We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Helvetia

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Helvetia
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 56: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Helvetia
 Click to rate
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Good location is about 4 mins from Zermatt train station.. main Street just right in front of the hotel. Considered affordable hotel especially in Zermatt as most of the hotels are quite costly. At night will expecting some noise due to hotel downstairs are all the pubs and restaurants. No elevator so if you carry big luggage you might need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Selina_YP
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and a mate stayed here for 2 night in March 2017. The hotel is accessed via the steps to the restaurant from the street. The hotel is a fantastic typically swiss decorated hotel, with a very personal feel about it. Everything is wooden inside, and this gives it that special charm! Check In is with a list of people's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikeofmacc
Bogor, Indonesia
Reviewed February 4, 2017

Before we arrived, we already asked them, if we choose triple room, can add one extra bed because we are 2 adult and 2 youth, and they agreed but they say, if we ok with small space, then it is fine. We choose this hotel because of the price and the location is on the main street, it is walkable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank m4r14_10
Washington, Virginia
Reviewed December 30, 2016

The hotel is located on the main street of Zermatt, but located at the opposite of from the train station - near the church. But it's still easily walkable from the train station. The hotel is above a Thai restaurant, and checkin is done inside restaurant. There is no elevator, so be prepared to carry your luggage up the narrow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl703
Martin S, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review

Thank you for those information. I think they are very helpfull for further guests. I try to offer a simple cheap place to sleep at one of the most expensive places in Switzerland. The rooms are small but clean with shower, toilet and flat-screen TV. Travelgirl703, how was the breakfast included in the price? On breakfast you can meet our...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed December 15, 2016

Didn't stay in the hotel, but we were looking for some good Asian food in Zermatt and found it in this cozy Thai-Swiss hybrid restaurant that's part of the Helvetia Hotel. Friendly staff and fair prices too, so we were very happy. Will be back again next year for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Asia_Martin
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewed December 7, 2016

Just returned from a family holiday at Zermatt. Had to choose a hotel which was relatively cheap and decided to try out Hotel Helvetia despite a couple of not so good reviews. Was a wise decision on my part as I found the hotel just right for my family's requirements for our short stay at Zermatt. Notable was the friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ednava
Martin S, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review

My words;) Thank you ednava for your information to tripadvisor community.

PJ
Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

Absolutely love this hotel. So many good things to say: 1. Price is affordable 2. Location is central as it is right in the center of town 3. Clean room and bathroom with heaters 4. Good morning breakfast (love their hot chocolate) 5. Friendly service 6. They have the most efficient housekeeping we have ever encountered. We had our breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jwlyy
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 24, 2016

Convenient for the station, Hotel Helvetia is also well situated for hikers and climbers, close to the path to Trift and the Rothorn hut. Clean and very good value and an excellent breakfast to set you up for your hike. Expect some noise at night from the bars if you have a room at the front of the hotel but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Josie I
Hualpen, Chile
Reviewed June 25, 2016

This place sucked! They advertise free wifi but they dont tell you you gave to be on the first floor... in itself not a big deal but everything about this place was terrible. This place wreaked of a cheap skate immigrant family that was purely trying to get as much from you for as little as possible. Obviously the cleaning...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank M W
Martin S, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Helvetia, responded to this review

I am the "cheap skate immigrant family".... Yes, the wife of the restaurant tender is thai, for me as a open minded Swiss no problem. I look for the hotel since 7 years, and yes I save money - for my guests! In Switzerland everything is expensiv, so are the hotels. Our hotel is situated in one of the best...

Springfield, Missouri
Reviewed March 1, 2016

This hotel is right off the main street. We were on the top floor, room 15, so we had a view from our room. The bedroom and bathroom was very large. The bed was comfortable. As others have stated, there was no elevator. Trekking to the top floor wasn't difficult for us, but if you have trouble with stairs, it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Taylor P
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.1 mi away
Le Petit CHARME-INN
Le Petit CHARME-INN
#36 of 109 in Zermatt
397 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
0.1 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#28 of 109 in Zermatt
282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Adonis
Hotel Adonis
#69 of 109 in Zermatt
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our 2 stars hotel is located in the heart of Zermatt. We have lovely small and clean rooms with a bathroom and TV in each. The Restaurant Helvetia is well know in whole Zermatt for it's exellent Swiss kitchen. Now we also serve Thai food. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Helvetia

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 72, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Price Range: $103 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Helvetia 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Helvetia staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Helvetia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“accessible only by stairs, stairs down to the street, rear rooms are quieter, great views.”
 of 5 bubbles mikeofmacc, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Rooms at the side or back are quieter at night.”
 of 5 bubbles josiei325, Aug 24, 2016 | Read review
“Top floor rooms are larger”
  • Jacuzzi tub in bathroom
  • Hallway area for ski jackets, boots, etc.
  • View from Room 15-4th floor
  • Double bed, table and 2 chairs, dresser
 of 5 bubbles 799taylorp, Mar 1, 2016 | Read review
“If you are a night owl, get a room over the main street. If you have trouble with noise like I do, get a room on the side or back of the hotel. Get ready to be up at 8 with the Church Bells next door!”
 of 5 bubbles buzzerbell, Mar 21, 2015 | Read review
“Room 15 on the top floor faces away from the main street and we could not hear the bar scene which some complained.”
 of 5 bubbles Internationalgotoguy, Mar 12, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question