i dealt with Emily from England who was superb the whole time we were there !!
Read more
Response from ManagementGenerator, Front Office Manager at Generator Amsterdam
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi there! Thanks for staying with us and great to see you enjoyed it here! Ill pass on your compliment to Emily ;) Hope to see you again soon! Cheers, Generator Amsterdam
Read more
The service was OK but not great, however, that is to be expected at a place like this. However, the rooms were great, tidy and clean. The location is really good. It's close to a cozy park. Takes about 20-25 minutes to walk to the center of the city.
Read more
Response from ManagementGenerator, Front Office Manager at Generator Amsterdam
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. 😀 We’ll make sure we take your comments on board and will try to make your experience even better next time. We would love to welcome you back again soon. Generator Amsterdam
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$57 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamOosterparkbuurt / Amsterdam East / Oud Oost
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Generator Amsterdam
Which popular attractions are close to Generator Amsterdam?
Nearby attractions include Tropenmuseum (0.2 miles), Oosterpark (0.1 miles), and Kastanjes (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Generator Amsterdam?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Generator Amsterdam?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Generator Amsterdam?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Generator Amsterdam?
Conveniently located restaurants include Elkaar, Cafe Kuijper, and De Biertuin.
Are any cleaning services offered at Generator Amsterdam?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Generator Amsterdam?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Italian, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Generator Amsterdam?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Anne Frank House (1.8 miles), Concertgebouw (1.7 miles), and Portuguese Synagogue (0.7 miles).
Is Generator Amsterdam accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.