We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Backstage Hotel Vernissage

Travelers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Backstage Hotel Vernissage
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

257 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 120: English reviews
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A friend and I came to enjoy a short getaway and was immediately disappointed with the hotel. It looks nothing like their website. It is so small and cramped and every walkway/hall is super narrow. We got the Cube Suite but that was horrible, too. I guess the designer was going for pure looks and not practicality. First of all,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank stephenie0317
BackstageZermatt, Owner at Backstage Hotel Vernissage, responded to this review

Dear Guest I would personally like to apologise, as architect and owner of the Backstage Hotel, for the unfortunate experience you had with us. Please let me explain below .... If you were looking for a comfortable, straightforward Hotel, Restaurant, Cinema and Wellness area then you would have found yourself in the wrong place. If, however, you are looking for... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2016

One of the best hotel experience in my life. The size of hotel is perfect and not too crowd, perfect for romantic trip. The gimmick of this hotel is its spa, you need to experience this once in your life. Love it and highly recommended, will definitely visit again, hope it won't fully booked.

Helpful?
Thank Piyaruj S
BackstageZermatt, Manager at Backstage Hotel Vernissage, responded to this review

Dear Piyaruj, Many thanks for your review! We are very happy that you like our remarkable hotel and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Best regards from sunny Zermatt, the management More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2016 via mobile

Amazing experience at the Backstage. Unique hotel with very creative and classy decor - would be a hit in any major city. The spa is an experience of its own an a key differentiating factor vs other hotels. Also includes a cool bar/nightclub/cinema - which during the summer was a bit slow - but worth a drink.

Helpful?
Thank Henrique b
BackstageZermatt, Manager at Backstage Hotel Vernissage, responded to this review

Dear Henrique, Many thanks for taking your time to write this review. We are happy that you liked our Hotel with its one-of-a-kind spa area. We really hope to see you again and wish you a great day. Best regards, the Management More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 15, 2016 via mobile

We stay in this well-decorated hotel for 3 nights with balcony view. The view is awesome to overlook the tennis court and mountains. During the stay, the hotel crews are all friendly and helpful. We enjoy staying in this hotel. The location is also great. It is 5 min walk from train station. The nearby restaurants and supermarkets are convenient.... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2016

From the delightfully industrial check in desk, to the round glass elevator, to the fantastic funky artisan fixtures, to the amazing views, I cannot say enough good about this hotel. The furnishings are each a work of art crafted from industrial materials and finished in luxurious velvety and furs. The bathroom for our room, a delux suite, was ultra modern... More 

Helpful?
Thank blklthrjkt
Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2016

A couple of minutes from the main station, right in the middle of the city, the hotel is easy to be reached with restaurants and shops around. First impression: the funny handle of the main entrance -> see it yourself in person :-). Trendy hotel, with details to arouse your curiousity. The ambience is warm and welcoming, the staff are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lifestyle_guest
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2016

The stay was great in general.. SPA is a very unique experience! I would really come back! The room and the bed itself are very comfortable. The hotel staff were very kind and helpful. The access to the ski resort is a small distance and the hotel has a rental store with very good equipment on the ground level. There... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vinicius S
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2016 via mobile

Very welcoming staff Clean and relaxed Very close to the train station Very nice service you feel like home I really recommend every one to stay here Honestly stayed in the hotel most of the time since it is so warm and relaxed You have every thing in the hotel Cinema Diner Spa Grocery shop below the hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank RashedAlzaabi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2016

For Easter Weekend I decided to go to one of my favourite skiing places Zermatt. Having been there before and having come across this place during one of my previous visits, I have chosen to stay at this hotel. My choice was partially based on the tripadvisor reviews, which have never turned out to be this misleading. I was so... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank NataliaStavskaya
BackstageZermatt, Manager at Backstage Hotel Vernissage, responded to this review

We at the Backstage Boutique Hotel are very sorry that Natalia had a negative experience while a guest with us. It is our policy to do our best to provide every one of our guests with an enjoyable visit and to rectify any problems that may arise during their stay. It is our hope when she reassesses the events that... More 

Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2016

We stayed at the 5 bedroom backstage chalet which is located a short walk from the Vernissage. All as I can say is WOW!!!!! Simply amazing!! Bathrooms in every room, cinema room, hydraulic hot tub that rises through the roof for fantastic views, walking distance to everything, killer views, etc. This was top notch living for a week! Big shout... More 

Helpful?
Thank RobandNancy
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

242 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (161)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (100)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (58)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Unique Hotel Post
Unique Hotel Post
#31 of 110 in Zermatt
401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#7 of 110 in Zermatt
457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#11 of 110 in Zermatt
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#1 of 110 in Zermatt
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#13 of 110 in Zermatt
499 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#6 of 110 in Zermatt
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Backstage Hotel Vernissage

Address: Hofmattstrasse 4, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Price Range: $202 - $633 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Backstage Hotel Vernissage 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Backstage Hotel Vernissage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#27 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#34 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Backstage Hotel Vernissage staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Backstage Hotel Vernissage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I believe any room would be great!”
 of 5 bubbles desavinicius, Jun 22, 2016 | Read review
“To choose a good room, choose another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles NataliaStavskaya, Mar 29, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms in the chalet are awesome! My only advice is stay here if you can!”
  • View of the Matterhorn from the hot tub after rising through the roof!
  • View of Zermatt from the hot tub after rising through the roof!
 of 5 bubbles RobandNancy, Feb 24, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the Matterhorn.”
 of 5 bubbles LB021, Dec 23, 2015 | Read review
“Just avoid this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles D6532WBhelenw, Nov 22, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay