We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Kurhausstrasse 65, Zurich 8032 Switzerland
5 people are viewing this hotel
Official Website
$889
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/27/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$845
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/27/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
$731
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/26/22
Booking.com$847
Travelocity$845
Hurb$948
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1713)
Room & Suite (567)
Dining (144)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#16 of 144 hotels in Zurich
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.7
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice
Get the celebrity treatment with world-class service at The Dolder Grand Enjoying a privileged location in natural surroundings above Zurich, next to the cog railway station, The Dolder Grand offers a 4,000 m² spa, 2 award-winning restaurants, and free Wi-Fi access. All rooms have a flat-screen satellite TV and are equipped with bathrobes and slippers. They offer views over Zurich, Lake Zurich, the Alps, or the nearby forest. The exclusive Dolder Grand Spa (4,000 square metres) includes a large pool with panoramic views, a ladies’ and gentlemen’s spa, fitness facilities, 18 treatment rooms and 2 Spa Suites. It offers a wide selection of facials, massages and body rituals. In the 14 Gault Millau points awarded Saltz Restaurant and in The Bar, guests can enjoy modern international cuisine and a wide selection of fine wines and drinks. Innovative gourmet dishes are served in The Restaurant, which has been awarded 19 Gault Millau points and 2 Michelin stars. The Dolder Hotel AG is Silver Certified by EarthCheck. Summer break The Restaurant 2022 The Restaurant will be closed from 17 July 2022 to 9 August 2022. We will be happy to welcome you again on Wednesday evening, 10 August 2022.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Golf course
Babysitting
Paid private parking on-site
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Adult pool
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Italian
1505Reviews20Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,197
  • 172
  • 74
  • 29
  • 34
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Dimitry P wrote a review Yesterday
Moscow, Russia5 contributions
Our Dolder Grand experience (2 adults & 1 child) was everything you’d expect from one of Europe’s best hotels: impeccable service, amazing facilities, great food and thoughtful management going the extra mile to make our stay special. We thoroughly recommend and a big thanks to Stefanoi!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
travel_the_world364 wrote a review Jul 2022
Los Angeles, California17 contributions12 helpful votes
I have stayed at the Dolder Grand many times, but recently was my first time since covid. I have long regarded this hotel as one the best in Switzerland, but I was sad to see that it is losing its level of quality and service. I write this review in hopes that the management becomes aware of the downgrading changes I observed in the hotel. Firstly, we had many troubles with the F&B department. We stayed 4 nights at the hotel, and every single night we had a problem trying to have dinner on the property. The fine dining restaurant was closed and the only option was Saltz. They simply did not want to make space for us (hotel guests) in the Saltz restaurant for dinner. After speaking to the front desk and being told that F&B would contact us by phone to solve the problem (which never happened), we were left with no place to have dinner. One of the front desk employees even had the audacity to tell us to eat in our room with in-room dining. In no luxury establishment do you tell your long-standing guests to eat in their room because they cannot be accommodated in the hotel's (breakfast) restaurant. If I wanted to eat in my bed, I would stay at home... After contacting the front-desk multiple times, as the concierge did not answer, we become very frustrated with the lack of communication on the hotel's part and no option for us to have dinner. Once the restaurant got back to us, they agreed to make space for us on the last night. When we got to the restaurant, we were appalled to see that most tables were empty. The spa remains one of the most special parts of the hotel. The room was still at a great standard, although needed some repairs such as broken light bulbs and damaged furniture. However, the linens have surely downgraded. The bathrobes we received were in very poor condition (with holes) and of a much lesser quality than previously before. This was also the case for the bed sheets. But the most unappealing amenity was the "sustainable" slippers, which quite literally felt like cardboard disposable paper slipper. Not what you expect at a place like the Dolder Grand. While sustainability is important, it should not compromise standard of quality. Luxury is about choice, sustainable options should be offered to those who want it, but not forced on everyone. On the other hand, the staff at the bar, especially Jean-Claude were extremely welcoming, warm, and professional. Similarly, the doormen were always very kind. They were missing proper uniforms, however, which did not give a good image. Overall, I wish the management takes into account these issues and addresses them for others' stay at this hotel. Its a magical property with so much history and charm, it would be a shame if it continues losing it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: golf-wing is great
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Markus Granelli, Geschäftsführer at The Dolder Grand
Responded 1 week ago
Dear guest Thank you for your visit and for taking the time to leave us your detailed feedback. The fact that there was no table available for you in the Saltz restaurant during your stay is not at all in line with our standards, nor with our own understanding of hospitality. We always try to find a place for our hotel guests so that they are not forced to eat in the hotel room. Please be assured that we will discuss your feedback with the Food & Beverage team so that such a situation is not repeated in the future. Regarding your criticism about the condition of the room and the quality of the equipment and amenities, we would like to assure you that the highest quality remains our priority. If there are defective bathrobes etc. in circulation, we ask our guests to contact us directly so that the item can be replaced on site. We believe that as a company we have a responsibility to reduce our CO2 emissions as much as possible. We are aware that as a luxury hotel a certain standard is expected and here we face the challenge to use high quality as well as sustainable products. We regret that we could not satisfy you, but we are convinced of our strategy as we have received a lot of positive feedback so far. We have gladly passed on your praise for our colleagues as well as your criticism of the uniform, which will be discussed with the responsible department head. We would be delighted if we could convince you without compromise during your next visit - in the meantime, we remain with best wishes and warm regards, Markus Granelli General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark C wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
I have high expectations and the Dolder exceeded them. Simply spectacular in just about every way. Every part of the experience was excellent. When you paying this much you expect excellence. You'll find it at the Dolder.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Dzul Bakar wrote a review Jul 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates965 contributions200 helpful votes
+1
The Dolder will exceed your expectations and it surpassed ours! Fabulous room, facility and best of all, one of the best breakfast we have had in a while. Loved the various art work that are dotted around the hotel and we truly enjoyed our stay. Kudos the the management team!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
ShereenShabnam wrote a review Jul 2022
Dubai5 contributions
After a hectic road trip, I extended my stay for 2 days to stay at The Dolder Grand and it was the best place to relax, rejuvenate in the spa and enjoy the fresh air during my forest walk on the hotel grounds. The breakfast was a delight and I had enough choice on a non meat diet. I had specific requirements for retail therapy and the concierge team happened to be experts on where to go and were most helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: I had an amazing view of the city and golf course
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Markus Granelli, Geschäftsführer at The Dolder Grand
Responded Jul 6, 2022
Dear Mrs Shabnam Thank you very much for being our guest and for taking a moment to provide us with your valuable feedback. We were delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy your time with us and relax after a hectic road trip. We are happy to cater to the individual wishes of our guests and find suitable alternatives - be it in the area of dining or also in the design of the stay with tips from our experienced concierge team. We are also very pleased with your praise for breakfast, as this is essential for a successful start to the day. Your compliments have been shared with the responsible persons, who were delighted. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Dolder Grand whenever you are in Zurich! Yours sincerely Markus Granelli General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shubha b wrote a review Jul 2022
India2 contributions1 helpful vote
Well had the worst experience in our stay of three days .on the last day in the breakfast room Saltz someone stole money from my office bag when I had gone to take my buffet breakfast .I complained to the hotel wrote an email to them but they were not responsive and were very casual about it no action was taken they just told us to do a police complain .being a foreigner and was on way to Germany I could not file a complaint . What is shocking is the money being stolen from a luxury category hotel in zurich
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Markus Granelli, Geschäftsführer at The Dolder Grand
Responded Jul 6, 2022
Dear Mr Bhandari Thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to give us some feedback. We regret that you were unable to take away a fond memory of the experience at The Dolder Grand due to the incident mentioned. We would like to emphasise that if we suspect theft, everything in our power will be done to investigate the matter. This was also the case in your situation, as our duty manager investigated your report very seriously in cooperation with our security team, but was unable to find anything suspicious. In such a scenario, the police can only be called in, and this is only possible if the guest concerned reports to the police in person. We understand your circumstances, but our hands are tied in such a case. We would like to point out that accusations against staff or other guests without evidence are inappropriate and therefore distance ourselves from such statements - we also hope for your understanding here. We are at your disposal for any questions you may have and hope that the situation can still be clarified. We would be very glad if we could welcome you back soon and this time bid you farewell with a nice memory. Yours sincerely Markus Granelli General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jon4zn wrote a review Jun 2022
San Francisco, California5 contributions
We stayed here for four nights, and had an amazing time. - The breakfast was one of the best I’ve had at a hotel (and is included if you book through Leading Hotels of the World). The buffet is presented very nicely, and there are lots of pre-plated small dishes so you can sample everything easily. Try the Belgian waffles! - Apparently the hotel was last renovated in 2008, but if you told me they completed it last year I would believe you — everything is impeccably maintained, especially in the modern wing, where we stayed. You have to look closely to see any signs of age (for example, some outdated electronics in the room). - The service was warm without being overbearing, and you can tell that everyone who works there really cares about their job. The concierge was able to help us book dinners and transportation in minutes. And housekeeping came twice a day, and always left us with an abundance of bottled water (we never had to ask once, which is rare!). - Another highlight was the spa, which was a perfect place to recover from jet lag. There are gender-separated sauna/steam facilities in the locker rooms, as well as a beautiful indoor pool and outdoor hot tubs overlooking Zurich. Note that, while the hotel is technically only 15 or so minutes away from Zurich, and they provide a shuttle to and from town, it’s not terribly convenient, and we found ourselves mostly staying in the property (which is fine, because it’s a great property!).
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
movin_around wrote a review Jun 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates85 contributions59 helpful votes
The Dolder Grand lived upto its name as a 5 star luxury property, with excellent customer service , great food and plenty of activities and amenities. The rooms were grand indeed, and the view was beautiful. Internet is great and fast, i clocked about 100 Mbps in my room which is more than enough for your average surfing and internet use. Zurich has many nice hotels but what stands Dolder Grand apart was the attention to the detail by the friendly staff. The only thing which i would point out is that its on the hill, so not exactly a walk to the city and for children under 12, you have to leave the hotel and do a short walk to the public swimming pool and minigolf area but that is not an issue as its a 5-7 minute walk. I look forward to my next stay at the Dolder Grand in the near future.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Go for a room with balcony, room 1306 had an excellent view of the lake and the hotel facade.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Anna H wrote a review Jun 2022
Saint Peters, Missouri24 contributions2 helpful votes
I stayed at the Dolder Grand for 4 days this June and had an amazing experience! The room was beautiful and the views of the lake and mountains were so impressive. What truly made the experience so great was the service. Everyone was knowledgeable, friendly, and working to make sure everything was perfect. When we arrived we were greeted with a staff that got us checked in, brought up our luggage, and gave us information about our room. The workers at the front door were kind and happy to help however needed. We worked specifically with Felipe, Marco, and Sid and were very impressed. The concierge team goes above and beyond to make sure I had fun while in Zurich and saw whatever I hoped to see. I went down each morning to find train routes, ideas of activities to do, and get maps. Jens and a few others helped specifically, although I am sure the whole team is knowledgeable and happy to help. If you are considering staying at the Dolder Grand, I highly recommend it and have only great memories of the place!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Yousef M wrote a review Jun 2022
Paris, France106 contributions296 helpful votes
Very much enjoyed my stay which was 16th stay with them. The spa is still exceptional as is the artwork and the views. Breakfast is another highlight which is well worth making time for. Overall I look forward to staying again at this remarkable city resort.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$660 - $914 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the dolder grand hotel, hotel dolder grand, dolder grand hotel, dolder grand zürich
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of ZurichZurich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
175
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Dolder Grand
Which popular attractions are close to The Dolder Grand?
Nearby attractions include Dolder Sports (0.2 miles), Friedhof Fluntern (0.7 miles), and FIFA Headquarters (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Dolder Grand?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Dolder Grand?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Dolder Grand?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Dolder Grand?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Dolder Grand?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Restaurant, Luca², and Restaurant Adlisberg.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Dolder Grand?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Dolder Grand have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Dolder Grand offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The Dolder Grand have airport transportation?
Yes, The Dolder Grand offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Dolder Grand?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Dolder Grand?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.