We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barony Le Pergole

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Barony Le Pergole
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

16 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 10: English reviews
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2015

My husband and I arrived on the 7th of September 2015. We had booked for 16 nights and at the owner's insistence, pre-paid for the whole stay weeks in advance by money transfer to her account, since credit cards were unacceptable. Several days after we arrived, we were covered with bug bites which necessitated a trip to a doctor who... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia C
gardenie2014, Inhaber at Barony Le Pergole, responded to this review

Prepayment and to let a Warranty Depot on arrival is practice in Switzerland at the holiday housing rentals. The contractually payable Warranty Depot was not made. The guests departed without timely appointment-agreement and without proper return of the rental unit and without payment of the outstanding fees for parking, broken coffee machine, electric current consumtion, removal of waste and contractualy... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in appartment 4A, which is truly delightful. It has two private terraces just for our use, both with lake views. The lounge is an elegant room with antique furniture, ornaments and light fittings, this room has curved opening floor to ceiling windows on two sides making it cool and comfortable in the heat of the summer.The resident owner... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Jaci E
Worb, Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I was able to spent again a few days at Castagnola in the Barony Villa Le Pergole. I resided in apartment IVB. The journey was a dream! My apartment was very comfortable and I liked the friendly contact with Ms von Husen. She helps me if I had a need. Again the weather was very nice and the view to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Theo O
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We enjoyed a relaxing week in the gorgeous Villa - despite being close to high season the place was peaceful, when sleeping with open window absolutely nothing was to disturb the rest despite the fact that the location is close enough to walk to Lugano downtown and reach the lake in a brief stroll. The great views, antique furniture and... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Gisa G
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed in Apartment 1B for a week. The view is fantastic and the gardens are very nice. The apartment was a little unusual. For example: - The in-room safe was not bolted down. I could easily pick it up. - The covered terrace with dining space was also the gardener's access to his tools. One morning I was wandering... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank JenniePS
Gardenie, Inhaber at Barony Le Pergole, responded to this review

As I and my councellor are not able to make any interpretation for the word "quirky" for the 5-stars Barony Villa Le Pergole it is necessary to give the following informations: Castlelike residence contructed of the family of the noble President des Schweizer Nationalrates in the late 30th of the last century and lateron habitabled by a well known German... More 

Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

we had a perfect stay at an amazing location. what a view! so beautiful!! nice apartment with generous rooms / space. friendly people and a very private atmosphere. central located at bus station and easy to go "downtown" lugano. we'll come back! thanks!

Helpful?
3 Thank melotte22
Düsseldorf
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I are still impressed from this nice and tastefully furnished at Le Baronie. The furnishings are high quality, original antic and at the same time with modern technology equipped, real Persian carpets, bath in white marble. We had an unforgettable atmosphere of purity and luxury. Not to forget the garden with rarest and costly plantation, absolutely heavenly.... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank TICINOSUN
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

For two weeks we stayed in Villa Pergole, we had an amazing view at the lake. Our appartment was very private, so we could have all the rest and relaxation we needed after a year of hard work. Christel is a kind, helpfull woman, she is doing a great job managing the appartments by herself. We had a great time... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank 980Evelien980
Riehen
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Heralded as a "castle-like 5-star" location, this is an utter disappointment. The only good thing to say is that it is located in a quiet area with a good view over Lake Lugano. The place is untidy (we saw dog's excrements for 2 days), with weeds in many places, gardening items left around somewhere, and other items like cushions, children's'... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank meyauwe
Gardenie, Inhaber at Barony Le Pergole, responded to this review

These subjective negative comments are refuted on the basis of statements by many other extremely satisfied guests. See guestbook of this castlelike estate and awards as well as the official Swiss-stars-awarding. The assertions from these tourist are following after my written complaint from 23.07.2012 because of damage to the S.-toilet due to improper operation resulting in non-availability for rent and... More 

Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

We arrived at this castle like property with tropical vegetation and the sound of birds - the studio we stayed in was extremely comfortable, egyptian cotton bed linen, kitchenette with everything we needed, but the view was the real magic, stretching over lake Lugano and the mountains in the distance and many flowers. We ate on the terrace overlooking this... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank sandpiperguesthouse
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.5 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
2.1 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Moosmann
Hotel Moosmann
#1 of 1 in Gandria
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bellevue Au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The romantic Barony LE PERGOLE with 3 villas and total 10 apartments (non-smoker) of different size for 1-9 persons + covered swimming-pool is situated in the exclusive district of Lugano-Castagnola-Cortivo at foot of Monte Bre (the sunniest mountain in Switzerland) near the lake (70 m airline) and the lakeside path to the picturesque fisher-village Gandria (1,3 km). Peaceful and sunny placed away from the disturbance of urban and cantonal roads between private blind alley via Violetta and antique Olivetree-footpath thrones this castlelike residence over a 4.000 M2 terraced Mediterranean tree-garden (nature-left) with panorama-view over Lake Lugano and nearby mountains. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barony Le Pergole

Address: Via Violetta 5 - 7 | 6976 Lugano-Castagnola, Lugano 6976, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Price Range: $228 - $778 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Barony Le Pergole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay