We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen

Show Prices
#4 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

508 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 433: English reviews
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed today NEW

We have been staying at the Sunstar Hotel Wengen for some eight years. Both in winter for the skiing and in summer for the walking. We continue to return to this Hotel because of the very friendly way we are treated, the continued improvements made to the Hotel in general and the guest rooms. The best rooms are south facing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
edinburgh
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Location is great bang in the very centre of what is a very quiet mountain village opposite the main cable car lift so perfect location if you are skiing. Its a short drag with bags down the main street from the railway station though they happily pick you up in their minibus if you call ahead. Reception staff lovely, very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stephen405
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review

Dear guest Thanks a lot for your positive feedback. We are very pleased that you were satisfied with the friendliness of our staff, the food at the restaurant, the bar and our pool area. It is correct, during the Lauberhorn Races we had a lot of guests from the media in the hotel, therefore the Internet Connection wasn't always that...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dec 23 2016 our wonderful family of 15 travelled from Sydney Australia via Hong Kong to Switzerland and onto the beautiful Swiss alps in Wengen. We were greeted at the train station by hotel staff who took all our bags and pointed us in the direction of the SUNSTAR Alpine Hotel. It is a 2 minute walk right in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jaana M
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review

Dear family Mutton Thank you so much for this amazing review. It feels so good to get such a positive feedback, which proves that everything we do is appreciated and that our guests feel at home. It was a pleasure to have you from Australia to spend X-mas and New Years with us and we hope to see all of...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just returned from a lovely Christmas at the Sunstar in Wengen, the only disappointment was the lack of snow &, although the snow making equipment was working well to make skiing available, obviously the pistes were limited. The hotel was warm & comfortable & the staff very accommodating & friendly. The food was excellent as always under the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Virginia S
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you so much for taking your time for a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Sunstar Wengen so much and will forward your Feedback to our employees. Christmas time is always a very nice time here in Wengen and our grillkota is a very cozy place, we are very glad you...

carlisle
Reviewed November 1, 2016

Our fifth visit to the Sunstar but this visit was spoilt by the poor restaurant service. At breakfast we repeatedly had to search for staff to serve us with coffee and the evening meal service was exceptionally slow, often more than 40 minutes wait between courses. Simply not enough staff. Emphasis on serving tour groups to the detriment of other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cumbrian55
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We value your opinion as a loyal guest and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations this time. We always try to give our guests the best possible service and truly belief this situation was an exception to the rule. Since your visit was a while ago, it’s...

Reviewed October 21, 2016

We stayed at this hotel for three nights as part of Travelsphere's enjoyable ”Deluxe Swiss Railways" tour. Our room was clean and comfortable, with a balcony overlooking the valley. After arriving later than planned (the glacier express arrived late in Brig and messed up our subsequent connections on four more trains to Wengen), we were welcomed with a drink and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank 68UK
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you so much for your great response. We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit so much and will forward your review to our team who is working very hard and to make our guests feel homely. For the "Buddha bath" we keep our Wellness area open until 10.30 pm. Guests can enjoy a very relaxed...

San Diego, California
Reviewed October 20, 2016

I stayed at the Sunstar Wengen once again this September, something I have done for many years. I come to Wengen mainly for the hiking which ranges from the spectacular waterfall-blessed Lauterbrunnen Valley below Wengen to the otherworldly Jungfraujoch glacier high above. In between, there are alpine meadows galore. Last year I gave Sunstar Wengen a 5 star review, and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SwissMarmot
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review

Thank you so much for another great review. It is always such a pleasure having you around ;-) and we appreciate your loyality to the Sunstar Wengen very much! We are glad that you enjoyed the Craft beer this time and we have some good news: Oliver will order more for having an even bigger choice. Thanks again for taking...

North London
Reviewed October 10, 2016

Hotel in stunning location, lovely clean room and staff polite and friendly. Entertainment on some of the evenings which we enjoyed. We had breakfast and evening meals; all were delicious and nicely presented. A very nice stay. Will be returning. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DeniseandHarold
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review

Dear guest Many thanks for taking your time to write your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to welcoming you back at another time. Warm regards from Wengen! Katja & Oliver Kienzler

CA
Reviewed October 4, 2016

We stayed at the Sunstar Wengen for 8 days/7 nights and included the half-board option. ROOM: The room was a good size, immaculately clean and had a balcony with a lovely view. All beverages in the mini fridge were included. Nice bonus! There was still space in the fridge to keep fruit or a stash of chocolate. There was turn...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Felixx9995
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you so much for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the everything from sleeping to eating at our Sunstar Wengen. The craft beer tasting in the Sunstar grill cabin was a great success. Next time please join us for the raclette dinner in our cozy hut. Hope to welcome you again soon. Warm...

Reviewed September 30, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for a week and loved it. Pool and steambath are great, food is delicious and staff are wonderful. Every night general manager came by our table and asked about our day, dont see that in the USA. Views around Wengen are great. And...you can get a massage in house!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anntwilighter
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review

Many many thanks for taking your time to write a review. I am glad to hear that the evening round and conversation with my guests are appreciated ;-) Thanks for staying with us!

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

181 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (145)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
0:33
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
691 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 21 in Wengen
560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 21 in Wengen
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#7 of 21 in Wengen
403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#8 of 21 in Wengen
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The traditional Sunstar Hotel Wengen**** is in a central location in this car-free resort, just opposite the Mannlichen cable-car. The rooms, decorated with light-coloured wood, have beautiful views either of the mountains and down the valley towards the south or of the village and the Mannlichen. Families like the duplex rooms on two floors. Rooms in certain categories have a balcony. The lavish breakfast and all the delicacies on the 4-course dinner menu can be enjoyed in the "La Residence" restaurant. The lounge with its open fire and the bar are inviting places to chat and relax. When you want to unwind, there's an indoor pool with steam bath and sauna. The quiet, car-free resort of Wengen, with its typical wooden houses and lovingly preserved traditional features, is situated on a sunny and sheltered mountain terrace - an idyllic holiday paradise for all the family. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen

Address: Dorfstrasse, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Price Range: $161 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wengen Sunstar Hotel
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#3 Family Hotel in Wengen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen staff and other travelers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“South facing rooms are the best for the views and being away from the street and quieter”
 of 5 bubbles michaelr396, today | Read review
“go for valley side rooms for the view main street side not very noisy as v small town”
 of 5 bubbles stephen405, yesterday | Read review
“Valley view”
 of 5 bubbles VirginiaS280, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“pick a valley view room if possible”
 of 5 bubbles cumbrian55, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
“I like the valley side rooms better. Better view and quieter, though Wengen itself is a quiet place so the quieter part is minor”
 of 5 bubbles SwissMarmot, Oct 20, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay