We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel du Marche

Save
Share
rue Pre-du-Marche 42, Lausanne 1004 Switzerland
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
travelup.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (34)
360
Panoramas (30)
Room & Suite (141)

About

#19 of 45 hotels in Lausanne
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Friendly family hotel in the city center, in a quiet street. Nearby the exhibition center Beaulieu and the Riponne Place.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast buffet
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Laundry service
Wifi
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Safe
VIP room facilities
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German
379Reviews5Q+A12Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 79
  • 209
  • 55
  • 19
  • 17
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Elizaveta F wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
This is one of the few hotels that does not show loyalty in relation to cancellation of non-refundable rates in difficult pandemic conditions, when a tourist has no opportunity to come to the hotel due to circumstances beyond his control (quarantine, border closed, flight canceled)
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Catherine Künzler, Directeur général at Hotel du Marche
Responded Apr 7, 2020
Bonjour - je suis navrée de votre déception - en effet, sous certaines conditions nous ne remboursons pas les montants payés. Vous avez choisi de réserver notre hôtel à travers booking.com, nous avons donc appliqués les conditions d'annulation de booking.com. Vous avez également choisi un tarif non-remboursable, peut-être avez-vous une assurance annulation qui prendrait en charge ces frais ? Nous sommes tout à fait navré de cette situation. Cordiales salutations
Read more
TravelholicDFW wrote a review Nov 2019
Plano, Texas12 contributions2 helpful votes
We would like to thank the wonderful staffs for their excellent service. The guy in charge of the hotel at the day of our arrival allowed us to use their washer and dryer in the basement with a very reasonable fee, and helped us to operate the machines even after his shift was ended. At the day of our departure, breakfast was not supposed to be served until 8 am (it was a weekend), and it may be too late for us to catch the train at 8:25. We asked if they could allow us to have the breakfast 15 min earlier. They told us that they would try their best but would not guarantee that. We were pleasantly surprised that the young lady in charge of the breakfast on that day did have everything ready by 7:45 am, and the breakfast was really delicious. In contrast to the excellent service, the condition of our room could be improved. We lived in a room with a private bathroom, and had to take showers in standing water as the water did not drain quickly enough in the shower unit. The entire room also was not adequately lighted in the evening.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from CKunzler-Gloor, Directeur général at Hotel du Marche
Responded Nov 28, 2019
Merci pour votre commentaire, c'est toujours un plaisir de constater que vous avez été satisfait de notre service. En effet, il nous tient à cœur d’accéder aux désirs de nos clients. Par contre pourriez-vous me dire dans quelle chambre vous logiez afin que nous puissions améliorer les équipements de cette chambre - vous pouvez me joindre s/ direction@hoteldumarche-lausanne.ch D'avance merci Catherine
Read more
grahamsonofajack wrote a review Jun 2019
London, United Kingdom14 contributions5 helpful votes
Stayed for 4 nights in mid June with my mother who uses a wheelchair. We were lucky/unlucky enough to be there at the start of a heat wave. Hotel was cool enough - just - which was a bit lucky as there is no aircon. Everything was better than expected. It's a nice, simple hotel. Good sized rooms. Decor a bit dated, but overall it's great value for money. Monia and the whole team were fantastic; especially regarding wheelchair logistics. They were also understanding when I mistakenly booked a room with a shared bathroom because I didn't read the description properly; they upgraded me to one with a private bathroom when they could have said no. A really nice experience and I'd happily go back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Han Tan wrote a review Jun 2019
6 contributions2 helpful votes
+ Clean & tidy; Walking distance from open-air market & Cathedral; Shared toilets were useful; Relatively quiet location - Significant walking distance from metro station with some up-slope. Relatively expensive.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Gloria O wrote a review Sep 2018
Paris, France3 contributions2 helpful votes
This is perhaps the most awful place I have ever been in my life. And I travel a lot. My room is dirty, sinister, no view, the toilet is shared and dirty. The receptionist was very rude. I have tried to cancel the reservation but having booked with booking.come it was not refundable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: chercher un autre hotel
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from CKunzler-Gloor, Directeur général at Hotel du Marche
Responded Nov 26, 2018
Very sorry for that - it is so surprising since most of the comments on our hotel are good, especially about the staff and the cleaness; moreover when you choose to reserve on a non-refundable basis - the lowest price - you are aware of the conditions. I hope you stil have a good memory of Lausanne. Best regards,
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$75 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of VaudLausanne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel du Marche
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel du Marche?
Nearby attractions include The Key (0.06 miles), Collection de l'Art Brut (0.3 miles), and Place de la Palud (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel du Marche?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and breakfast buffet.
Is parking available at Hotel du Marche?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel du Marche?
Conveniently located restaurants include il Ghiotto, INGLEWOOD - Saint-Laurent, and Slice Pizza.
Is Hotel du Marche located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Lausanne.
Are pets allowed at Hotel du Marche?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel du Marche?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel du Marche?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Cathedrale de Lausanne (0.3 miles), Tour de l'Ale (0.09 miles), and Christ Church Lausanne (0.7 miles).