We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald

Traveler (207)
Room & Suite (115)
Video
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
More of Everything Your 5 stars Swiss Luxury Hotel, Romantik Hotel, Wellness / Spa Hotel, Conference Hotel in Grindelwald. Our Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald peacefully nested in beautiful gardens is only a short walk from the village centre. The ambiance here is outstandingly luxurious and comfortable. Connoisseurs of traditional perfection appreciate our friendly luxury service, our culinary highlights in the 3 restaurants "Alpterrassen", "Schmitte" and "Gaststübli", a unique Wellness / SPA with indoor pool, saunas and massages / cosmetic offers as well as stylish seminar and banqueting facilities. In unison with our credo - More of Everything! More Cordiality. More Personality. More for your Well-Being - you will not arrive as a mere guest, but as part of our Schweizerhof family gladly to be welcomed back home again.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Banquet Room
Business Center with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Shuttle Bus Service
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Historic Hotel
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Location
Full view
77Somewhat walkable
Grade: 77 out of 100
17Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
5Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
241Reviews
363Photos
7Q+A
42Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 152
  • 54
  • 20
  • 10
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
After the first view of this hotel, everything went down hill. Our room was disappointing small. Shampoo etc never replenished. Shower hanging off the wall. The pillows were flat and we were delighted to find a ‘pillow menu’. We aordered support pillows only to be rudely
Read more
Response from Schweizerhof3818, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear guest Thank you very much for your feedback, which we truly value. It is disappointing to read that obviously our housekeeping services were lacking: not replenished shampoo, a shower hanging off the wall etc. are definitely not our standard. We will follow this up with our housekeeping and maintenance team in order to avoid this poor performance for further guests. Regarding the pillows: indeed during the Christmas days there was a never before seen overwhelming demand for extra pillows that simply could not be met by our additional pillows in store. We have ordered many more, delivery is on the way. We regret that we could not fulfill our service promise here. We have selected and trained our staff - as you will see in other comments just as well - to be as accommodating and welcoming as you would expect them to be when travelling in a Romantik hotel with a long tradition. It is unsettling to read that you have had other experiences while we have had an overwhelmingly positive feedback of so many guests - including ALL other guests of your Great Rail Journey group - staying with us during these times. We cannot judge why our staff should have shown such an impolite behaviour, it just does not fit our training and experience with our employees plus the feedback we get. In regards to the inclusive services of your package, please refer to the company you booked with. They have a contract specifically stating what is included and what is on charge. If you - again as the only one in your group - feel that the advertisement was misleading, kindly contact your travel agent or the company in question. Dear guests again thank you very much for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for our lacking services in regards to housekeeping and maintenance, which we will bring back to standards immediately. We also thank you for your understanding that we will have to evaluate all other mentioned comments with some caution due to adverse experience and feedback directly in the house. It keeps us wondering why on the one hand it is so very easy for everyone to publically put down the efforts of someone but on the other hand it seems so hard to say thank you for positive experiences. Kind regards, your hosts, family Anneliese & Otto Hauser-Seger and our whole Schweizerhof team.
Read more
We stayed for 5 nights in the "Residence" part of the hotel: clean, quiet and large suites with all we needed. Perfect location to catch the train or the cablecar in order to go skiing or hiking! We also really appreciated the New Year Celebration there: everything was
Read more
Response from Schweizerhof3818, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear guests Thank you very much for spending the New Years eve festive days here with us in Grindelwald. Great that you have enjoyed yourselves so much and that we were part of your experience. We wish you all the best for 2019. Kind regards, your hosts, family Anneliese & Otto Hauser-Seger and our whole Schweizerhof team!
Read more
Stayed for a week in this great hotel as part of a group, our room was lovely, the food excellent as were the staff and service. Grindelwald is a very pretty if busy place, lots of places to eat, and a lovely little church worth a visit. We had a wonderful time and would highly
Read more
Response from Schweizerhof3818, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear guests Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and your kind feedback. Great that you have enjoyed your time with us and in Grindelwald so very much. We wish you all the best for 2019. Hopefully we can welcome you as our appreciated guests maybe already this year. Kind regards, Your hosts, family Anneliese & Otto Hauser-Seger and our whole Schweizerhof team!
Read more
We recently stayed in the Romantik hotel over Christmas for 3 nights and it was the most disappointing aspect of our trip. How the hotel can claim to be a 5* hotel is beyond me! And for the money they charge for a room, I expect a lot more... Where to begin... 1. Overall
Read more
Response from Schweizerhof3818, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear guests thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate a fair feedback since on the one hand it is very helpful for future travellers, on the other hand it helps us improve our services, wherever possible. However this unfortunately is not one of them. Yes, waiting times in the lobby have been longer since during the Christmas days we were fully booked and everyone wants to enjoy an aperitif at the bar, in the lobby, the restaurants and we would like to get to know our guests, where they come from, how they have spent their day in Grindelwald thus initiating talks - time we love to invest. Every other guest accepts that then they are not served in split seconds in the restaurants, bar/lobby or reception, since every guest also wants to be treated individually, rightfully so. But wouldn't you also say, that 45 minutes waiting time is a bit exaggerated? Regarding the seating in the restaurant for breakfast: our restaurant manager of the morning explained you in lenght that the tables are first reserved for guests who have booked dinner and breakfast (half board) and given to them according to the duration of their stay. That includes tables at the windows. She also explained to you that these guests have the same table during their whole stay - a courtesy of our house to make everyone feel at home. Simply speaking we are not giving away the table in the morning when these guest have not yet had their breakfast. You booked breakfast only. During the days when we are fully booked, sitting arrangement is free between the remaining tables, otherwise it is simply not possible. In essence there is a very intricate reservation system in the background in place that we put a lot of time and effort into in order to make our guests happy. A system that you have no insight into, and as such are simply not qualified to judge. But that is not necessary, because to make a long story short, our morning restaurant manager offered you two very nice tables at the window, one even in our a la carte restaurant. You declined both, nothing could satisfy you other than the table that simply was reserved for long stay half-board guests. No, we don't fill the minibar on arrival. The use of the minibar is simply outdated, no one uses it anymore. But as it is clearly stated we do fill the minibar daily on your request, a service only a phone call away. The same goes for your wish to have a king size bed (large linen) or your claim that it smelled in the room (which our housekeeping should not have noticed?) - talk to us, every service is just a short information away. Regarding the extra pillows: indeed this is a rare instance that the pillows are not enough; our reception did have in mind to call you as soon as a pillow is available again to be put into the room. In any instance we have ordered more, we are truly sorry that we could not provide you with extra pillows when you needed them; we absolutely agree that this should not happen in a 5 star hotel. In resort transport. Again you are critizing something you have no background of. The Grindelwald taxi cooperation and Grindelwald community have clear rules that only allow us to use our shuttles for arrival / departure of guests to/from the station/airport or for the transfer to/from the ski lifts at a schedule. Everything else is considered a taxi service which we are forbidden to offer. So our receptionist asked you whether she should call a taxi or if you would like to take the bus in Grindelwald. We would love to drive our guests everywhere in town, but we also understand the need to protect the cab drivers, so that they can have their regular income. Dear guests it is absolutely not our aim to push away our responsiblities. When we have made a mistake we stand to and immediately rectify it. But please inform us (and all other hotels that you will be staying at in future) in advance rather than flooding a public platform with your discontent to no avail. Regards, family Anneliese & Otto Hauser-Seger and our Schweizerhof team.
Read more
We stayed in September with a tour. Our room on the top floor was not up to standard. It was in the eaves, with head room in the shower not good. Food was not up to 3 star standard, certainly not 5 star. My main problem was the fire regulations. The advice in our room, in the
Read more
Response from Schweizerhof3818, Inhaber at Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
Responded Dec 7, 2018
Dear guests thank you very much for your stay and your according feedback. You stayed with a tour company which also reserved the board you have been catered. We appreciate your comments on the dinner. However the company assigned a certain budget for the dinner. While we prepare any meal with appropriate methods and quality, we do agree that your tour group dinner does not always compare to the choice of exclusive components which we use for e.g. our regular halfboad menues and of course all a la carte dishes. That has nothing to do with an inapt kitchen staff but purely with budget. We are sorry that the room you stayed in did not meet your approval. Other guests love the romantic furbishing and the even more so romantic location just right under the Schweizerhof roof top. A matter of taste really. Kindly next time you stay in a hotel, inform the staff that you are not satisfied with your room and most certainly a solution will be found. Without notification, how can anyone guess that you are unhappy with your room? Regarding the fire rules: They clearly state that if you are unable to escape a fire - due to a fire directly in front of your room or in the escape paths - you are well advised to stay in your room, contact reception by phone and / or to attract help from persons outside of the room. It is an advice on an official document of the Canton Bern, which we absolutely agree with. Alternatively of course you may run directly into the path of the fire, choke on poisonous flames and die directly there. Rest assured that it will be a quick death. Dear guests, your tour company and ourselves have dealt with your complaints for the last weeks in a friendly and goodwill way. It saddens us to see that you are yet dissatisfied with the result and therefore chose to release your frustration online. Regards, yours Anneliese & Otto Hauser-Seger and our whole Schweizerhof team!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Center & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementRomantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
Junior Suite
views from the balcony
PreviousNext
12345623
Does the hotel provide free parking?
Dear GinnySam We have a few parking lots directly at the hotel. But they are on first come first serve basis. Alternatively we offer you a parking lot in our garage at CHF 20.- per car and day. Kind regards, your Schweizerhof team!
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi, does the hotel have a gym? Thanks
Unfortunately, they do not have a gym. There are other hotels/resorts in the area that do have gym but lack in other areas where the Schweizerhof excels. what they do have: The have an indoor pool, a few saunas to choose from and message treatments. When I was there I got a massage and a facial. Highly recommend it!
1 vote
Show all answers
Does this hotel have air conditioning?
Dear guests unfortunately we do not have an air condition due to a regulations that prohibits us due to the height of more than 1000m above sea level. Eerie thing, really. But we do provide fans in the room and the nights usually are cooler as low as 20°C so that the room can be cooled down then. Kind greetings your Schweizerhof team!
1 vote
Show all answers
When we where there in September of this year the time for dinner was from seven. We had a 11 month old and they allowed us to eat at 6.30. Maybe times are different in the summer or winter season.
0 votes
Show all answers
We usually like to eat our main meal at 6 pm Will a restraurent be open at that time
to my knowledge, yes.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"Balcony Rooms, with Eiger views are fantastic !!!"
"Ask for room with a view. Chalets for more air movement or if you have couples etc to share a room. Would be great rooms for families too."
"Ask for a room with a balcony- with a view of the Eiger Mountain"
"Make sure you have an Eiger view - we had a Superior Twin"
"my comments pertain to room 403. Others may have a better shower set up or cross ventilation"
PreviousNext
1234569
PRICE RANGE
$292 - $726 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
romantik hotel grindelwald
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of BernBernese OberlandJungfrau RegionGrindelwald
NUMBER OF ROOMS
101
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing