We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Royal St Georges Interlaken MGallery

Save
Share
Hoeheweg 139, Interlaken 3800 Switzerland
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$411
View deal
Traveluro
$353
View deal
Expedia.com$411
Travelocity$411
travelup.com$412
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (807)
Room & Suite (365)
Dining (86)

About

#12 of 42 in Interlaken
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.2
Value
3.9
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The 4 star Superior Hotel Royal-St.Georges Interlaken belongs to the MGallery Collection. Set against the panoramic Alpine backdrop of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau mountains (Top of Europe), nestled between Lake Thun and Lake Brienz, Interlaken is a popular destination for nature lovers and those looking for some rest and relaxation. Marvel at the historic facade dating from 1908, step into the elegant hotel lobby with its impressive staircase and savor the historical charm of the hotel. The large ballroom in Art Nouveau style, with its hazy light and scent of Alpine flowers, is the epitome of romance. A charming terrace awaits guests in the garden, offering a breathtaking panoramic view of the Harder Kulm mountain, as well as a relaxation area where guests can unwind.Free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel, free wellness & Sauna, restaurant The Verandah with 50 places, Bar-Lounge Royal, 4 banquet rooms for the organization of your events up to 150 persons, pets are welcome, hotel parking spaces available.
Read more
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Free breakfast
Hiking
Skiing
Children's playground
Free shuttle or taxi services
Valet parking
Wifi
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Hammam
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Arabic and 2 more
1084Reviews27Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 509
  • 343
  • 118
  • 69
  • 45
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Money M wrote a review May 18
Mumbai, India36 contributions33 helpful votes
As racist as it can get. They see a brown skin on the reception and they turn them towards a separate building detached from the “historic building they advertise”. The general manager to busy to be bothered by brown people. STRONGLY ADVISE AGAINST STAYING HERE.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from MGallery By Sofitel, General Manager at Hotel Royal St Georges Interlaken MGallery
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Mr Money First of all I would like to thank you for your booking at our precious property the Royal St. Georges as well as for your time to share your extremely short experience with us. I remember very well of Wednesday May the 18th 12h45 as you arrived at our hotel and started to shout around after noticing that the booked family apartment is located in another hotel building (15 meters from the reception). I was shocked by your behavior and as I came down to the front office to calm you down… you have been busy talking on the phone. for this reason I asked my Front Office Manager to make an exception to cancel your non-refundable booking and give your money back if you did not like the room and that was the maximum what we can do… Please Mr. Money, it’s not useful at all to present yourself as racism victim if the booked room does not meet your expectations. We are in 2022 Mr. Money! It’s really ridiculous and disrespectable to accuse me and my team as racist. This is absolutely repugnant and unacceptable under the Swiss as well as European Union law, Sir! I hope this will be never repeated anymore! If somebody has a problem with skin colors he should find a solution before travelling around the planet. Karim Abid General Manager
Read more
Canvp wrote a review May 16
Pune, India5 contributions
The hotel is true to its name its Royal in looks , interiors, and the junior suite. Though front desk Mr Yosouf offered us Royal suite which was beautiful but had no aircon which we were not informed and interlaken being pretty warm in the day while we stayed so we moved back to junior suite which had no balcony. On first availability, Mr Karim, front office manager was very kind , who gave us a balcony junior suite after our first 2 nights. This suite was amazing. Patricia, head of housekeeping was really amazing and friendly made our stay more comfortable. Breakfast for vegetarian had very limited things on offer which was only a small blemish on our otherwise very good stay. Rudolph and Chris were man friday for us and were always at hand when needed.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Dr. Ihsan Ahamed wrote a review May 16
Kozhikode, India43 contributions54 helpful votes
The property was conveniently located and well kept for its age but that's pretty much it. level of service you recieve at the hotel is very poor and greeting a guest with smile when you recieve them at the hotel for the first time was definitely not there. I sincerely hope you work on it. Small things go a long way.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Tracey P wrote a review May 13
Tampa, Florida15 contributions11 helpful votes
Conveniently located near train station about a 7 min walk with luggage. Short walk to center of town. Staff is personable, nice and helpful. We also enjoyed the breakfast and dinners in the hotel restaurant. We were greeted upon arrival and we had help with luggage. Luggage was in our room before I finished checking in. Check in and out super easy. We had a nice size room and bathroom with a small balcony including table and chairs. Unfortunately our bed was uncomfortable. Its definitely time for a new bed in that room. One other critique besides the bed is it would be nice to have a shelf or shower caddy in the shower to hold soap etc instead of having to place them on the shower floor. I would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
aukahkay62 wrote a review May 4
Singapore, Singapore417 contributions109 helpful votes
+1
Positives: The hotel is conveniently located just 6 minutes walk from Interlaken Ost train station. The interior is typically classical baroque in style. Rooms are spacious with balcony some with mountain view A sumptuous breakfast buffet spread is included in the room rate. Staff are helpful and attentive. Negatives: There is no shelf in the shower cubicle or beside the bathtub to place soap and toiletries. It is inconvenient to shower having to get the toiletries from the floor of the shower cubicle. There is also no railing beside the bathtub to help you get out of the tub so you need to be careful when getting out of the bathtub This hotel hosts group tourists from a certain developing Southeast Asian country. It can get busy, noisy and boisterous during breakfast time.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Go down early to get a window side table at breakfast. This is important especially when there...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from MGallery-Collection Interlaken-Switzerland, General Manager at Hotel Royal St Georges Interlaken MGallery
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear aukahkay62, Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken. It's our pleasure to see that you enjoyed the convenient location of our property, as well as the historical design of your rooms and the quality of our breakfast. Many of our rooms are customized and individually designed, which means that you would not always have the same setup as you had in your bathroom. Please accept my apologies for any inconveniences which this has caused to you. Nevertheless the entire team and I hope that you enjoyed your time in Interlaken and that we will be able to welcome you again. Kind regards, Karim Mohamed Front Office Manager Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken
Read more
JuzMePaula wrote a review Apr 2022
Singapore, Singapore6 contributions
Beautiful hotel conveniently located in this quaint little town. We received excellent service from all the staff here - just how you will expect from the Swiss! Definitely recommend this hotel to everyone 👍🏻
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from MGallery-Collection Interlaken-Switzerland, General Manager at Hotel Royal St Georges Interlaken MGallery
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear JuzMePaula, Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Hotel Royal St. Georges. The entire team and I are very happy to get to know that you had a lovely stay with us and that you enjoyed the time you spent in Interlaken. We are looking forward to welcome you again, whenever your travels lead you back to our beautiful town. Kind regards, Karim Mohamed Front Office Manager Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken
Read more
Roshmi wrote a review Dec 2021
Piedmont, California81 contributions110 helpful votes
Walked in to this hotel after a long train ride and wonderful time at Geneva and Montreux I was not greeted as I arrived fir check in. The person at check in Mr Sebastian M grudgingly got up with no welcome or greeting and asked me for my if and COVID certificate and Id I presented those and then he asked me for my PCR test! It made no sense why he needed a PCR test since I had been in Switzerland already for 4 nights. I asked him and he was quite obtuse and then proceeded to say I need to take a test tonight since it was past 4 days of my previous test (which was taken as per travel needs day before I traveled). He would not even talk to me directly and he was communicating with my husband Anyway after this weird experience we were finally given keys to our room. We had reserved a customized Royal Suite with Mountain View and what we were led to was a small tight room with a double bed and roll in bed. After almost a full day of travel this was a BIG disappointment to say the least. We called and was told somebody messed up their reservation system so they had 2 reservations I looked up my account and my husbands but only found the reservation I had made. After showing details of the reservation to Mr Sebastian M now we were put in a suite 2 doors down which was ready with our kids’ sofa bed so clearly this was a room that we were assigned Mr Sebastian proceeded to now inform us that his colleague made an error and it wasn’t him When we asked for information on ski places around he handed us a little pamphlet and told us to read that …. He did not help us at all as we would have expected from Accor hotel service We just arrived from Fairmont Montreux to another Accor hotel at Interlaken and the difference in service was stark and disappointing The suite was ok, old but decent size we really didn’t get a Mountain View the hotel is a bit if a walk from Interlaken west and is off from the center of Interlaken activities I think if we were greeted warmly and professionally given the room we reserved and aided with our skiing questions we probably would have had a completely different experience but as it stands right now we can’t help feeling let down and would much rather have stayed at a more professionally run place with better service
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from MGallery-Collection Interlaken-Switzerland, General Manager at Hotel Royal St Georges Interlaken MGallery
Responded Jan 8, 2022
Dear rosh-sang, Thank you for taking the time to write this very detailed feedback following your recent stay at the Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken. Our guests' observations are very important to us, as they can reveal us areas of our operation which might need some additional attention. According to your feedback we were not able to meet your expectations due to a lack of professionalism of our colleague in question and therefore please accept my sincerest apologies in the name of the entire team. This is absolutely not the image or the level of service we strive to provide and please rest assured that additional training will take place in order to avoid this kind of situations from occurring again in the future. When it comes to the fact that our colleague checked your ID, together with your certificate as well as the PCR test then I have to say that he was absolutely right to do so, as those were the rules for tourists and in general for people entering Switzerland from abroad at that specific time. Those rules have already changed by now, but you were required to have a valid PCR test when entering the country AND to repeat another test between the 4th and the 7th day in Switzerland. It was basically the duty of Mr. Sebastian to inform you and to verify the test result at that time. Those are "special"times for all of us but our guests, as well as our staff really need to follow the orders imposed by our government in order to contribute to a (hopefully) soon ending of this unfortunate pandemic. Once again, please accept my apologies in the name of the entire team for any inconvenience which you have encountered during your stay. Kind regards, Karim Mohamed Front Office Manager Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken
Read more
SwizerlandRoisinDubh wrote a review Nov 2021
Swizerland688 contributions258 helpful votes
Looking at some of the pictures in some of the reviews, there must be two types of rooms: more old-style and modern refurbished ones. I had an old style room: was that a problem? No, not really. Feels like a trip back in time, room is spacious, some might say a tad old fashioned, but it kind of fits the idyllic surroundings. The bed and pillows were among the best of all my worldwide trips: I slept like a baby. Breakfast was good, staff was friendly, price was modest: a good stay!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MGallery-Collection Interlaken-Switzerland, General Manager at Hotel Royal St Georges Interlaken MGallery
Responded Dec 15, 2021
Dear SwizerlandRoisinDubh, Thank you very much for your comment following your recent stay at the Hotel Royal St.Georges Interlaken. The entire team and I are very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us but most of all that you "slept like a baby". Your feedback clearly shows that we could meet your expectations and we are hoping to welcome you again, whenever your travels lead you back to our beautiful town. Sincerely, Karim Mohamed Front Office Manager Hotel Royal St.Georges Interlaken
Read more
SB Rev wrote a review Oct 2021
16 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We stayed here last week and the hotel was amazing. The service was excellent, check in process was easy, and the room was beautiful. I would highly recommend staying here during a trip to Interlaken and can't wait to visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Room with Balcony
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MGallery-Collection Interlaken-Switzerland, General Manager at Hotel Royal St Georges Interlaken MGallery
Responded Dec 15, 2021
Dear SBRev75, Thank you very much for your feedback, following your stay at the Hotel Royal-St.Georges. Our guests' observations are very important to us and therefore we are pleased to see that we could meet your expectations. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Interlaken. Kind regards, Karim Mohamed Front Office Manager Hotel Royal-St.Georges Interlaken
Read more
fatima_alaradi wrote a review Sep 2021
Al Muharraq, Bahrain368 contributions99 helpful votes
The location of the hotel is great, 8 monikers walk from the train station, the room was spacious and the staff were all kind especially Kareem in the reception, he was the main reason who made us change our plan instead of staying two nights in this hotel to staying 4 nights, the only issue was in the breakfast where it was really crowded, but this is not the hotels issue, it’s because it was a season and there are a lot of tourists no control from the hotel, the staff in the breakfast was so professional and helpful. The hotel is located in the center approximately, to the restaurants and the main shopping center there will be a walk of 5 mins only. My inky concern was in the last day when I left, we asked the lady in the reception that we will need a car to drive us to the station because we had 4 luggage bags, she told us that she called the driver and we waited for approx. 15 mins but no one showed and I went to ask her again she was so rude and answered me by “he is coming” and I told her that I have a train to catch and her answer was the same, so at the end we walked yo the train station so we don’t miss the train. This was only the bad situation in this hotel Recommend for anyone who is planning to visit Interlaken
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from MGallery-Collection Interlaken-Switzerland, General Manager at Hotel Royal St Georges Interlaken MGallery
Responded Oct 6, 2021
Dear fatima_alaradi, Thank you very much for your comment, following your recent stay at the Hotel Royal-St.Georges. It was personally pleasure to have met you during your stay and most of all to get to know that you had an overall good stay, that you enjoyed the design of your room as well as the professional attitude of most of our staff members. Nevertheless the incident on the day of your departure is disappointing and therefore I want to express my sincerest apologies in the name of the entire team. Please rest assured that additional training will take place in order to prevent such an event in the future. The entire team and I are hoping to welcome you again, whenever your travel needs bring you back to our beautiful city. Best regards, Karim Mohamed Front Office Manager Hotel Royal-St.Georges Interlaken
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$273 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel royal st georges, royal st georges hotel
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of BernBernese OberlandInterlaken
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Royal St Georges Interlaken MGallery
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Royal St Georges Interlaken MGallery?
Nearby attractions include Heidi's Photo Chalet (0.04 miles), Hohematte Park (0.2 miles), and Schlosskirche (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Royal St Georges Interlaken MGallery?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Royal St Georges Interlaken MGallery?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Royal St Georges Interlaken MGallery?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Royal St Georges Interlaken MGallery?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Royal St Georges Interlaken MGallery?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Taverne - Hotel Interlaken, 3a - Restaurant Bar Lounge, and Aarmuhle Restaurant & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Royal St Georges Interlaken MGallery?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Does Hotel Royal St Georges Interlaken MGallery have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Royal St Georges Interlaken MGallery offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Royal St Georges Interlaken MGallery located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Interlaken.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Royal St Georges Interlaken MGallery?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Royal St Georges Interlaken MGallery offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.