We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel Edelweiss

Show Prices
#4 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Edelweiss
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 165: English reviews
Irvine, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My favorite part about my stay at this hotel was the staff - everyone was so nice and friendly! The food at the restaurant was excellent. Our room was clean and a nice size (not that we spent a lot of time in our room). Overall a great stay! I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teamcullen
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a find! My wife and I booked one night on Tripadvisor while waiting in line at Steckelburg cable car station. Last night the hotel was open before they closed for November. Reception was warm, freindly and accommodating of our English only communication. Upper floor room with view facing mountains with a balcony (which may have been the only place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
Colne Engaine, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 31, 2016 via mobile

A lovely hotel, the staff were very friendly and accommodating, the room spacious and warm. We were fortunate to get a balcony so had a lovely view of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. The bathroom was large and clean with plenty of hot water but unfortunately had some stain from a previous black mould (only a little and no fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne R
Sandra K, Inhaber at Hotel Edelweiss, responded to this review

Dear Suzanne, Thank you so much for your very detailed, honest and positive comment. It is a good advertisement for our hotel and for our restaurant. I am very sorry about the stain and I will make sure, that this will not happen anymore. We are looking forward to welcoming you another time. Best wishes and kind regards, Sandra

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

Be advised that you CANNOT drive to Murren to get to this hotel. You have to take the cable car from Lauterbrunnen. The last cable car departs at 2035. The rooms are cozy and the warm bath was good. The only thing is the room is rather dry (no humidity) and Swiss pillows are terribly soft so if you need...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Claire C
Sandra K, Inhaber at Hotel Edelweiss, responded to this review

Dear Claire, Thank you for your comment. We hope to see you again. Kind regards, Sandra

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

Our stay there was just okay. Owners weren't there; didn't feel the love Rick Steves and other reviewers shared. Dinner and breakfast were underwhelming, as well. Worst was the bed - hard as a rock. The only reason to stay there is the view. If you can't get a room facing the canyon, keep looking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo Ann B
Sandra K, Inhaber at Hotel Edelweiss, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Blackford, Thank you for your sincere Feedback. I think that you did not recognize the owners because Daniel made breakfast on Tuesday and I was there on Monday and Wednesday. Sorry that you could not feel and enjoy our hospitality. Kind regards, Sandra Kuster-von Allmen

Reviewed October 16, 2016

Stayed here for two nights in the superior room with a view over the valley with the mountains in the background. Doesn't get better than this as far as views go. Breakfast was average but satisfactory. Liked that the hotel had a laundry which allowed us to wash all our clothes mid journey. Will stay here again if we find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy H
Sandra K, Inhaber at Hotel Edelweiss, responded to this review

Dear Jeremy, Thank you for your kind comment. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Best regards, Sandra

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

We had two nights here and it was a perfect location to explore murren and surrounding areas. Great breakfast, fantastic restaurant for dinner. The service was wonderful! The ladies that work at reception are so friendly & helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jem2000_10
Sandra K, Inhaber at Hotel Edelweiss, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your kind comment. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Best regards, Sandra Kuster-von Allmen

San Marcos, California
Reviewed October 5, 2016

I was a bit skeptical when we booked the Edelweiss a few months ago, but found that it exceeded our expectations in every way. The staff was very friendly and helpful initially on check-in and throughout our stay. English was no problem when we stumbled over our bad German. There is a nice livingroom reception area with older style furniture...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cconrady
Sandra K, Inhaber at Hotel Edelweiss, responded to this review

Dear guest. Thank you so much for your very detailed comment - it is a great Advertising for our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we also hope that we will see you again. Kind regards, Sandra Kuster-von Allmen

Richland, Washington
Reviewed October 4, 2016 via mobile

Stayed at Hotel Edelweiss for two enjoyable nights! For the first night stayed in a very nice junior suite with a separate bedroom, a sitting room and two lovely bathrooms. Because we had our heart set on a full valley view, we moved to a superior king room with a stunning view for night two. Even with clouds, the valley...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kilowatt64
Sandra K, Inhaber at Hotel Edelweiss, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your Kind comment. It is a great Advertising for our rooms and all the hotel. Best regards, Sandra Kuster-von Allmen

Hamilton Washington
Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile

Our Rick Steve's tour group ate at the restaurant in the Hotel Edelweiss. We all had different dishes & the staff was very patient with our group of 12. The food & presentation was wonderful. The Lamb was the best & prices were reasonable considering you need to take a tram to get to Murren. This place met our expectations...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ski57
Sandra K, Inhaber at Hotel Edelweiss, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your very very kind comment. We are happy that you enjoyed the meal. Best regards, Sandra Kuster-von Allmen

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

145 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (136)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
524 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#5 of 11 in Murren
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
#6 of 11 in Murren
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#9 of 11 in Murren
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
#8 of 11 in Murren
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
New renoveted ***hotel with 24 rooms, mostly with balcony and a beautiful mountain view, 5 minutes from the train station. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Address: Ave Centrale / Hauptstrasse, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Price Range: $143 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edelweiss 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Murren
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Murren
#9 Family Hotel in Murren
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Edelweiss staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Edelweiss staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“South end room offers amazing, straight on view of the alps. Top floor to see over buildings. All cliff side rooms have great views.”
  • Bedroom, simple but clean and comfy - second bathroom through door
  • One of the two bathrooms, the other had a tub
  • The sitting room in the suite with view, and pullout sofa
  • The amazing view from the balcony
 of 5 bubbles cconrady, Oct 5, 2016 | Read review
“Superior Room facing alps”
 of 5 bubbles LRRAZ, Aug 24, 2016 | Read review
“106 has a breathtaking view to the Eiger and Moench, but all rooms on that side have!”
 of 5 bubbles the_towel, Aug 14, 2016 | Read review
“Great accessibility”
 of 5 bubbles B4642PCsarahc, Aug 5, 2016 | Read review
“See if you can get one of the superior rooms on the second floor of the new wing. They are worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles Ahittman, Jul 26, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay