We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Eiger Grindelwald

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Panoramas (26)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

522 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 316: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
 Click to rate
Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

On12/4/17, after our visit to Glacier 3000, we proceeded to Interlaken. Instead of staying in Interlaken, we stayed at the foothills of Mt.Eiger. We checked into the Eiger Selfness Hotel in Grindelwald. We had a room where the balcony faces Mt.Eiger. What else could we ask for? The impressive snow-capped mountain is right in front of our bedroom. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank guizhou
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

In general this is a solid 4star hotel that had a few pleasant surprises that made it special. Check-in was easy enough, but unlike any hotel I've ever used in Europe they didn't need to see my passport or credit card. I know it may not be that big a deal to some, but it's nice that someone assumes you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iammarc
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Room was expensive for what it is. The view from the room was stunning but the service was largely absent. This felt like an Holiday Inn standard hotel with staff that were not that friendly or helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsK208
EigerSelfnessHotel, Owner at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are very sorry that we could not meet all your expectations and do apologize for all circumstances caused to you. We will do our best to improve our service standards as well as the friendliness of our team. Best regards from Grindelwald

Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really enjoyed staying here. Beautiful views and friendly helpful staff. Rooms are big, clean and close to town and train. Trains in area are excellent. Hotel supplies free afternoon tea each day. Area is beautiful. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
EigerSelfnessHotel, Owner at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review which we appreciate a lot! Best regards from the mountains

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights and had a wonderful time Staff very friendly especially Melanie on the front desk. Go for the Mongolian BBQ in Barry's restaurant if you are hungry! Must do the trip to Jungfraujoch if you can. Lastly magnificent views of the Eiger from our room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Metroman123
EigerSelfnessHotel, Owner at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great feedback and the compliments for Melanie! Great to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us!

Reviewed March 18, 2017 via mobile

Simply loved the view from the room at Hotel Eiger. There was no one to help with the luggage (but it's fine as that's the norm in many hotels across Europe). Lovely hotel with a good breakfast menu located in heaven on earth😍

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 835ramitb
EigerSelfnessHotel, Owner at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are very pleased that you felt like in heaven with us :-) Thanks also for your suggestion regarding the luggage - usually our porters are more then welcome to help you with it! Sorry that this service did not work! Best regards from Grindelwald

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 18, 2017

Excellent quality of accommodation and food. Staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. The owners, Daniel and Gisela, are always coming around making sure everything is satisfactory and making sure you have everything you need.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gam979
EigerSelfnessHotel, Owner at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great and lovely review! We do appreciate it a lot and wish you all the best from the mountains! Gisela & Daniel

Reviewed March 10, 2017 via mobile

We both had a fantastic time; even though the weather was not perfect for skiing every day, the facilities in the hotel made up for it. The food is a particular highlight; great variety & every meal we had was superbly cooked & presented. The staff are all so friendly & willing to help, the room was comfortable & well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellie R
EigerSelfnessHotel, Inhaber at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback! We are very glad to hear that you had a nice time with us. With pleasure we will submit your compliments to our chef :-)

Spa, Belgium
Reviewed March 5, 2017

We actually booked one appartment for 3 persons, we wanted to stay independent for (expensive !) food. Very nice set up, enough room for us 3, which can contrast from what you would get in french ski resorts for instance. comfortable bedding, free access to wellness center featuring many possibilities, helpful staff, spotlessly clean : nothing wrong to say about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lefthander70
EigerSelfnessHotel, Inhaber at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Many thanks for your honest feedback. We are very glad that you had a great time in our apartments and we are sorry for the circumstances caused to you. The renovation of the 3 star apartments with kitchen and bath are on our investment plan.... Many thanks for your understanding and best regards from Grindelwald

Jakarta
Reviewed March 5, 2017 via mobile

I stayed in Eiger Aparthotel and its the best decision I made. We took 2 bedroom apartment as a group of 4 pax and enjoyed our Swiss trip immensely. From our balcony we can gaze upon the Swiss mountains and their resto and food are excellent. Breakfast is good too. Elevator is essential as we are bring my elderly mother...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Avid_Traveller74
EigerSelfnessHotel, Inhaber at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely feedback! We are so happy that you had a great time with us! And the wifi signal should be better soon... we are updating the connection in spring time.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

606 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (243)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (126)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (307)
Viewed
Amenities (79)
Viewed
Basic Double Room (27)
Viewed
Lifestyle Double Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (88)
Viewed
Second Basic Double Room (24)
Viewed
Single Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
897 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
758 reviews
0.3 mi away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#7 of 41 in Grindelwald
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Bistro Memory
Bistro Memory
Cuisines: Swiss, Bar, European, Central European
Barry's
Barry's
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Grill
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cosy and uncomplicated hotel in the center of the village Grindelwald. Rooms, suites, apartments and chalets are available. Restaurant Barry's and Galleria with international dishes, bistro Memory with cheese and potato specialities, Gepsi Bar & Lounge. Selfness centre with sauna & spa area, fitness facilities and lounge. Open all year around. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Eiger Grindelwald

Address: Dorfstrasse 133 | Postfach 92, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Price Range: $188 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eiger Grindelwald 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Eiger Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#14 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Eiger Grindelwald staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
5 months ago
cardiff

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Eiger Grindelwald staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Room facing Mt.Eiger. What more could you ask for?”
  • Picture perfect view of Mt. Eiger. Don't stay in Interlaken!
  • Amazing views from hotel balcony!
  • Amazing views from hotel balcony!
guizhou, 4 days ago | Read review
“The front rooms have balconies and excellent views. They vary slightly in size.”
twovass, Feb 12, 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors are quieter when there's live music in the bar!”
Heidi457, Feb 7, 2017 | Read review
“Best views of the North Face of the Eiger are from the rooms at the front of the hotel.”
andyg148, Jan 31, 2017 | Read review
“Front facing rooms have magnificent views of The Eiger mountain,may be noisy at night and in the morning with traffic and delivery vehicles.”
385margarete, Jan 26, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question