We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Central Plaza Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Central Plaza Hotel
Central Plaza Hotel
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

592 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 397: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We booked the suite and it was definitely worth it. The room was so spacious could have fit about 6 people comfortably in there. The room was old fashioned but very well maintained, the beds are very comfortable and there are brand new TV in the bedroom and lounge area. It was my birthday and I was very surprised to... More 

Helpful?
Thank mmddkk
Clinton, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Very nice, clean, comfortable room. Staff is very friendly and efficient. My experience is that Swiss hotels can often stick closely to the rules, but the front desk staff saw that we were tired from our overnight flight and made the room available to us 4 hours before the official check in, which we appreciated very much. Good value for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lovetravelhotelsnob
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Decent hotel in excellent location, right by the main station, with two good restaurants. But avoid in the summer. Only the superior rooms have aircon. The others have "air flow control" and "temperature control" but despite buttons in the wall panel that suggest they turn on the flow and regulate the temperature, they do nothing of the kind. It's very... More 

Helpful?
Thank garryoevans
CentralPlazaHotel, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your visit and for having taken the time to share your experience. We regret to hear that it was to warm in the room. Normally the air floating system cools down the temperature maximum 10 degrees compared to the outside temperature. I hope that my colleagues offered a fan. Please accept our apologies for any... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was arranged for me by the Swiss Railways as part of a package deal. It gives a great first impression as a beautiful 19th century building on the Limmat River directly opposite Zurich HB the main train station. You are amidst the old part of town with plenty of walking opportunities including to the lake, Opera House and... More 

Helpful?
Thank ahpratt
CentralPlazaHotel, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to write your detailed review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the location in the heart of Zurich, the comfortable room and the delicious breakfast. The ice tea, water and apples are complimentary available in our lobby - we want to make our guests... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well, whilst we were checking the hotel out online it looked really good, clean, big etc... But when we arrived the rooms were tiny, breakfast was told online to be included but turned out it want. We had to bribe them to change us to a better room. Wouldn't really recommend this hotel...

Helpful?
Thank Emma G
CentralPlazaHotel, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your visit and for taking the time to write your comment. We regret to read that we could not meet your expectations and apologize for the inconvenience. Could you please let us know your Reservation number (jahn@central.ch) - so we can investigate the Reservation again. Kind regards Franziska Kläy Guest Relation More 

Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely Great location!! Room was decent and bed was comfy. Downside- A/c was horrible.. The room was barely cool and it was a rough couple of nights without air. Also the shower had half a door so the floor was soaked after a shower. And breakfast is a bit pricey. But, location location location!! And the staff was pleasant.

Helpful?
Thank Shari C
CentralPlazaHotel, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your stay in our Hotel Central Plaza and for your good rating. Our rooms are equipped with an airflowting system. We regret that it was not cold enough in the room. Our Superior rooms in the first floor are equipped with air condition - it might be an option for a future stay. Thank you... More 

Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Whether you stay at central plaza hotel or not do yourself a favour and go to their Restaurant kings cave grill. You will not find better service in all of Zurich and the steaks are amazing. Once you have finished pop up to The piano bar and enjoy the talent of the resident player. We saw Ivan Minekov who was... More 

Helpful?
Thank dianne531
CentralPlazaHotel, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your visit and for your perfect rating. We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you could enjoy the delicious Entrecôte in our restaurant King's Cave and the live piano music in our bar. Of course you also may visit our restaurant and our bar without staying in... More 

Zürich
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very conveniently located in front of the central station over the limmat river, clean and friendly staff, then that is basically it. The rooms are small, furnished without particular charm or attention to detail (and cosmetics are clearly below average). Another good point is the coffee machine.

Helpful?
Thank esalagean
CentralPlazaHotel, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your visit and for having taken the time to write your review. We are regret that we were not able to fulfill your expectations regarding the room. There are several room categories, the sizes and the style are different. I think our staff did not know that you have not been happy with... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016

Obviously, Francs don't go far in Zurich, so it's probably a good idea not to expect the world... Our room was comfortable enough, but looked very much like it hadn't been updated since the 1970's; I wish I'd taken a photo of some of the electrical items ;-) The staff were all great - very friendly and helpful. The bar... More 

Helpful?
Thank bterich
CentralPlazaHotel, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your valuable and honest comment on Tripadvisor and for your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations regarding the room. Last year the rooms have been equipped with new box spring beds and the floors have been renovated recently. Soon we will begin to... More 

Hamilton New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2016

We booked and junior suite with river views. However to see the views you have to stand up and peer out the little windows. We were not happy so were moved to a lesser room on the first floor. This was great for two nights but then the band started up directly below us so we were moved to another... More 

Helpful?
Thank nadyjay
CentralPlazaHotel, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to write this review. We always try our best to fulfil our promises but sometimes there are unexpected circumstances which make it difficult. Unfortunately you listened the piano music in the Superior room - the reception team suggested this room because of the wonderful view. Please... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

545 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (190)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (57)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (344)
Viewed
Accessible Double Room (28)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Double - Twin Room (19)
Viewed
Double - Twin Room with River View (20)
Viewed
Junior Suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (85)
Viewed
Single Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#24 of 133 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 733 reviews
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#42 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#35 of 133 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre
Hotel du Theatre
#65 of 133 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A warm welcome to the heart of ZurichThis is as close to the heart of Zurich as it gets. The four-star Central Plaza Hotel is located directly on the River Limmat, only a few minutes' walk from the railway station. Bahnhofstrasse the most famous shopping street in Switzerland, the shores of Lake Zurich and the charming old town with its boutiques, restaurants, and bars, all are in easy walking distance. And to delve into culture, all you have to do is step right outside – a wide variety of cultural events awaits you, at the Opera House, at the Schauspielhaus (Zurich Playhouse), and more.We are looking forward to showering you with comfort and hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Central Plaza Hotel

Address: Central 1, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Price Range: $229 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Central Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Central Plaza
Central Plaza zürich
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#64 Business Hotel in Zurich
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay