We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Sonne Zermatt

Save
Share
Metzggasse 35 Postfach 121, Zermatt 3920 Switzerland
eDreams
Snaptravel
Booking.com
Lol.travel
StayForLong
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (172)
Room & Suite (48)
Pool & Beach (20)

About

#12 of 108 hotels in Zermatt
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice

If you’re looking for a romantic hotel in Zermatt, look no further than Hotel Sonne Zermatt.

Close to some of Zermatt's most popular landmarks, such as St. Mauritius Church Zermatt (0.1 mi) and Mountaineers' Cemetery (0.2 mi), Hotel Sonne Zermatt is a great destination for tourists.

Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV and a minibar, and Hotel Sonne Zermatt makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the hotel, including a concierge and room service. In addition, guests can enjoy a pool and free breakfast during their visit.

If you like seafood restaurants, Hotel Sonne Zermatt is conveniently located near P.O.S.T.

Looking to explore? Then look no further than Matterhorn Museum - Zermatlantis (0.1 mi), which is a popular Zermatt attraction – and it is conveniently located within walking distance of the hotel.

The staff at Hotel Sonne Zermatt looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Skiing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Banquet room
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Shuttle bus service
Spa
Full body massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Family
Languages Spoken
French, German
382Reviews3Q+A32Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 331
  • 44
  • 6
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Medea wrote a review Jan 10
1 contribution
The hotel is amazingly nice. kitchen serves the best tapas and staff very attantive. the view is also very good. I enjoyed the spa. also tried to have massage. there were a lot of choice but hot stone and aroma massage seems the best. the room has very comfy bed.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexander und Fabian Forster, Owner at Hotel Sonne Zermatt
Responded 2 days ago
Dear mgegia it has been a pleasure, having you here with us. It was indeed a special time for all of us. Covid make the situation not easy at all. We hope you could enjoy every moment at the Sonne, from your aroma massage until the confy bed. Hope to have you back one day, with better views for the future! Thank you sooooo much for your support during these hard times! Family Forster
Read more
Benjamin Müller wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
Make sure to get some time in the outside hot tub, admiring the beautiful ice cliff lit up at night. A lovely week-end in a great hotel. The staff is very kind and also went out of their way to advise us on the best places to do backcountry skiing. The hotel residing dog is also a real cutie. :-)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexander Forster, Owner at Hotel Sonne Zermatt
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear sirbenniboy It was a real pleasure having you among us. We hope you enjoyed Zermatt as much as possible and also the backcountry skiing. We hope, you left with a lot of good memories and we cant wait to have you back one day, here at the Sonne! Take care, especially during these times. Forster Family and its team
Read more
Becca H wrote a review Nov 2020
Zurich, Switzerland113 contributions29 helpful votes
We were really disappointed with the value for money. We understand these are COVID times which is why we were in touch with the hotel in the lead up to our stay to check that the spa was all open and that there would be a restaurant open for my boyfriends 30th birthday dinner. They confirmed it all was and that if anything changed they would let us know. I had also asked if the hotel would help me make his 30th special. On arrival we were told all restaurants were closed, bar open until 10pm and we later found out the outdoor jacuzzi was closed too. The room was nice but absolutely not worth the money, no mini bar, uncomfortable bed and pillows, not even complementary water (or glasses to drink tap water in). Nothing, I was expecting luxury and it just wasn’t. I complained and was told that there were only 12 guests in the hotel (as all others had cancelled) and it was a very difficult time. I understand that, but as one of the few paying guests we just felt totally ignored, if they had been honest with us in the messages, we probably would have cancelled too. We did have our breakfast table decorated with happy birthday which was nice but knowing that the hotel was empty, an upgrade or free drink or something like that would have helped make up for the disappointment but we felt like they just didn’t really care. Would not stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexander Forster, Owner at Hotel Sonne Zermatt
Responded Nov 8, 2020
Dear r90becca as a family business, "COVID" is the worst thing that could happen to us. :-( We are really sorry, we could not fullfill your wishes as you might expected them. Unfortunately we are not allowed to have the Minibar filled up because of "COVID". The glasses must be washed with 90 degrees because of Covid. As we are not allowed to have boiling water in the room (security reason) we had to take them away. We provide glassed from the bar on request and FREE of course. We usually have coffee and espresso mugs in the room, but due to COVID, we were not allowed to. I know its not 4 star like but we have no other choice. We serve all drink from without service charge to the rooms because of Covid. FREE DRINK: we did call the Fuji Restaurant and payed also 2 glasses of Champagne to them which they had to offer to you because your boyfriend had birthday. We called them and they told me that they give it to you. OUTDOOR JACUZZI: The outdoor jacuzzi is not closed! We just open it on reservation because we have to know the names and we have to be sure that there are not more than 4 people in the same time inside the jacuzzi (COVID reasons). But that’s our mistake maybe we did not explained it well by arrival. We will check the process and will speak with the front office team once more. BAR: On the 23 of October the canton Wallis closed all bars and restaurants at 10pm. WE HAD TO CLOSE! If we have still clients at the bar after 10pm we would pay a fine of 2500.-CHF. As a family business We as a family business we suffer a lot due to COVID. RESTAURANT: Yes that’s right that’s completely our mistake and we are very sorry for that. We had so many changes day by day due to COVID because the government changed the rules. But that should be no excuse and we are very sorry for that! SUMMARY: We are very sorry that we could not fulfill your wishes, but as you see the biggest problems occured due to COVID and its laws and orders from the canton Wallis! Bad feedbacks like yours hurt a lot, especially at times like these. Of course we made mistakes and we try to change them and adapt. But many points you described where a release from COVID. Anyways, I big sorry and who know: maybe everybody deserves a second chance in life!
Read more
Tanya H wrote a review Feb 2020
Park City, Utah6 contributions
We were met at the train station within 5 minutes of arriving. The hotel is not on the main strip, but a short walk up the hill. Claudia was so lovely and helpful at the front desk. The rooms were extremely clean with mountain views. The pool and indoor hot tub area is like a greek spa so beautiful. Then you go outside and the outdoor tub good sized and surrounded by towering icicles above and a river below which is absolutely magical! The breakfast has assigned tables and the options and food did definitely not disappoint. They also have a five star restaurant on property with an adorable bar area. I would definitely recommend Hotel Sonne and their staff especially Fabian was above par!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Jens Bayard wrote a review Feb 2020
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland30 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
This Hotel is located at a very quiet spot and has a remarkable variety of different activities and Foods. The Hotel has a warm familiar Atmosphere wich I really liked. As a Guest I felt most welcomed here. Everything is and was Perfect. I recommend this Hotel to everyone who's visiting Zermatt.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Their are simpel or Luxurious Rooms available. All Rooms are very quiet and uniquely equip. This...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$291 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SwitzerlandSwiss AlpsCanton of ValaisZermatt
NUMBER OF ROOMS
43
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Sonne Zermatt
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Sonne Zermatt?
Nearby attractions include The Matterhorn (0.2 miles), Zermatt Ski School European Snowsport (ES) (0.3 miles), and Stoked Snowsports School (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Sonne Zermatt?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Sonne Zermatt?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Sonne Zermatt?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Julen, Restaurant Spycher, and saycheese!.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Sonne Zermatt?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Is Hotel Sonne Zermatt located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Zermatt.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Sonne Zermatt?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Sonne Zermatt?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Sonne Zermatt?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including French and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Sonne Zermatt?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Beresina-Haus (0.4 miles), Kapelle Blatten "Maria Rosenkranzkönigin" (0.9 miles), and Bergführerdenkmal (0.2 miles).
Does Hotel Sonne Zermatt have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.