Hotel Krone Unterstrass

Hotel Krone Unterstrass

Sitzecke
Traveler (223)
Panorama of the Basic Single Room at the Hotel Krone Unterstrass
360
Panoramas (42)
Doppelzimmer Premium im Hotel Krone Unterstrass Zürich
Room & Suite (467)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#29 of 143 hotels in Zurich
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.5
Value
4.1
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The 4-star Hotel Krone in Zurich Unterstrass is a modern city and business hotel with tradition. Top quality, sustainability, outstanding service and hospitality are our core values. Our city hotel was founded in 1720 and has been one of Zurich's most renowned places to stay ever since. Fully renovated and equipped with the very latest services, the hotel offers all the amenities that the discerning guest who wants only the best would require. Ideally located in a fashionable part of the city, our hotel is just a few minutes away from Zurich's main railway station, the conference centre, the Hallenstadion multi-purpose facility, the Zurich exhibition grounds, the university and the ETH Swiss Federal Institute of Technology. The 'Kronenstrasse' tram stop is just in front of our door. The journey to and from Zurich Airport takes just 20 minutes. Zurich's sights, such as the historic town centre, the Grossmünster (Great Minister), the Bahnhofstrasse main street and Lake Zurich, are just a comfortable five or ten minutes away. Our rooms range from the cosy and comfortable through to the top-quality and luxurious. The excellent restaurant, meeting facilities and banquet rooms make the Hotel Krone the ideal place for your next visit to the city. It is the perfect place for an overnight stay after a visit to the Zurich trade fair or for your business event.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to Hotelstars Union standards.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Residential Neighborhood
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 3 more

Location

Schaffhauserstrasse 1, Zurich 8006 Switzerland
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 74 out of 100
74
Zurich Airport
Altenrhein Airport
48.5 mi
See all flights
Zurich Central Station
14 min
1,041Review18Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 493
  • 410
  • 90
  • 28
  • 20
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Explorer752205 wrote a review Jun 2022
Los Alamos, New Mexico
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was my second trip to Zurich (in less than 6 months), and I was looking for a quiet hotel this time for a longer stay of 8 nights. I was not disappointed! I had room number 15, which was in a separate building in their courtyard (connected by a walkway), away from the main street/tram. The room was very clean and smart looking, all amenities worked (lights, plumbing, A/C). An electric tea kettle was provided with an assortment of teas and instant coffee, and there was a small refrigerator. My bathroom came with a small, corner shower with a curtain and drain in the floor. Water pressure was excellent with on-demand hot water.
The front staff was exceptionally cordial, helpful and spoke perfect English.The location for this hotel is outstanding: right on the train/tram 11 or 14, direct to the Zurich HBF in 5 minutes!
I did not use the restaurant at all, but it looked nice and inviting from the outside.
The only improvements I could wish for are the following: 1) a small microwave oven; 2) silverware (fork, soup spoon, butter knife); 3) an extra handtowel and washcloth. Would *definitely* stay here again! Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Inside courtyard can provide quiet rooms.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roger Jutzi, Owner at Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Responded Aug 10, 2022
Dear guest "Greetings from Hotel Krone Unterstrass" Thank you very much for sharing your detailed feedback here on tripadvisor. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Concerning your small improvements - just ask us next time, we do provide everything on request (microwave and silverware with a surcharge). We hope to see you again soon in Zurich and wish you in the meantime all the best. Kind regards Bernadette Russenberger, vice-director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
slateoeight wrote a review Sep 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived at the hotel Krone after a 5 hour drive to found that our reservation through Trip.com had been cancelled due to a failure of that website. The young lady at the desk was very kind and helpful and gave us a room at an equivalent price. Maybe due to Covid, she was alone on duty Saturday night, but she was efficient and helped us as well as a constant stream of other guests. The room she gave us was comfortable and impeccably clean as you would expect from a Swiss 4 star hotel. A short tram ride from the center.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roger Jutzi, Inhaber at Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Responded Jan 31, 2022
Dear guest "Greetings from the Hotel Krone Unterstrass" Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. We are pleased to have been able to convince you of our service and offer you a pleasant stay in Zurich. With pleasure again - we would be pleased. Best regards Bernadette Russenberger, Vice Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gail A wrote a review Jul 2023
Greenfield, Wisconsin
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The desk staff was wonderful and the room very comfortable. The dirty cups were never removed from our room and the coffee was not refilled. Most hotels include breakfast and the cost of $25 per person each day was way over priced. That was a disappointment.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roger Jutzi, Inhaber at Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Responded Apr 7, 2024
Dear guest "Greetings from Hotel Krone Unterstrass" Thank you very much for your constructive feedback. We are happy to hear the positive and also the negative, that we can learn and improve for the next time. Kind regards Bernadette Russenberger
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alana P wrote a review Jul 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
good hotel but the staff was RUDE. it was actually shocking how little they seemed to care about anything. the rooms are very small and the bathroom doors are basically see through so just beware of that going in.

gutes Hotel, aber das Personal war unhöflich. Es war tatsächlich schockierend, wie wenig sie sich um irgendetwas zu kümmern schienen. Die Zimmer sind sehr klein und die Badezimmertüren sind im Grunde durchsichtig, also passen Sie auf, dass Sie nicht hineingehen.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roger Jutzi, Owner at Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Responded Aug 10, 2022
Dear guest "Greetings from Hotel Krone Unterstrass" I am very sorry that you could not enjoy your stay in our hotel. We usually place a lot of emphasis on the friendliness and service attitude of our staff and receive many compliments for this. I apologise that you were not able to experience this in the same way. Regarding the room size, we have different categories at different prices, so there is something for everyone. Nevertheless, we hope to welcome you again to show you that we can definitely do better. Kind regards Bernadette Russenberger, vice-director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joe M wrote a review Jun 2023
Dartmouth, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nicely maintained hotel in a central location in Thun. Recently stayed a couple of nights in this location and found the hotel to be very well maintained, rooms were clean and less than ten minutes walk to the train station. Location made it quick to walk to train/ferry station to take a very enjoyable ferry ride ride on Lake Thun to then enjoy a day in Interlaken and then the train ride back. Staff that we encountered were great and very helpful answering questions. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roger Jutzi, Inhaber at Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Responded Apr 7, 2024
Dear guest "Greetings from Hotel Krone Unterstrass" Thank you very much for your detailed feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Kind regards Bernadette Russenberger
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
traveler1234 wrote a review Oct 2022
Toronto, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The photos are completely misleading. We didn’t sleep in a room like the photo. We slept in a room that looked like a bed and breakfast - very modest and not worth the money we paid. The bathroom was very outdated. The hotel smells like mold. We didn’t enjoy our stay one bit and couldn’t wait to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roger Jutzi, Inhaber at Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Responded Dec 18, 2022
Dear guest "Greetings from Hotel Krone Unterstrass" Thank you very much for your reply. We are sorry, that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do have different room categories to different prices. The fotos on our website as well as on the booking engines are very realistic and show what you get. We regret that we could not fulfill your expectations. Kind regards Bernadette Russenberger, vice-director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dawnsF5107WH wrote a review Jul 2023
Gateshead, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great value for money we felt, the hotel was beautiful and clean the bed was surprisingly comfortable pillows were not to our liking we did ask for extra but they are a very individual thing.
There was an enormous amount of space to store all your items the room was very well designed to fit everything in, I can’t understand why there is a whole selection of kitchen units when they don’t give you a knife or plate!! You get a fridge and a kettle with 2 mug’s and 2 glasses so a lot of space wasted with pointless units the room could have had more space again.
Staff very pleasant and helpful great location only 2 mins on the tram to the centre of town.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roger Jutzi, Inhaber at Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Responded Apr 7, 2024
Dear guest "Greetings from Hotel Krone Unterstrass" Thank you very much for your constructive feedback. We are happy to hear the positive and also the negative, that we can learn and improve for the next time. Kind regards Bernadette Russenberger
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
helenvevey wrote a review Feb 2020
Vevey
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent hotel in Zurich. Close to the centre. Service and food great. Very good value. Rooms are very clean and a good size. The in-room safe is actually at EYE LEVEL!, which can't be said about many more expensive hotels................. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Request a room at the back, away from the main road at the front.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roger Jutzi, Sonstige at Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Responded Feb 26, 2020
Dear guest "Greetings from Hotel Krone Unterstrass" Thank you so much for your feedback here on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to convince you of our product. We would be certainly more than happy to welcome you back in the nearer future and wish you in the meantime all the very best. Kind regards Sarah Goll, Vicedirector
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert W wrote a review Aug 2022
Corvallis, Oregon
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hotel Krone is conveniently located in Zurich with immediate access to the trams. The rooms are well appointed and many remodeled. The onsite restaurant provides an excellent breakfast buffet. We are repeat customers for the hotel and have looked forward to the excellent service through the years.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roger Jutzi, Owner at Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Responded Aug 10, 2022
Dear guest "Greetings from Hotel Krone Unterstrass" Thank you very much for your nice feedback. We really appreciate it and are looking forward to welcome you again! Kind regards Bernadette Russenberger, vicedirector
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cwatso71 wrote a review Apr 2023
2.0 of 5 bubbles
When we checked in we were told that the breakfast was one price, but when we checked out we were charged a different (higher) price. We were also told that the taxi would be a flat $40-something dollar charge to the airport. In the morning, once again, the price went up. When the taxi dropped us at the airport we were told there was no flat charge, so the price was higher yet again. The girl at the front desk was rude and unaccommodating. I would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roger Jutzi, Inhaber at Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Responded Apr 29, 2023
Dear guest "Greetings from Hotel Krone Unterstrass" Thank you very much for this honest feedback, which we appreciate very much. Since we want to constantly improve, exactly such feedback is very valuable for us. We are very sorry that you had such negative experience during your stay with us. We do have different prices for breakfast if you book it in advance and if you take it spontaneous. Normaly we inform the guests about this matter at the check-in. We are sorry that this information did not reach you. For taxis we can order a flat charge to the airport, why they were not granted this I can now unfortunately no longer understand. We hope you give us a chance again in the future that we can show you that we can do it better. Kind regards and all the best for you Bernadette Russenberger, vice-director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cruicey asked a question Sep 2017
Brisbane, Australia13 contributions4 helpful votes
Does this hotel have a room with three separate beds?
Answer from arleenox
San Diego, California14 contributions
I'm not sure as the room we stayed had one large double bed
K B asked a question Sep 2017
Canberra, Australia70 contributions40 helpful votes
What is the best way to reach the hotel from the train station? We are happy to take the tram. Thanks.
Answer from chrysanthemum54
Los Angeles, California14 contributions4 helpful votes
Hi, we arrived late at night so we use the taxi. But the hotel is just across the tram stop. I'm sure the hotel can help you with direction.
K B asked a question Sep 2017
Canberra, Australia70 contributions40 helpful votes
What is the best way to reach the hotel from the train station? We are happy to take the tram. Thanks.
Answer from Jiju R
India76 contributions2 helpful votes
From Airport to ZurichHB (Train) Once you move outside main station Board 1. Tram 11 towards Auzelg 2. Tram 14 to towards seebach Please download SBB mobile app
uk_rail wrote a tip May 2024
Mumbai, India19 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Opt for corner room. They are bigger."
Read full review
frank p wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking my need to be reconfirmed ?"
Read full review
Julia S wrote a tip Nov 2023
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get the City Pass for Zurich and do not forget to use it."
Read full review
Camper64462306788 wrote a tip Oct 2023
Barranquilla, Colombia1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try your beds and adjust as you can."
Read full review
timo r wrote a tip Mar 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"ask for a room to 2 back or side street - front is quiet loud with tram & main street"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Zurich area.
PRICE RANGE
$193 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
krone unterstrass hotel, best western zurich, krone unterstrass zürich, zürich best western
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of ZurichZurich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL KRONE UNTERSTRASS $192 ($̶2̶8̶1̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Krone Unterstrass?
Nearby attractions include Flussbad Oberer Letten (0.3 miles), Reawake (0.2 miles), and Fussball-Corner Oechslin AG (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Krone Unterstrass?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Krone Unterstrass?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Krone Unterstrass?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Krone Unterstrass?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Krone Unterstrass?
Conveniently located restaurants include Differente Hotel Krone Unterstrass, El Alebrije, and Moudi's Lecker Cafe.
Is Hotel Krone Unterstrass located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Zurich.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Krone Unterstrass?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Krone Unterstrass?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Krone Unterstrass offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Krone Unterstrass?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Croatian.
All Zurich HotelsZurich Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ZurichHotels near Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars