We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Storchen Zurich - Lifestyle Boutique Hotel

Save
Share
Weinplatz 2, Zurich 8001 Switzerland
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Package deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Lol.travel
$476
$465
View deal
SAVE $11
Orbitz.com
Official Site
ZenHotels.com$476
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (601)
Room & Suite (171)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
Updated 04/14/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Storchen Zürich - Lifestyle Boutique Hotel
Updated 04/14/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#9 of 138 hotels in Zurich
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The Storchen Zürich is a traditional first class establishment with 64 stylishly elegant rooms and suites in the heart of the old city. Whether at the reception, at the Conciergerie, in the Rôtisserie or on the Terrasse, in the classical Storchen Bar, in our trendy Barchetta, in the Boulevard Café or even in our elegant hotel lobby, our long tradition of hospitality, together with our warm and personal service, can be enjoyed throughout the hotel.
Read more
Room & Suite (171)171
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 3 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Package deal
1107Reviews20Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 869
  • 188
  • 27
  • 12
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
David P wrote a review Jun 13
Switzerland105 contributions44 helpful votes
Let's start with the positive: - the hotel is ideally located, in the old historical town, next to the river, in a very relaxing area. - the rooms are comfortable, well equipped, the sound isolation is optimal - the hotel is very clean Let's continue with the disappointment: - I ordered last year in June, during the pandemic situation, a voucher (with discounted price) which include one overnight and a dinner. The aim was to support city hotels who were recently closed due to the sanitary restrictions with certain doubt for future economic outcome. The payment was made upfront with a possibility to use it within one year. My wife and I book the room for this last Friday with a notice of several weeks. In the offer we had a choice of 3 restaurants, two in the hotel (main restaurant and the bar) while another was in a partner restaurant within walking distance. During the reservation i clearly indicated my order of preference. When doing registration, none of my choice was considered; i was proposed to eat in the bar (they call it italian restaurant but there are actually no italian food ????), the prepaid menu proposed was a salad-hamburger-ice cream. Wow super 5-star choice!!! I asked to check if the partner restaurant can welcome us, and as you can imagine i was said it is already fully booked. I was very frustrated and asked them to consider another main course than hamburger, which they said they will look at it. We went for a walk in town and came across the partner restaurant; i decided to ask directly if we can book a table for dinner, which was confirmed to me and i was even able to have a table outside, but i have not used my voucher- It seems that my reservation skills are superior that the one demonstrated at Storchen. We had an excellent local meal. Do not expect in the breakfast buffet to have local products. On the fruit plate you will have nice pineapples, kiwis, mangos, but it seems that the seasonal fruits such as strawberries, apricots, cherries cannot reach the hotel, you better have to walk few steps in the nearby Saturday market to buy them. On the juice front, you can have orange or grapefruit, but when you ask for an Apple juice you are charge in addition !!!! The next day, i asked to use my voucher to eat a salat or similar at lunch, and the crew at Storchen declined my request as the voucher was not valid for lunch. It is not my first experience in superior hotel, but it is the first time i was treated witch such an arrogance. One of the worst price/offering ratio i never had. I
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Nina Fink, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zürich - Lifestyle Boutique Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear David P First of all thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. Only with our guests feedback we are able to improve our service. Furthermore we are very pleased to hear, that you liked the location and our newly renovated rooms. We do notice our guests’ preferences regarding the restaurants but it is unfortunately not always possible to fulfill the wishes. That is why it is clearly stated in the reservation confirmation, that it is upon availability where you can have dinner with your voucher. The communication between the partner hotels is very close but we don’t receive a regular update if the availability in the other restaurants have changed. However, at the time of your request we should have checked the situation in the Boucherie “AuGust” again. Furthermore, we should have had the flexibility to accept the voucher also for your lunch at it is our aim to go the extra mile for our guests. We try to be as sustainable as possible while also trying to offer a wide range of products. Therefor we regularly have different kind of berries or a local fruit salad on our buffet as well as exotic fruits. We are very sorry that you did not receive what you expected. We take your criticism very seriously and will of course follow-up with our team. Hopefully you will give us another chance to create an unforgettable experience at our hotel. Kind regards, Stephanie Meyer Front Office Manager
Read more
Audipaudi wrote a review Apr 2021
14 contributions5 helpful votes
Amazing place brand new... It's been refurbished with style. Staff is just so nice and helpful. We decided to escape for one night from the kids and have a great time... And it was such a success.. Great cook, great hotel and great staff... A must go in Zurich 👍❤️
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Anina Thom, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zürich - Lifestyle Boutique Hotel
Responded Apr 6, 2021
Dear Audipaudi Thank you very much for your great feedback! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us for a special night without the kids. Hopefully we can welcome you again here at the Storchen. Kind regards, Stephanie Meyer Front Office Manager
Read more
Nestam wrote a review Sep 2020
107 contributions63 helpful votes
Me and my wife wanted to visit their rooftop bar called "The Nest" on Saturday 5th of September at around 9:15pm as it looked very nice on the photos. As we were not sure were the entrance is, we used the main hotel entrance where four guys (stuff) were talking to eachother and ignored us. After asking kindly if they could please let us know how we can get to the rooftop bar, the answer was short and even whitout a greeting: "It's closed!" After this I mentioned that infront of the hotel there's an advertising saying that the bar closes at 10pm, his answer was: "The last round was at 9:15pm!". We have visited the Restaurant at Hotel Storchen a few times and were never treated that rude! For the future we will definitely avoid the Hotel aswell as it's restaurant and bar!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jörg Arnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zürich - Lifestyle Boutique Hotel
Responded Sep 8, 2020
Dear nestam123 Thank you very much for your detailed review about your experience and impression on that. We are truly sorry that your visit did not meet your expectations and that you did not feel warm welcomed in our property. Please allow us to express our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences caused. Also rest assured that we are cautious to take appropriate measures by addressing the problem areas to prevent such occurrences in the future. We continuously strive to meet needs and expectations. Therefore your feedback is very essential to us and we want to express our gratitude for having taken the time to share your experience with us. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to better serve you and to convince you of our otherwise impeccable service. Looking forward to welcoming you again in the Storchen Zurich in the not too distant future, we remain with our very best regards from the heart of Zürich’s old town, Best regards Anina Thom, Front Office Manager
Read more
tonymac2015 wrote a review Jul 2020
Ireland40 contributions15 helpful votes
My wife and i stayed here for 4 nights on a special occasion. The location is brilliant. Everything is within walking distance. Shops , restaurants , old town & train station , the hotel is spotless clean & we had a comfortable bed and a nice room. The breakfast is nice but limited , the staff are pleasant & friendly. It is a typical city centre hotel where space is limited , but very relaxing and with a brilliant roof top bar , with great views.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Jörg Arnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zürich - Lifestyle Boutique Hotel
Responded Jul 30, 2020
Dear tonymac2015 We sincerely thank you for having chosen the Storchen Zurich for your past stay and also for sharing your experience with us. It is great pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us in the heart of Zurich. Indeed we are located in a historic place only a stone's thrown away from restaurant, shops and sightseeing points. We truly thank you for your input regarding our breakfast choices, which we have of course forwared to the department in charge. Your opinion is very important to us in order to constantly improve our services. Hopefully we will soon again have the possibility to welcoming you in beautiful Zurich. In the meantime we wish you all the best. Best regards Anina Thom, Front Office Manager
Read more
Clara LFFR wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
Our stay at Storchen Hotel was incredibly disappointing. First of all, our CHF 540.- room per night was incredibly small. Clearly the size of the room didn't allow two people to move properly. We don't mind paying a high price for a beautiful room but clearly the one we received was overpriced and filled with unnecessary decoration. Then, we kindly requested bringing our (small) dog with us, a Jack Russel. The hotel requested a CHF 20.- supplement per night, which is perfectly normal. While booking, no mention was made about the dog not being allowed at any place in the hotel. For this reason, we were unpleasantly surprised to be turned away from breakfast because of the dog. We wanted to enjoy breakfast on the terrasse, our dog is small and calm, and the price we paid for the room INCLUDED breakfast and the dog. We were told to leave it alone in the room or outside in the hallway. Of course, we left breakfast without even having a solution suggested and were told ''yes sorry'' at the reception when demanding explanations. The staff was generally unfriendly, for instance when loaded with suitcases we asked for a taxi to the station. The person at the reception looked incredibly bothered by the request. Never in any hotel we go, we feel unhappy with the staff or the room, and never have we written an unpleasant review on any place we've stayed at. But let us tell you that never, we will go back to this terrible and overrated hotel Storchen.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jörg Arnold, Geschäftsführer at Storchen Zürich - Lifestyle Boutique Hotel
Responded Jul 28, 2020
Dear claralffr First of all we would like to thank you for informing us about the bad experience you and your mother had staying with us. We appreciate all inputs we receive from our guests to continually improve our services. We truly apologize for the insufficient friendliness you were faced and the lack in communication. Of course we have informed the staff about your feedback and will also continue with trainings to improve the quality of our service. Regarding our rooms we have to admit that the size of the rooms are on the smaller side. As our hotel is over 650 years old and under a preservation order we are unfortunately not allowed to make bigger changes in the ground-plan of the building. We would gladly have assisted in offering an alternative room if we had knew about this dissatisfaction but we understand the unpleasantness of changing an accommodation after arrival. As a token of our regret having betrayed your expectations we have taken the opportunity to get in direct contact with you. The entire Storchen-Team would be truly thankful if you could accept our apologies and it would be an honor to welcome you soon in our house again in order to prove ourselves to you. Best regards Anina Thom, Front Office Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$432 - $676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
storchen zurich hotel, summit zurich, hotel zum storchen a summit, zürich summit
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of ZurichZurichOld Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
64
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Storchen Zürich - Lifestyle Boutique Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Storchen Zürich - Lifestyle Boutique Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Old Town (0.3 miles), Museum of Art (Kunsthaus Zurich) (0.3 miles), and Lindenhofplatz (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Storchen Zürich - Lifestyle Boutique Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Storchen Zürich - Lifestyle Boutique Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Storchen Zürich - Lifestyle Boutique Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Storchen Zürich - Lifestyle Boutique Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Storchen Zürich - Lifestyle Boutique Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Haus zum Rueden, Restaurant Orsini, and Restaurant Zunfthaus zur Waag.
Does Storchen Zürich - Lifestyle Boutique Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Storchen Zürich - Lifestyle Boutique Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Storchen Zürich - Lifestyle Boutique Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Zurich.
Are any cleaning services offered at Storchen Zürich - Lifestyle Boutique Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Storchen Zürich - Lifestyle Boutique Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Storchen Zürich - Lifestyle Boutique Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.