We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Jungfraustrasse 70, Interlaken 3800 Switzerland
Lowest prices for your stay
$171
View Deal
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
lovevacations
Expedia.com$171
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (64)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (8)

About

#13 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Enjoy the small an charming ambiance of our hotel. A little oasis in the heart of Interlaken. all rooms air-conditioned
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Boating
Diving
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Golf course
Hiking
Mini golf
Skiing
Tennis court
Windsurfing
Archery offsite
Bicycle tours
Walking tours
Car hire
Fax / photocopying
Ski In / Ski Out
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Dry cleaning
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Laptop safe
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Radio
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighborhood
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Italian
190Reviews2Q+A15Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 69
  • 77
  • 21
  • 8
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I never leave bad reviews, but after multiple emails to the management of the hotel, I tried to remedy the situation to no avail. I booked a stay in September 2019 for a July 2020 trip for 3 nights at their hotel in Interlaken, Switzerland. I contacted them this week and said with the current pandemic we are unable to make our trip and need to cancel. I not only lost my job as a dental specialist due to governor mandates, but my 92 year old grandmother was part of our travel party. I contacted the hotel 90 days in advance to cancel the reservation, and Mr. Juerg stated that my “ grandmother was 92 when we booked the trip” and he can not take on the financial problems of the world. I even offered to pay their booking fee with hotels.com and to take a partial refund, but he refused. All 4 of the other hotels that we were booked with graciously canceled our reservations and United Airlines gave us a credit for next years travel. I would give this hotel 0 stars if possible and I feel very fortunate that we did not have stay there. I would recommend avoiding this hotel, there are many other hotels at $300+ a night that will treat you much better.
Read more
Response from Boss Juerg, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Derby
Responded Apr 6, 2020
I'm surprised at your reaction, your threat after a two-line to badmouth me on all platforms if I don't transfer the money back immediately, they quickly came true. In your mail you wrote that your husband has to work as a surgeon and here you write that you have become unemployed, what should we believe now? It is correct that we do not make refunds in case of non-refundable bookings. For the time where travel restrictions apply, we have, as the airlines issue vouchers which can be redeemed within a year. What the situation looks like in 90 days we cannot say yet, so there is no refund today. You have chosen the cheaper non-refundable booking. If no travel insurance is taken out, this is not in our control. Exciting is that you are prepared to pay the booking fees of a booking platform worth billions, but for a small family business you are not willing to fulfil the contract it has entered into. It always depends on the tone and transparency. If there are still travel restrictions in July, we will also issue the voucher mentioned above. Then I am curious about your review. Stay healthy.
Read more
Good Hotel. Staff are helpful. Toilets are too small. No lift and difficult to manage if carrying heavy luggage. Clean and good breakfast. Location little far from city centre. Access roads was under construction and difficult to access.
Read more
We just stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel was fine as was the owner ‘Jeurg’ and the team. They went out of their way to look after us and could not have been kinder and more helpful. Following up on the most recent reviews, yes, there are rules, but this is a family run hotel and it seems they have had some difficult guests before who have caused them troubles so we understood the reasons behind them and they were reasonable rules anyway! So all in all, a lovely hotel, very centrally located and at a reasonable price. It was also great to be able to get all the mainstream UK TV channels. Definitely worth a try and don’t rely on the negative reviews of this hotel.
Read more
We had a good stay at Hotel Derby for 5 nights after we accepted the reality and adjusted to it :) We booked it on Booking.com and it did not say that this is a B&B and not a hotel. Maybe it did that we failed to see. So when we landed in there we were taken by string of surprises. > There is no elevator and we had to drag up our 3 large bags and 2 cabin bags 2 floors up which was a pain. (3 of us travelling for 16 days). I requested them for a room on the ground floor where 2 other families along with me were allocated rooms but unfortunately the house was full and there was no option but to go up. Again booking.com doesn't say that upfront, I later found that on the reviews posted on TA but it was too late until then. The plus side of the room on 2nd floor was a view of the mountains :) > The next surprise was the size of rooms. We had booked a triple room and the room was clearly designed to utilize every available opportunity to cram an amenity. It only lacked the practical aspect of usability. With 5 bags on us, we had trouble choosing which bag to open because we could open only 1 bag at any given time :) Along with 3 beds, there was also a table and 2 chairs in the room. I failed to see the use of table and chair and It was indeed a challenge to skillfully maneuver through the room without hitting your knees on the beds or chairs :) > The next surprise was that of the set of rules and some of them were highlighted with color. Fine! no complain about the rules, we ought to live with them but we had to keep them in mind all the time lest face the prospect of 100 or 200 CHF penalty ! Not to cook or eat in room, no damage to the property, no flooding of bathroom and some more rules. > As if the room size wasn't small enough, the bathroom was more smaller. I couldn't take shower without hitting my elbows. However I found shower rooms small in all hotels I stayed in Switzerland so I give this to Derby. if the opaque glass door was opened wide, it would bang into the window frame outside, so I needed to keep a watch on my kid all the time so that he doesn't end up breaking the glass door. Also, the opaque glass door meant that every time someone wanted to use the washroom at night, he or she would end up waking the others. > The rod to hang the towels and napkin was overloaded with 3 of them. The room although had 3/4 beds, it is clearly not enough to house a family of 3 or 4. > There was a coffee maker in room but it was placed in an not-so-easily-accessible corner of that room maybe because all others corners were used up :). It was perched up at an height which was slightly above my wife's eye level. There were 3 cups precariously stacked on top of each other over a set of 3 saucers. Every time me or my wife picked up a cup I feared that something or other will fall down. We could never get ourselves to use the coffee maker and ended up using the microwave in the garden area. > Coming to the garden area, there is a nice garden on the ground floor with a small room that houses a table chair and microwave oven. The room was small too and the door opened on inside. The table had only 2 sides practically usable since the door would invariably bang into the chair kept on 3rd side . Since any form of cooking and eating was not allowed in the room, we used the microwave for heating the food and the table chairs in the garden for eating. It was actually nice but for the cold. Coming from tropical countries, we cant stand cold that well. I realized on the day of check out that we could have also used the breakfast room for eating instead of sitting out in the cold. On that note, I must add again about the strict set of rules. On the day of arrival, we carried our food down to the garden area for eating and My wife went in at the reception and she was prohibited from using the water dispenser to fill her water bottle. When she requested to use the kitchen on ground floor she was told to use our allotted room for water bottle. So imagine, going up 2 floors to fill the water bottle. Remember the rules guys ! > The microwave room had a small water dispenser for cooking /drinking purpose and a small sink too but there was not water tap. So after you finish the food, carry everything up to your room for cleaning ! The hotel was nice and clean, barring the incident of prohibition of water from the dispenser on the first day, we found the staff to be nice and helpful over our stay. They also have a pet cat Daisy and the kids had fun playing with her and chasing her. But, this place is not really convenient for a family with kids for the reasons mentioned above. If we knew it was a B&B, we would be either mentally prepared or maybe would have looked at a different option. So if someone is looking for a B&B, this could be a good choice but this is not a hotel.
Read more
It is the worst hotel I have experienced in my life. They dont have double bed blanket nor they provide extra blanket. They dont give any cutlery for use, no escalator and breakfast of a 2 star hotel. Worst experience. Honeymoon couples should avoid this hotel for sure as even the bed slides from between. Worst experience. More like a lodge but named as a hotel. The picture is what they say as mountain view.
Read more
Response from derbyinterlaken, Inhaber at Hotel Derby
Responded Apr 4, 2019
Thank you for staying with us. If a twinbed room is booked, the room in God's name has no double bed. For what a room on the ground floor needs an elevator I unfortunately do not know. Extra pillows and blankets which were handed on the floor are incomprehensible for me. Smoking in the room leads as indicated to penalties. Interlaken is a city at the gateway to the mountains. From every room you can see mountains, but also houses. That with snowfall and clouds the mountains do not show themselves is always so and for this I must apologize probably. As it is called into the forest so it sounds mostly also again from the forest. Environmental thoughts and food waste have not arrived in the whole world yet. I hope this answer can clarify some things.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$127 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of BernBernese OberlandInterlaken
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Derby
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Derby?
Nearby attractions include Hohematte Park (0.2 miles), Interlaken Activities (0.2 miles), and Balmers Club (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Derby?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Derby?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Derby?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Derby?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Derby?
Conveniently located restaurants include Barracuda Cafe & Bar, The Barrel Brew Café, and The 3 Tells Irish Pub.
Does Hotel Derby have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Derby offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Derby located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.05 miles away from the center of Interlaken.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Derby?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Derby?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Derby?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Unspunnen Castle (1.1 miles) and Rothenfluh Ruins (0.8 miles).