We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Altein

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Altein
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 21: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Altein
 Click to rate
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Never in my wildest dreams did I expect that the review and comments regarding my stay, which ended yesterday at the Hotel Altein would focus on guest safety, fire safety and the risks in being a guest at a property that, in my opinion is sorely deficient in meeting modern day standards. The owners of the Hotel Altein, Fereinverein Holding,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richjacobson18
Ferienverein, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Altein, responded to this review

Dear Mr Jacobson, Thank you for your visit and for your feedback. Since the Hotel Managers on site have spoken to you about your concerns, we are happy to share our view on this platform too: We were all shocked by the recent fire at another hotel in Arosa too, and we wish all those affected by it the very...

Bassersdorf, Switzerland
Reviewed July 31, 2016

The Hotel is 100 years old but with a good infrastructur, specially during summer with a large playground for children with tennis-court and Minigolf. Spa area very nice. Rooms and baths are average, no luxory. Food, specially the breakfast bufet, was excelent, every evening they also served a menue for children.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ulla B
Ferienverein, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Altein, responded to this review

Dear Ulla We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you for the recommendation! We are looking forward to welcome you again. Kind regards, Franziska G., Ferienverein hotelgroup

Reviewed March 3, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here the last week of February for a family skiing holiday. Children 12 and 15. We had booked a north family suite but to our delight were given a south facing suite ( 2 connected rooms, one a bit larger than the other) the view every morning was wonderful! We knew the hotel interior would be dated so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Minifo
Ferienverein, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Altein, responded to this review

Dear Minifo We are pleased to read your comment, thank you for taking your time. You felt comfortable at our hotel, as it should be to enjoy the holiday. As you write, compared to other hotels of our category, you find in our hotel lots of public spaces, game rooms and last but not least our spa. We are looking...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 21, 2016

Complete renovation needed for room, shower, toilet. Price far too high for product offered. Raised this issue politely with the hotel but the hotel could not care less. There are much better hotels in Arosa.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S H
Ferienverein, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Altein, responded to this review

Dear S H, We regret that the price/performance ratio didn't meet your expectations. There are high season prices in Arosa at the moment. Our room rate includes our facilities as the large wellness area with 2 saltwater pools, jacuzzi, sauna, steam bath and more, the public rooms as the library and the play rooms for the kids. Furthermore, our hotel...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 4, 2016

Room was adequate, clean, we didn't spend much time there. The spa is wonderful, a real fun time and practically empty at dinner time. It includes Jacuzzi, massage showers, a stream that goes around the pool, but also a second pool for swimming. The breakfast is fine, no complaints, with beautiful views of the mountains. If you're bored in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caro V
Ferienverein, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Altein, responded to this review

We are glad to read that you explored all public areas of the hotel and used our offer, the spa area with salt water pool 33°C, the games as well as our bar. It's important to us that you feel at home in the wohle hotel. Thank you for the recommendation. Kind regards Franziska G., Ferienverein-Hotelgruppe

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed December 31, 2015

Great reception, the rooms are simple but clean, with everything you need. Salt water spa, steam sauna available if the weather happens to be bad. We enjoyed the excellent food and found the Althein absolutely priceworth. Tuesday evening offers a vast dessert buffet. We took an all-inclusive booking, which included the spa, which is otherwise rather expensive. The hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank semagora
Ferienverein, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Altein, responded to this review

We are happy to read that you had a good stay at our hotel and that you enjoyed the meals as well as our spa with salt water pool, sauna, steam bath and more. Thank you for the recommendation. Kind regards, Franziska G., Ferienverein hotel group

Reviewed October 15, 2015 via mobile

The hotel has not even charm its old not good maintained and even dangerous for kids(elevators). The rooms are old ... Really old and even if the view is nice the smell of centuries of former guests is making the experience bad The breakfast room is like a hall but even it is empty you are forced to sit where...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Torben B
Ferienverein, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Altein, responded to this review

Dear Torben B Thank you very much for taking the time to send your comment after your stay with us. It is sad to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We are renovating regularly all our hotels and safety is our first priority. Our employees speak many different languages also English and German. We are sorry if the...

Madrid
Reviewed August 10, 2015

Hotel Altein is kind of those places which keep the magic of old fashion hotels in a perfect state, our room with a nice view to the mountains, enough space and very comfortable bed, bathroom a little bit small but everything what is needed. Most of the time we were in the spa and it was delicious, very well equiped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia P
Ferienverein, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Altein, responded to this review

Dear Patricia, thank you for your rating. It is always nice to hearing from good news about our clients stays. We look forward to seeing you again! Yours faithfully. Maxime C., Ferienverein

United States
Reviewed July 15, 2015

We stayed here in late March. The hotel rooms were clean but very basic - no frills. The staff at the front desk were fantastic, but the wait staff at breakfast were rude, and signs on where to sit (groups vs everyone else) were not in English. The spa pool was absolutely wonderful, and I would happily put up with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
Ferienverein, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Altein, responded to this review

Dear Emily Thank you very much for staying at our hotel. We are happy that you have relaxed in our spa. We are sorry that you have perceived some of our employees as rude - we pursue completely different goals and hope to convince you next time. We look forward to welcoming you again. Best regards, Linda H., Ferienverein hotel...

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 1, 2015

Excellent breakfast & delicious 4 course meals with half board on ground floor. One of the courses was always buffet style. Dream mountain view from cosy cafe/restaurant on the top floor. Lovely relaxing wellness center, free water gym & stretch classes 20min each. The South facing bedrooms have all generous balconies and free mountains views. Manager Georges, trained as a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nelly T
ferienverein, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Altein, responded to this review

Dear Nelly Thank you very much for being our guests and for writing this detailed review! We are happy to read that you have enjoyed the wellness area, food, balconies etc. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again. Best regards, Linda H. Ferienverein hotel group

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (62)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arosa hotels
0.7 mi away
Tschuggen Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sorell Hotel Asora
Sorell Hotel Asora
#17 of 34 in Arosa
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sonnenhalde
Sonnenhalde
#27 of 34 in Arosa
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Excelsior
The Excelsior
#23 of 34 in Arosa
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Arosa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#4 of 34 in Arosa
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Hotel Altein

Address: Hotel Altein, Arosa 7050, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Arosa
Price Range: $126 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Altein 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Altein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Arosa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Altein staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Low floor is probably safest, if you need to run for the exits”
 of 5 bubbles richjacobson18, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Very good Family Hotel, Kids are welcome, lots of room to play, staff very helpful, good Service.”
 of 5 bubbles UllaB894, Jul 31, 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with its own bathroom!”
 of 5 bubbles carov2013, Jan 4, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view, rooms on the upper floors.”
 of 5 bubbles semagora, Dec 31, 2015 | Read review
“No traffic noise. Southside with balcony all good views. Top floors 3+4 lightly better.”
 of 5 bubbles 949nellyt, Apr 1, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question