We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola

Viale Castagnola 31, Lugano 6900 Switzerland
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (655)
360
Panoramas (26)
Room & Suite (571)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 40 hotels in Lugano
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.8
Value
4.2
2023 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
The Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, member of the “Small Luxury Hotels of the World”, is the only five star superior Hotel in Lugano and enjoys a privileged position inside a large sub-tropical park and with a beautiful view towards the lake. The elegant villa, built in 1860, combines the charm of a former era with the comfort and the care of a modern luxury hotel. The hotel offers 78 rooms, of exceptional charm, individually styled, provided with every modern comfort and with stunning park and/or lake views, balcony, terrace or loggia. All rooms, of which 28 are Junior Suites and Suites, have individual air-conditioning, and provide the most modern comforts. Restaurant Le Relais – 14 points GaultMillau-: In an elegant setting, our Executive Chef Bertogna, suggests a light and innovative Mediterranean cuisine, a balance between colours and delicate flavours that you won’t forget. In season lunch and dinner are served on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the garden and the lake. Restaurant Gallery Arté al Lago -1 Michelin Star, 16 points GaulMillau - :A theme restaurant inside an art gallery. Restaurant renewed and embellished through artworks and sculptures of contemporary artists of international stature who alternate every six months. Right on the shore of the lake, the Restaurant Gallery Arté al Lago offers a magnificent and unique view over the gulf of Lugano. Signature dishes are entirely new and original from our Executive Chef Frank Oerthle. Top notch are the facilities offered for meeting and events: any event assumes a special distinction - a grand banquet or less formal luncheon, business meeting or conference, private party, dinner or wedding up to 120 people. A large and impressive venue is the Sala delle Palme, set to recall an oriental atmosphere with its Indian Rajastan panoplies and Afganistan doors dated XIX century. All our venues are appreciated for the day light and the unique ornamentation and for the unclenching rooms, private sitting-rooms, conference halls of different sizes such as Le Pavillon connected to the park trough the outdoor veranda, La Sala Delle Colonne, Sala Letizia, Sala Carlotta and Sala Ottavia, the Biblioteca and Sala Kwium.Villa Castagnola has a spectacular indoor swimming-pool with panoramic views over the gardens, a Wellness Corner, a Clarins Beauty Corner, a Danilo Hairstyling, a table-tennis room, outdoor hard court tennis fields and a private lake terrace. The Hotel is well connected to Lugano’s railway station and Airport (only 7Km to the Lugano-Agno Airport), and has easy access to the Motorway.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Babysitting
Highchairs available
Paid private parking on-site
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Strollers
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bidet
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Minibar
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Italian

Location

Viale Castagnola 31, Lugano 6900 Switzerland
Name/address in local language
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
730Reviews3Q+A91Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 595
  • 83
  • 32
  • 11
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
carrie m wrote a review Oct 2023
Newport Beach, California179 contributions185 helpful votes
My son had researched this hotel and really wanted to stay here. We had a reservation for a double room and when we got to the hotel, they said that we had 2 people so they had to charge us an extra 100 CHF per night. Ridiculous! I could see if we'd booked a single room but a double room with a king bed means 2 people. The hotel was lovely and being Hyatt Globalist members, we were upgraded to a nice room with a view of lake and balcony. The room was lovely. The location and view can't be beat-right on lake Lugano. We went to the beach club and swam in Lake Lugano. Don't let that fool you. We never saw and employee at the Beach Club which was sad because supposedly you can order food and drinks which we'd planned to do for lunch. We had drinks on the patio and 2 glasses of prosecco was $40 euros. Crazy! We wanted to eat dinner in the hotel but the prices were outrageous in all the restaurants so we found something off property just across the street. Mind you we came from expensive places like Santorini, Milan and Lake Como so we eat at nice restaurants but this hotel is rip off. Breakfast was a disaster. There's a tiny buffet in 1 small area (smallest of any breakfast buffet we ate at on trip) and they kept running out of everything. Not much variety at all. We had complimentary breakfast with our globalist status but had to pay extra for anything extra that was hot so hard boiled, soft boiled eggs etc. Never heard of this in my life. They never replenished water in the room. Charged extra if you used up all the tea bags in the room. The ultimate rip off was when my son and I were both on our computers working and we got kicked off because only allowed a couple of devices. There were only 2 of us in the room. We were supposed to stay for 2 nights but at $600 CHF plus taxes per night, the value for what we were getting wasn't there. I've read this on tons of reviews on this site. The front desk manager didn't want to let us out of our reservation for the 2nd night but when I pushed it saying we can't work in a place that kicks us out of internet, she agreed. We ended up taking the train to Lake Como and stayed at a lovely hotel. I'd like to shout out to the front desk gentleman who was very helpful. When we came down to check out after 1 night, he tried to get us to stay and felt terrible. We generally stay at 4.5-5 star hotels all over the world and expect the prices to be high but this place just squeezed every cent out of you.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: we had a deluxe room with a couch and a balcony and view overlooking lake lugano.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Antonella Archidiacono, Marketing at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Responded Oct 28, 2023
Dear Carrie, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We value your feedback, and while we're glad to know that you enjoyed the beautiful room and the picturesque view of Lake Lugano, we are genuinely disheartened that several aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. Regarding the confusion with the room charges, it's important to clarify that our pricing policy is designed to account for the number of guests in a room. This policy is communicated during the reservation process to ensure transparency and to prevent any misunderstanding. In Europe is a normal fact to have 2 different pricing fro Single and doubel occupancy. Regarding the Lido Club, the service is only during summer season, there was no menu displeyed and no employee for this reason. Is not usal to have such good weather in October. In terms of dining options, we acknowledge that individual preferences may differ, and we regret that our prices did not meet your expectations. The price of Prosecco for 2 glasses CHF 28.- and not CHF 40.- we have checked the bill. Is not polite from your side to exagerate with the prices. Regarding the breakfast, we do not agree with your statement. Only special eggs are at charge and this is specifies on the egg menu. All the other hot food is complimentary. We are sorry that you invested so much negative energy during your stay at our facility. we accept your feedback and are glad you had a better stay at lake como. Warm regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
John C wrote a review Sep 2023
Norwich, United Kingdom71 contributions53 helpful votes
First the good news. The Hotel is elegant and ostentatious in its appearance. Our room was spacious and immaculate throughout with a wonderful view of the Lake. Praise goes the Housekeeping team throughout our stay. The reception staff were helpful and courteous at all times. My main gripe was our experience of the breakfast restaurant. I did not expect such limited selection and of poor hot buffet quality for a 5star hotel. The food kept running out and had to be replenished by surly waiters. The pastries are laid out on a table uncovered so flies can help themselves. But worst of all you have to pay for certain items (see photo) if requested. Never in 50 years have I had to pay extra for breakfast items - poached eggs, porridge etc.- not even in 3star!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Book elsewhere.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lindsay B wrote a review Sep 2023
1 contribution
My husband and I stayed at the hotel for four nights to celebrate his birthday and our anniversary. The hotel is beautiful and the room was great, but we had severe food poisoning from the hotel. We ate breakfast, lunch and then had dinner at the arte restaurant to celebrate our anniversary and the next day experienced terrible food poisoning and ruined a day of our trip. When we told the front desk as well as the the manager we were spoken down to, scolded, and were told we didn’t know how food poisoning worked. Since we had not gone to a doctor (we’re not local) they said there was no proof that we had food poisoning and essentially treated as though we were liars (not exactly how you want to feel after getting sick for the last 10 hours). They did not offer us anything and said it was our word against theirs (again, we had exclusively eaten at the hotel). We are understanding that mistakes happen but the way we were spoken to was so incredibly rude. We then contacted the general manager and he offered to cover a future meal. We’re not local, and certainly won’t be making the effort to go back. Overall, beautiful hotel but incredibly disappointed in the staff and service, especially after paying so much for our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Antonella Archidiacono, Marketing at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Responded Sep 14, 2023
Dear Mrs Lindsay, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you are investing such a big amount of negative energy in this matter just because you have not received what you wanted: a late chack out and a refund of the dinner. You are free to express your feelings and thoughts. As mentioned earlier, your case appears to be an isolated incident, The Restaurant and Hotel are running at full capacity and I haven’t received any report such as yours. We wish you all the best
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Reign B wrote a review Sep 2023
9 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
The Grand Villa Castagnola was perfect in every way. We were welcomed as part of the Hyatt family had a perfect view of Mount Salvatore from our amazing room. Breakfast on the room terrace was exceptional as well! We were treated so well by everyone from the front desk staff to the General Manager tho extended such warm wishes. Five stars. Oh and the meal at Le Relais on the Terrace was among the best meals we have eaten in our lives. Every attention to detail of the most amazing Swiss Mediterranean cuisine. It was so great to stay in this Grand Palace a few days!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kelly M wrote a review Sep 2023
1 contribution
Horrible experience so far. THIS IS NOT A LUXURY HOTEL. The driveway was under construction. we were forced to be dropped off 80 yards from the entrance. My husband, with a foot injury and broken toe, was forced to drag our bags up the hill to the entrance with no help from any bag porters. The room has no central AC and is outdated. The hallways are not clean and the main living areas of the hotel have no air conditioning. Avoid at all costs. This place is outdated and old. Stains, chips on the door, etc.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid at all costs. This place is outdated, old and horrible. Bad service - we were dropped off...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Squeakyman wrote a review Aug 2023
Bournemouth, United Kingdom230 contributions105 helpful votes
Thanks to everyone for making our 25th wedding anniversary visit so good. This was our fifth visit and look forward to returning again. Everything was perfect . The hotel is just amazing which is why we keep returning. Many many thanks to all.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bradford D wrote a review Jul 2023
Boston, Massachusetts5 contributions1 helpful vote
Amazing stay and great management. The hotel went out of their way to make a great experience for my wife and I on a special occasion for us. They were also very kind and flexible in accommodating a last minute change due to an emergency on our end. Can't speak highly enough. The private Lido / Beach Club across the street is a highlight. Lovely cocktails on the water, access to free paddle boards and great service throughout. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jon S wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution
We stayed 4 nights at this hotel for what ended up costing us a lot more!!! We booked via Capital One Venture X which did not allow us the ability to state how many occupants there would be in our suite. Mind you, we booked the largest suite they had on the site with a master bedroom and a sleeper sofa(my wife and 3 children ( age 5,9, and 11). When pre-booking dinner reservations for five for their restaurant we were questioned as to how many individuals were in our family. The hotel stated that we could only have 3 people in this massive suite for security reasons. I acknowledge that the hotel stated they could place us in a larger suite for two nights then just two connecting smaller rooms for the next two nights which is absolutely absurd as this suite more than met our needs. Anyway, when we arrived the Front Desk staff were very cold to us and gave us no option but to spend an extra $2,066.50 for a room that we did not even need. The first night we were placed in a room that had a God-awful stench then the next three nights was a nicer room but again, a room not needed. I can only tell you how I felt and they made you feel like a second class citizen. Other than the Front Desk staff the rest of the staff and restaurants were amazing. The view is superb. The grounds themselves were out of a fairy tale. I would not suggest coming with the children at all though. My kids were playing Marco Polo in the pool one early afternoon and a Front Desk gentleman scolded them and me for being loud. I can assure you my children were having fun as you would do in a pool but certainly were not silent either. Hopefully the reader has only one child because, as stated above, you will be made to purchase another room at this hotel even if you purchase a gorgeous super expensive suite. They were able to bilk us out of more money than we expected unfortunately. FYI- In Milan we stayed at a hotel right next to the Duomo that had no issue with our family staying together in a large suite. Anyway, I rarely ever leave a review but felt it necessary to let the general public know of how we were treated and separated from more cash from this hotel that really is best for two adults and no kids.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
LDB1977 wrote a review Jun 2023
Zurich, Switzerland16 contributions5 helpful votes
Amazing property and amazing staff. The staff are extremely enthusiastic and friendly. The property is beautiful in particular the garden and it’s amazing view. While not directly on the lake there is a nice Lido across the street where guests can have sun loungers and direct access to the lake.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Room 117 has a spectacular view from the balcony being close to the center of the building.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Zak wrote a review Jun 2023
Switzerland49 contributions11 helpful votes
Family trip to Lugano, we planned to stay 3 nights, we left after 2 nights, kids are not really welcome here, hotels is ok, nice restaurants and staff (restaurant and bar), rooms needs a deep refresh but our room was clean (great works from the staff). Definitely does not get the value for the money spent (more than CHF 700.-/night)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lugano area.
PRICE RANGE
$434 - $569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand hotel castagnola, grand hotel lugano
LOCATION
SwitzerlandSwiss AlpsCanton of TicinoLugano
NUMBER OF ROOMS
72
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GRAND HOTEL VILLA CASTAGNOLA - Prices & Reviews (Lugano, Switzerland)

Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola?
Nearby attractions include Chiesa San Pietro (0.03 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid public parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ristorante Galleria Arte Al Lago, La Fermata, and Restaurant Le Relais - Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola have airport transportation?
Yes, Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Lugano.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.