We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel St. Gotthard

#23 of 133 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel St. Gotthard
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

687 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 462: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stay here for the great location! Rooms are average size, clean and comfortable. Hotel is located steps from main shopping strip, 2 mins to train station, 2 mins to grocery store and restaurants are all around. The harbor is about a 15 min walk, but the tram is just out the front door. I would stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Leslie B
buenos aires
Level Contributor
148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It has been our second stay in this charming hotel. Location couldnt be better, just a few steps from any shop or any mean of transport. The manager contact us prior our arrival in case we need something. All the staff are extremely kind, friendly and helpful; willing to assist us. The room was well equiped, full of light, with... More 

Helpful?
Thank mariuBuenosAires
kascioglu, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear MariuBuenosAires, Thank you very much for your positive Feedback. Your encouraging words will be forwarded to all Team. We are very happy that you liked our Hotel a lot and you find all our staff Kind, friendly and helpful. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your coming stay in Zürich. Looking forward welcoming you back at... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I know that everything in Switzerland is expensive however I didn't expect to rooms to be so small for the money we paid. The decor and rooms are outdated and in need of some TLC. The breakfast for 2 adults and 2 kids was going to cost me AUD $160 which is ridiculous. The hotel is close to central station... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shannon K
kascioglu, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Mr Shannon K, Thank you very much for taking your time and placing your Feedback on Tripadvisor. We are very sorry that your expectations were not fulfilled. We do have different size of rooms and our rates are very competitive to our neighbours. However we are looking very much forward welcoming you back at our Hotel. Kind regards A.Kascioglu... More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I understand that Switzerland is expensive and that to a extent you pay for what you get however this hotel whilst conveniently located was just small and bland with no real redeeming features. I would be happy to pay a bit extra and get something modern and comfortable with decent service!

Helpful?
Thank Paul K
kascioglu, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Paul K Thank you very much for your comments. We are very sorry that our Hotel did not meet your expectations compared to what you pay. Your feedback helps us to improve our services. We look forward welcoming you back at our Hotel. Kind regards A.Kascioglu Deputy General Manager More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have known this hotel since 1990. However, I just know that it is in the best location in Zurich, which is on Bahnhofstrasse and right across the HauptBanhof. This is the first time i stayed in the hotel. I booked the Junior suite in advance since i am traveling with the family, total of 4 pax. The check in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vincent P
kascioglu, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Mr Vincent P. Thank you very much for your detailed feedback concerning your recent stay at our Hotel. We are very happy to read that we could meet your expectations at the end. Our aim is to satisfy all our visitors in order to gain them as a long term supporters. Looking Forward welcoming you back at our Hotel,... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent location, expident service at reception, no issue too challenging for staff. Hotel clean and efficiently run. Rooms were clean and well maintained. Breakfast was good but a bit prices. Will use again.

Helpful?
Thank manjitlidder
kascioglu, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Manjitlidder, Thank you for your top rating on Tripadvisor. We appreciate very much your Feedback. Hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best regards A.Kascioglu Deputy General Manager More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose this hotel because it was close to the train station and we had an early departure. Our party had two rooms which were clean, and very nice except the air conditioning did not work. The hotel staff was very accommodating - they let us change rooms - three times in the case of one room. Very helpful

Helpful?
1 Thank wtacker
kascioglu, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Wtacker, Thank you very much for your positive feedback although you were not satisfied with our Air Conditioning. We are very happy that our Front Desk Team tried to help you by changing your room. We did have some AC problems with certain number our rooms which we solved it now. Looking forward welcoming you back at our Hotel,... More 

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in the economy queen room with my husband for two nights. The room size is good with beautiful views of the city from the 5th floor. The bed was not very comfortable as there is only two pillows one for each. Everything else was nice and clean and the check out was very easy and quick. The best thing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mariam A
kascioglu, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Mariam, Thank you very much for your Feedback. We are very happy that you liked your room and the location of the Hotel. Please be informed that we do not have only extra pillows but also a Pillow-Menu placed in each room. Kindly do not hesitate to contact at front desk during your next stay. For the bed... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just finished a three night stay at this beautiful hotel. We were upgraded to the executive suite - lucky us. It was wonderful. Huge room, nice bed, huge bathroom and a little room for coffee and watching TV. The terrace was an added bonus. The staff was very accommodating and quite pleasant. Very pleased with our choice. Is very close... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl R
kascioglu, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Cheryl, It’s with a lot of pleasure we read that, like some of our other guests, you could profit from our upgrading policy. Your Feedback is of course very much appreciated. Thank you for taking your time and writing your comments on Tripadvisor. We will for sure transmit your nice words also to the concerned team. We look forward... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location of the hotel is excellent if you are arriving and leaving by train as it is almost next to the main train station. When you get out of the trains, go to the ground floor level and look for the exit on the right - Bahnhofstrasse entrance. Cross the road and walk straight towards where the trams are heading... More 

Helpful?
Thank Urban_Travellers_11
kascioglu, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Urban Traveller, Thank you very much for placing your Feedback on Tripadvisor. Your detailed Information and nice words not only motivates us but also motivates other guests to book our Hotel. We are very pleased to read that our Hotel and Services have met your expectations. Thank you again for all your encouraging words and looking forward welcoming you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

177 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (126)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#36 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
Central Plaza Hotel
#37 of 133 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#14 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 546 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#9 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 739 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#11 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel St. Gotthard, built in 1889, has been owned and managed by the Manz family for over a century. Recently refurbished, modernized and enlarged with great attention to details, it can be considered a true architectural achievement in itself and one of the leading business hotels today in Zurich. The five-floor building provides a free Wireless Internet access for all 143 spacious rooms, including 11 Suites. With its three restaurants and the newly designed Lobby and Front Desk area, the Hotel St. Gotthard meets all the expectations of the demanding traveler. The Hotel lies directly in the heart of the city, located on the world famous Bahnhofstrasse, within 10 minutes walk from sightseeing, the business district and Lake Zurich. Caspar Manz, the founder’s grandson, established the famous Lobster and Oyster Bar in 1935 and since then it has been a culinary institution amongst gastronomic circles. Pleasant piano live music will welcome you for your aperitif at the Lobby Bar and will accompany you through the evening. The hotel also has 5 state of the art conference rooms with a capacity of up to 100 people for successful meetings and elegant receptions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel St. Gotthard

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 87 | Altstadt, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Price Range: $219 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Gotthard 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel St. Gotthard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Gotthard
St Gotthard zürich
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#26 Family Hotel in Zurich
#31 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#38 Business Hotel in Zurich
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay