We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Dolder Waldhaus Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Dolder Waldhaus Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

188 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 126: English reviews
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2016

Very expensive old hotel from the seventies, worn, noisy,uncomfortable, but... a great view to the Zurich Lake. and has a retro heated indoor pool that i enjoyed as a passionate swimmer. I looks and feels like 1 to 3 Star hotel, the offered room rate was around 500CHF for the night, unbelievable! All looks and feels like a hotel(and it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jurgen K
Thomas S, Resident Manager at Dolder Waldhaus Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your stay at the Dolder Waldhaus and for sharing your honest opinion with us. We regret that the overall performance was not what you had expected and are happy to read that you at least enjoyed the unique view as well as the indoor swimming pool. As mentioned in your comment the Dolder Waldhaus is... More 

Cedar Park, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights during our August vacation. Rooms were spacious with a balcony overlooking the lake. We also had a small kitchen with a frig and a large hot plate for simple meals. Loved the rustic location! It is located out of town beside the Dolder Park and Zoo. They provide a free shuttle each hour that goes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Txshrink68
Thomas S, Resident Manager at Dolder Waldhaus Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your stay at the Dolder Waldhaus and for sharing your positive feedback. It is great to read that you enjoyed the location as well as the courteous service provided by our team. Please rest assured that I have passed on your kind words to all staff. From the end of 2016, the Dolder Waldhaus will... More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
219 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2016

High above the hustle and bustle of town, but 10 minutes away from the centre by funicular which stops right in front, The ugly concrete facade which looks like subsidised housing hides a nicer interior with very comfortable rooms with small kitchenette. Ours had a breath-taking view of the city and lake from the balcony. Good-sized pool and spa area.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Xeni25
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Dolder Waldhaus and for sharing your detailed feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that we were able to change your first impression of the building and exceeded your expectations regarding our service, the view and the interior of your room. We also see the location of... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2016

Wonderful location at the top of a hill, with a good view of the city. It's gong to be closed for a complete reconstruction. In the meantime, it offers very large and confortable rooms (I'm ready to bet they'll be downsized...), some of them with cooking facilities. Restaurant in the average, considering it's in Switzerland. Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Johannes72
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated our product and services. Please rest assured that I will forward your encouraging words to my employees, since they are a great motivation and help us to continue in the same direction and to perform our daily services joyfully and with enthusiasm. It is a delightful to read... More 

Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2016

this hotel is a superb hotel. rest. Our room was excellent: kingsize bed, salon with desk , large bathroom, kitchenette with tea, coffee, filled fridge, special place with equipment for the wellness, beautifull view over Zurch & the Lac. Free parking at the hotel. Very gentle personel. the breakfast was great in buffet : different bread, meat, cheest , fresh... More 

Helpful?
Thank micheldemilie1957
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Dolder Waldhaus and for sharing with us your positive feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated our product and services. At the Dolder Waldhaus, we continuously strive to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations and we are delighted to forward your positive comments to... More 

United States
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2016 via mobile

This is the worst hotel ever. Poor service and worst staff. Squeaky beds. They don't care for customers complaints. The rooms are big but empty. They have separate mattress and comforters for a couple which make no sense if you are on honeymoon.

Helpful?
Thank drew4321
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Dolder Waldhaus and for sharing with us your valuable feedback. We truly regret that your experience with us and the overall performance of the Dolder Waldhaus was not what you had expected. The unsatisfactory points that you address in your comments have been reviewed and we wish to... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2016 via mobile

The hotel is old... The rooms are very small and "decorated" without any taste. Very disapointing to be honest. Oh, and when you order room service, which is available only till 10 pm, they want to charge you 6CHF for delivering the food to your room, really??? This hotel served its purpose, allowing me to sleep, that's it!

Helpful?
2 Thank jean philippe B
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Dolder Waldhaus for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We are disappointed to hear that we fell short of your expectations of our room decoration and opening hours of our restaurant. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience this has caused. The Dolder Waldhaus has been part... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2016

Unparalleled views over Zurich from the top of the Zurichberger. Beautiful cozy bedrooms with spectacular views of the city and lakes and all the beautiful houses in the area. Indoor pool and gracious dining room with delicious food. Closing down later this year. Go now!

Helpful?
Thank fran h
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Dolder Waldhaus and for sharing with us your positive feedback. We are delighted to hear that we were able to meet your expectations regarding the services and the view from your room. We also see the location of the Dolder Waldhaus as one of our highlights. It is... More 

Level Contributor
85 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2016 via mobile

To be honest, there is no point writing the review of the hotel since it will be knocked down in September. And it deserved to be. It is really 3 stars in terms of rooms and facilities and decor. Probably the most uncomfortable bed i ever slept on, more of a single rollaway bed with soft mattress. The best features... More 

Helpful?
Thank airwav
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Dolder Waldhaus and for sharing with us your valuable feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed the view from your room. We also see the location of the Dolder Waldhaus as one of our highlights. It is a privilege to have such a good view from our hotel.... More 

Brasschaat, Belgium
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2016 via mobile

Arrived pretty late here but where welcomed by friendly helpfull staff The room was a lot bigger then expected with a nice big balcony overlooking the city and a view of the lake Bathroom was older but clean and loved the heated floor Some fresh fruit was waiting in the room and that was a nice touch The had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dirk d
Thomas S, Manager at Dolder Waldhaus Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Dolder Waldhaus and for sharing with us your positive feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated our product and service. Please rest assured that I will forward your encouraging words to my employees, since they are a great motivation and help us to continue... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (67)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Sorell Hotel Rigiblick
#89 of 134 in Zurich
28 reviews
The Dolder Grand
#4 of 134 in Zurich
895 reviews
Fluntern
Sorell Hotel Zurichberg
Sorell Hotel Zurichberg
#40 of 134 in Zurich
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zurich Development Center
#114 of 134 in Zurich
10 reviews
Hotel Neufeld
#91 of 134 in Zurich
136 reviews
Hotel UTO KULM
#81 of 134 in Zurich
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in an elevated location on the Zurichberg yet only a few minutes away from the city centre, the Dolder Waldhaus offers a wonderful panoramic view of the city of Zurich, the lake and the Alps. The ideal setting for business trips and city breaks if you wish to combine peace and relaxation. Pool closure 2016 Due to maintenance work the pool area will be closed from 11 to 17 January 2016. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dolder Waldhaus Hotel

Address: Kurhausstrasse 20 | 8032 Zürich, Zurich 8032, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Price Range: $293 - $534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolder Waldhaus Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Dolder Waldhaus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dolder Waldhaus
Dolder Waldhaus zürich
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#46 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#48 Family Hotel in Zurich
#60 Business Hotel in Zurich
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Dolder Waldhaus Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Dallas, Texas

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Dolder Waldhaus Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“wait for the new hotel to be rebuilt”
 of 5 bubbles 558jurgenk, Sep 25, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for lake view”
 of 5 bubbles Xeni25, Aug 3, 2016 | Read review
“corner suite are larger and you can also see the Alpes !”
 of 5 bubbles micheldemilie1957, Jun 27, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the lake view”
  • Dolder Waldhaus 1
  • Dolder Waldhaus 10
  • Dolder Waldhaus 9
  • Dolder Waldhaus 8
  • Dolder Waldhaus 7
  • Dolder Waldhaus 6 - Zurich at night
  • Dolder Waldhaus 5
  • Dolder Waldhaus 4
 of 5 bubbles Bryuzga, Feb 12, 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here if you like cocktails without smoke...”
 of 5 bubbles T7560YCwilliamb, Feb 10, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay