We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Mauritskade 57, 1092 AD Amsterdam The Netherlands
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$236
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$236
View deal
Official Site
$83
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Traveluro$218
ZenHotels.com$268
Destinia.com$218
View all 13 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (485)
Room & Suite (107)
Dining (37)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 06/16/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Generator Amsterdam
Updated 06/16/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#31 of 461 in Amsterdam
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.1
Value
4.0
Ride your bicycle along café-lined waterways, visit the most creative shops around De Pijp or just kick back by the canal and try a few cold Dutch beers. It's pretty hard to get stressed in Amsterdam, but having a good time is easy. Generator Amsterdam is located in the up-and-coming eastern side of the city overlooking Oosterpark. This former zoological university building can accommodate 602 guests in 168 double king beds, twins and quadruple rooms with incredible views on the surrounding and en-suite bathrooms. There is also one luxury apartment for six people with views of the park and a self-catered kitchen. It has flexible and spacious social areas, filled with creative design touches like glass-fronted elevators, a raised café and an outdoor terrace. We've turned the former lecture hall into an impressive chill-out lounge and bar, while the old library is now a relaxation and private events room. The basement and café are now dining destinations and the original boiler room has become a secret late night bar.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Game room
Highchairs available
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Nightclub / DJ
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Bottled water
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, French, Dutch, German and 1 more

Location

Full view
89Good for walkers
Grade: 89 out of 100
41Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
24Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
1315Reviews64Q+A54Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 606
  • 414
  • 155
  • 73
  • 67
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Emilie F wrote a review Yesterday
Quepos, Costa Rica5 contributions
Very clean, well-designed rooms. The beds are comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful for anything I needed within the hostel as well as in answer to my questions about Amsterdam. The breakfast selection was excellent, and though I didn’t end up renting a bike, that was a cool and unique service they offered. It isn’t located in the centre, but there are tram stops very near by that make it easy to get wherever you need to. Would highly recommend staying here!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Asia wrote a review May 16
5 contributions
Rude receptionist, misinformation on website and scam. Big NO for female solo travelers. When I got there, I was informed of a change in the system and they moved me to a larger dorm even though I paid more for a smaller dorm. No matter how much you explain about your safety, they didn't understand and almost pressured me to accept the situation. I had no other choice and had to sleep with one eye open.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Generator Amsterdam, Guest Services / Front Office at Generator Amsterdam
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Asia, I'm really sorry to hear that we had to move you to a different room type. We moved your reservation to a female-only dorm, but I can still understand your frustration. I hope you can also understand that at that time, we really did not have another room to give you, so we did the best we could. Other than that, I hope that you enjoyed your time in the city, and I wish you good luck with all your future travels and adventures 😊 Joost, GenCrew
Read more
Hardbinger wrote a review May 14
Finland23 contributions37 helpful votes
Really enjoyed our stay at this modern and hip hotel. It's locate only short 15 minutes bike ride away from the central Amsterdam and 5 min from the Amsterdam zoo. The room had absolutely stunning views to the park - no need for tv. Only minor negative aspect was the bed. It was very basic and not very comfortable. Otherwise i highly recommend the Generator.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Generator, Guest Services / Front Office at Generator Amsterdam
Responded 1 week ago
Hiii Teemu, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we truly appreciate it! Good to hear you enjoyed the view so much and didn't need a tv ;) Thanks for the feedback, we'll take it with us! Cheers, GenCrew
Read more
lydiaelgustafson wrote a review May 13
1 contribution
Fantastic hostel. This was my first time at a hostel and I felt very safe and comfortable. Even moved my other hostel reservations so I can stay at other generator chains. It may seem far away on a map but the transportation was super easy and getting to the city felt fast. Great staff and great amenities. Thank you!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Generator, Guest Services / Front Office at Generator Amsterdam
Responded 1 week ago
Hii there, Thank you so much for your lovely review, you make me smile :) Great to hear you had a great first hostel experience and we could make you feel comfortable and safe! I wish you a lot of fun at our other Generator destinations! And you are always welcome here in Amsterdam :) GenCrew
Read more
sophiejanebaker wrote a review May 13
Chesterfield, United Kingdom1 contribution
The staff are very welcoming. They made me feel comfortable as soon as I walked through the door. Friendly atmosphere, cosy vibes. Rooms are clean and secure so you don't need to worry about your personal items.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Generator, Guest Services / Front Office at Generator Amsterdam
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Sophie, Thank you for writing such a sweet review! We are happy we could make you feel comfortable here!! Hope to see you again some time soon :) GenCrew
Read more
Manon F wrote a review May 7
1 contribution
Building a place for people to sleep in on top of a club is already counter-intuitive. But then the generator will give you rooms on the ground floor. DO NOT ACCEPT IT. Everything is shaking with the base. We asked to be moved and got a room in the 2nd floor. Can still hear the music through my earplugs. No sleeping between midnight and 5am can surely ruin a trip.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Generator Amsterdam, Guest Services / Front Office at Generator Amsterdam
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Manon, I'm really sorry to hear that. We'll definitely pass your feedback onto the right departments so that we can make everyone's weekend nice for next time. I do hope that you enjoyed your trip to Amsterdam for the rest of it :) Joost, GenCrew
Read more
Joe wrote a review May 5
1 contribution
I tried to call this hotel to reserve parking and they would not pick up the phone. I was on hold for an hour. The same employee kept putting me on hold when I would call back and would not speak with me. Customer service is the worst!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Generator Amsterdam, Guest Services / Front Office at Generator Amsterdam
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi jfik123, Thanks for writing us a review. I'm reaallly sorry that we didn't answer the phone when you wanted to talk to us. We always try our very best, but sometimes it's just too busy at the desk :/ If you need something from us, it's always a good idea to send an email, then we'll get back to that as soon as we have time again :) Hope this explains it, and needless to say you're always welcome here :) Joost, GenCrew
Read more
Beatnik O wrote a review Apr 2022
Middelburg, The Netherlands5 contributions
The staff was overall nice, particularly the ones at reception, who tried to help in everything they could. The bed in a shared room that I was assigned, however, was not clean when I entered the room (even though it was officially clean according to the system) so I had to be assigned another one. The cafe/restaurant is right next to the lobby and too exposed to its noise and activity. The open design is modern and nice looking but it doesn't work well for the needs of the hostel. At night we could also hear the loud music from the disco room right next to the restaurant while having dinner. We couldn't sit, relax and enjoy the meal at the end of our day. Food was delicious, though. And the staff at the canteen were nice and helpful. Breakfast was good for it's price, but the service was not the best. All the tables were dirty when we arrived and they stayed so until we left. The member of the staff in charge of the canteen did not seem to care too much. Overall chaotic. Needs more people working there during busy seasons.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Generator Amsterdam, Guest Services / Front Office at Generator Amsterdam
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Beatnik, Thank you for the thorough feedback. We will forward it to our responsible departments and will work the on the points. Regards, Gen Crew
Read more
Mohamed B wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Amazinggggg Special thanks to LUNAAAAA I LOVE HER SO MUCH!! WONDERFUL HUMAN BEING PLEASE GIVE HER A RAISE! She was awesome abd professionnel with helping my friend out The breakfast was wondeful! The rooms were cosy A natural park is literally near the hostel Amazing expérience
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Generator Amsterdam, Guest Services / Front Office at Generator Amsterdam
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience with us, we very much appreciate it. Team Generator Amsterdam
Read more
rodrigolunam wrote a review Apr 2022
Mexico City1 contribution
The hostal is well located. The receptionists are not friendly and not willing to help. Fees change dramatically without notice (upwards, of course). You cannot get a bed there unless you book vía Internet.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Generator Amsterdam, Guest Services / Front Office at Generator Amsterdam
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience with us, we very much appreciate it. Team Generator Amsterdam
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$123 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamOosterparkbuurt / Amsterdam East / Oud Oost
NUMBER OF ROOMS
168
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Generator Amsterdam
Which popular attractions are close to Generator Amsterdam?
Nearby attractions include Tropenmuseum (0.2 miles), Oosterpark (0.1 miles), and KIT Royal Tropical Institute (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Generator Amsterdam?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Generator Amsterdam?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Generator Amsterdam?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Generator Amsterdam?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hearth, Elkaar, and Cafe Kuijper.
Are any cleaning services offered at Generator Amsterdam?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Generator Amsterdam?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Italian, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Generator Amsterdam?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Anne Frank House (1.8 miles), Concertgebouw (1.7 miles), and Portuguese Synagogue (0.7 miles).
Is Generator Amsterdam accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.