We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sternen Oerlikon Hotel

Save
Share
Schaffhauserstrasse 335, Zurich 8050 Switzerland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel Sternen
Expedia.com
eDreams
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (169)
Room & Suite (93)
Dining (21)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 07/22/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
Updated 07/22/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#34 of 139 hotels in Zurich
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The extensively renovated city hotel with 56 air-conditioned rooms, a breakfast lounge, one meeting room and garage parking spaces will impress you with genuine hospitality and professional service, whether you are on a business trip, attending an event or trade fair, or simply visiting family.Since October 2012, the Hotel Sternen Oerlikon has had its own restaurant once again: the Brasserie "Ö" with bar and salon du cigare.Which is open monday to friday. Hot dishes are served between 11.30 am and 23.00 pm
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Salon
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, German
509Reviews8Q+A53Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 246
  • 208
  • 37
  • 11
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Mersey50 wrote a review Dec 2019
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Dont expect to get what you booked and dont expect staff to care about you being utterly disappointed!! Do expect a scam! You will be given a damn noisy room that feels like a cooker, with a tiny shower that floods into the room and soaks your clothes. You will not get a wink of sleep and feel compelled to ask for another room. If you ask to move rooms you will be told none are available but hey, if you want to pay a hefty premium, suddenly there is another room. Dont get me started on basic rations for drinks, 1 tea bag, 1 coffee and after that you have to do the walk of shame to reception to beg some more !!! Ridiculous hotel and ridiculous service. The only people getting a good room and good sleep are those paying the hotel direct or a hefty price. You will be penalised for booking with Booking.com and getting a so called special offer. I dont know why the hotel uses other booking partners if they dont like the customers when they arrive if they didnt book with hotel direct. Also note, the complimentary toiletries are BASIC! simply one squeezy bottle of an all in one soap/shower gel/shampoo etc that stings like hell. Left hotel early and will never go back, save yourself the hassle and book somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from sternenoerlikon, Geschäftsführer at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
Responded Dec 4, 2019
Mersey50, Thank you for your next complaint. We apprecite your feedback. After now leaving several comments on this plattform, we believe you have made your point now. We regret, that we were not able to meet your expecations. Nevertheless, we wish you a calm and satisfying Christmas Time and wish you all the best for the future. Best regards Regula Bürgin, General Manager
Read more
BrentonM8 wrote a review Dec 2019
Adelaide, Australia12 contributions7 helpful votes
We are travelling with our young niece and placed a booking some 5 months prior for two adjoining rooms to meet our accomodation needs. We specifically emailed requesting adjoining rooms as it’s the first time our niece has been overseas and been able to stay in a hotel. All we received from the hotel was confirmation of the booking, no response to our email and no indication that the request was actually impossible. We also received an email confirmation for our booking two days prior. Upon arrival we were advised that no adjoining double and single rooms were available, that the booking was only a request and that the hotel had noted it (but done nothing to confirm or deny the availability) and that for our stay we could have two rooms on the same floor which the hotel felt would be acceptable. Upon seeing the rooms which were the only option offered they are at each end of the corridor, in fact bar one room you can’t actually be further away. No offer of any alternative or even the inclusion of breakfast for the inconvenience. In our view this is totally unacceptable and to not have received any correspondence advising the position is just disappointing and taints the feel of the stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from sternenoerlikon, Geschäftsführer at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
Responded Dec 3, 2019
Dear BrentonM8 Thank you very much for your feedback, we appreciat your time. Normally, hotels do not confirm specific room numbers, facilities or any other special requests. Out of different reasons, it is sometimes not possible to assign the requested rooms. This was the same situation in this case. We have taken down your wish for an adjoining room. We have informed you, that we have noted this request. However, we did not guarentee adjoining rooms as we only have two adjoining rooms. On your arrival, we were unfortunately not able to assign the adjoining rooms to you. We regret, that we were not able to meet your expectations and thank you for your understanding. Best regards Regula Bürgin, General Manager
Read more
Jan vW wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution
Never had a room so clean, the bathroom was exremly shiny and there was a power plug for swiss and european type plugs. The room was well ventilated and not too warm or too cold. This made me sleep like a baby, it was great.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from sternenoerlikon, Geschäftsführer at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
Responded Dec 3, 2019
Dear JanvWilli Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel and the time you have dedicated to inform us about your stay. We are very happy to see, that you have liked your stay in our hotel and sincerly hope, that we will be able to welcome you back soon. Until then, we wish you a nice Christmas Time. Best regards Regula Bürgin, General Manager
Read more
sstflyers wrote a review Dec 2019
London, United Kingdom75 contributions34 helpful votes
It appears more hotels these days use the excuse that you got a good deal by booking via an online site such as booking.com etc to avoid giving you good customer service. When I enquired about changing my room as it was right by a lift, I was told they were full but then when I pushed a bit more - they said other options available if I paid more as I already had a good rate. Room was an oven and aircon didn’t work. Some Staff less than bothered. To have to open a window in November to cool a room is pretty extreme. Tried turning down the radiator but didn’t really work. Had to keep asking directly at reception for teabags and they handed out two at a time. Would not recommend at all. The nicest person in the whole place was a maid. Breakfast did not appeal and was expensive so used the local supermarket. Won’t recommend and will also use this as a case in point when I contact Expedia and Booking.com whose reputations are being affected by poor service.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from sternenoerlikon, Geschäftsführer at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
Responded Dec 3, 2019
Dear sstflyers Thank you for your comment. We appreciate the time you have dedicated to inform us about your experience. Best regards Regula Bürgin, General Manager
Read more
trustme68 wrote a review Dec 2019
surrey21 contributions34 helpful votes
Staying at this hotel ruined my trip to Switzerland. Supposedly recently renovated, the street facing rooms have not had sound insulation for sure. The noise level from the street prevented sleep and made me exhausted over 3days. Three other guests with rooms on the street also had little sleep.Of course I could get a better room if I wanted to pay extra !!! I expect to get a good room in any case as I paid enough to start with. For staff to suggest ear plugs and sarcastically hope I enjoy my stay is just not good enough. Booking with Expedia means hotel staff view guests as second rate guests,they explained that the worst rooms are allocated to Expedia guests because the rate the customer gets is low.The only way to get a better room, with advertised facilities is ....to pay more!Staff are indifferent and have a way to go to meet good customer service. Penny pinching cost exercise is counterproductive, by not replenishing tea and milk pods, making the guest go to reception for them after the first day is nonsense. I had a power cut for several hours on my last morning, showered in the dark in the tiny shower room. I didn't bother telling staff as I had come to expect an unhelpful result. Rooms were mega hot and thermostat broken. Hairdryer was not working on any day. I Would not recommend this hotel to anyone who hoped to have some sleep and enjoy seeing the sights.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from sternenoerlikon, Geschäftsführer at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
Responded Dec 3, 2019
Dear trustme68 Thank you very much for leaving your comments on serveral plattforms. We are impressed by your dedicated time. Again, we explain as follows: we absolutely do not treat guests booking on Expedia or any other plattform as "second rate". Again, you have booked a simple single room standard on Expedia for a very very good rate. In case you had booked a regular single room, you would have paid a little more on the plattform. That is why, we have asked you for an extra charge, since, it would have been an other room category. As you have mentioned on an other rating plattform, you did not inform us that the power was down in your room, nor that the hair dryer did not work ect. In this case, we are unfortunately not able to help. Thank you again for your dedicated time. Best regards Regula Bürgin, General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$139 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel sternen oerlikon, sternen oerlikon zürich
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of ZurichZurichOerlikon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
56
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Sternen Oerlikon Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Axtra (0.2 miles), Theater 11 (0.2 miles), and Market Oerlikon (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sternen Oerlikon Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant O, Tamarind Hill Indian Restaurant, and Dapur, indonesian plantbased restaurant.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Sternen Oerlikon Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sternen Oerlikon Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Sternen Oerlikon Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Liebfrauenkirche (2.0 miles), Platzspitz Park (2.0 miles), and Zunfthaus zur Meisen (2.7 miles).