We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Monopol Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Preferred Hotels.. to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Monopol Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 114: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here with family for a skiing holiday & I have to say it's one of the most accommodating hotels I've ever stayed in. It's located a short walk from the bottom of the ski lift so you don't have to go very far carrying all your gear, which is great for older skiers like my parents who are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
Lucas M, Manager at Monopol Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sarah P Thank you so much for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We will with pleasure pass on your excellent feedback to our staff. It is always our goal to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible and give a home away from home. We very much hope to be able to welcoming... More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location, walkable to restaurants and public transportation to the various tourist attractions. We were there during the end of the low season for vacation and were provided an upgrade to a Jr Suite which was a very nice surprise. The room was clean, comfortable with lots of closet space and a beautiful large bathroom. Our room was plenty large... More 

Helpful?
Thank chrismueller2016
Toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here on two different occasions while on business. Nice atmosphere, as most of the guests are on ski vacations. Easy walking distance to various restaurants. My room had a view of the clock tower across the street, and the mountains in different directions. Staff were friendly, though very busy. There was a lot of street noise, so if that... More 

Helpful?
Thank CGNToronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Yes, the hotel is very well placed in the center of the town, in the pedestrian area. Just consider that during the high season, that area is extremely noisy. That's the reason why you get some earplugs for the stay over. We had a huge deal for a junior suite due to the low touristic time of the year. Alright,... More 

Helpful?
Thank sarahfW6519PK
chardun, Manager at Monopol Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sarahfW6519PK Thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry to hear, that you did not like our art works on the floors. Please note, that this was a choice of the owners to place originals of contemporary artists such as Robert Mars, Marc Quinn, Rainer Lagemann and Hunt Slonem in the public areas, and copies of... More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile

Had a great time! Staff were polite and helpful. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Receptionist recommended visiting the iced lake which we did. Have the best photos of the lake and surrounding scenery!

Helpful?
Thank JYOTI R
chardun, General Manager at Monopol Hotel, responded to this review

Allegra from St. Moritz Thank you so much for your nice words. We will pass the compliments to our staff. Please be assured that it is always our Goal to satisfy our guests’ wishes and make them feel comfortable away from home. Yours sincerely Lucas Merckaert, Host More 

Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016

This was not my first stay at the Monopol and will certainly not be my last. The Ingham's rep informed the hotel which train I would be arriving on and their driver was at the station to meet me. Check in was friendly and effortless and I was shown to my room by the receptionist. My case had already been... More 

Helpful?
Thank robert g
chardun, General Manager at Monopol Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robertg Thank You very much for all of your wonderful compliments. We will forward all of them to our staff. Please be assured that it is always our aim to satisfy all of our guests, and are very proud, that we can always welcome “Repeaters” as you. Thank you for informing us about the longer waiting time between the... More 

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2016

Just returned from The Hotel Monopol in St Moritz and everything about this hotel was first class! from the first minute we arrived in St. Moritz, the hotel porter was waiting for us at the train station, the welcoming staff when we checked in were brilliant (and throughout the entire holiday). They were so friendly and helpful.The room was superb... More 

Helpful?
Thank PaulRobina
chardun, General Manager at Monopol Hotel, responded to this review

Hello PaulRobina Thank You so much for this best Review. We will definitely Forward your overwhelming compliments to all of our staff. Please be assured, that we always are trying our best to make our guests’ feel at home away from home. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you again very soon. Lucas Merckaert More 

Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2016

We went for Christmas 2015 and were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived. Our room was upgraded to a bigger suite at no charge which is always a sign of good things to come. As others have said, it can be noisy, but any hotel in the centre of town is likely to be so. Just bring some... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrsSimmo12
chardun, General Manager at Monopol Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Simmo 12 Thank You so much for your wonderful Review of our Hotel. We will Forward the compliments to all of our staff. Please be assured, that it is always our Goal to make our guests' stays as comfortable as possible. We are very much looking forwad to seeing You soon again at art Boutique hotel monopol in St.... More 

Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2016

Excellent location – about as close as one could be to the centre of St Moritz Dorf, a short walk from all local facilities including ski lift and bus stop. Staff were plentiful, very friendly and extremely helpful. Generally, my room had everything I’d expect from this hotel. However, my bed was disappointing for a four star hotel in St... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert16
chardun, General Manager at Monopol Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robert Thank you very much for your review. Thank you for your compliments to our staff, which we will with pleasure forward to them. We feel terribly sorry, that you were disappointed with the quality of sleeping. The noise on the street, especially during weekends, is sometimes annoying. The weekend of your arrival, we had the wold cup skiing... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2016 via mobile

A really nice hotel with friendly staff based in the centre of town. We arrived and were upgraded which was a pleasant surprise. Each night the hotel provided a turn down service and left chocolate and sweets in the room! The breakfasts were good. Didn't use the spa. Met all expectations.

Helpful?
Thank Jamesmichael86
chardun, Manager at Monopol Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jamesmichael86 Thank You so much for your nice Review. Please be assured, that it is always our Goal to satisfy our guests' expectations. We want You to feel at home away from home. I will pass your comments to our wondeful staff. Hope to see You soon again in St. Moritz @ art Boutique Hotel Monopol Lucas Merckaert, host More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Moritz hotels
0.1 mi away
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#13 of 34 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
Hotel Eden Garni St. Moritz
#11 of 34 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
Kulm Hotel St. Moritz
#1 of 34 in St. Moritz
5.0 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#12 of 34 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#4 of 34 in St. Moritz
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Monopol Hotel

Address: Via Maistra 17, St. Moritz 7500, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > St. Moritz
Price Range: $246 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monopol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Monopol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monopol Swiss Quality
Monopol Swiss Quality St Moritz
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in St. Moritz
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Moritz
#10 Luxury Hotel in St. Moritz
#15 Family Hotel in St. Moritz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay