We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Alpina Gstaad

Save
Share
Alpinastrasse 23, Gstaad, Saanen 3780 Switzerland
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (757)
Room & Suite (146)
Dining (54)
What is Travelers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travelers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

About

#2 of 20 hotels in Gstaad
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2021 Travelers' Choice Best of the Best
Due to current governmental regulations our restaurants & bar are is exclusively open for hotel guest. The Alpina Gstaad is a small, discreet and modern hotel property of only 56 rooms and suites. Set on hillside of the exclusive resort, Gstaad-Oberbort, the hotel overlooks the Saaneland ski village. Gstaad’s pristine valley is surrounded by spectacular Alpine views. Since its opening in 2012, The Alpina Gstaad upholds a global standard of refinement and elegance in the 5-star category. Known for its authentic architecture, local crafts, own herb garden and art collection, The Alpina Gstaad is home to the highest expressions of Swiss design. The Alpina Gstaad offers on-site Michelin-starred restaurants, a wine cellar containing over 1’700 labels, and a range of luxury services to experience. The property hosts the only Six Senses Spa in Switzerland, a holistic destination spa inspired by Asian wellness traditions that draw upon the energy of the Alps and the Bernese Oberland's peaks and pastures. The Alpina Private Art Collection continues to expand and currently includes 64 pieces by some of the world’s leading contemporary artists including Jacqueline Humphries, Pierre Huyghe, Wade Guyton and Nicole Eisenmann. The hotel offers magnificent views of the Bernese Alps and the Saanenland, an area known for its wide range of Summer and Winter activities.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Babysitting
Electric vehicle charging station
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Game room
Hiking
Ski rentals
Ski school
Skiing
Tennis court offsite
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Head massage
Light therapy
Massage
Open-air bath
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Outdoor fireplace
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Butler service
Doorperson
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, French, German
583Reviews5Q+A60Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 544
  • 26
  • 8
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Billy110868 wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
good location, good room, good spa, good japa restaurant, average swiss one, clean & polite service upon reservation, they recomended me rooms on the north side, which i accepted but this was clearly not the best recomendation as no sun of course, while sun & beautiful mountain on the other side. why did they do that ? i have no idea but it certainly was not nice from them + they gave me 2 rooms above the kitchen.. result ? noise as of 6 am on saturday & sunday, when you precisely come to relax .. I am sorry but you do this once to me .. i will not come back. yes you expect better when you spend 10k $ for a w-nd. Best regards, Guillaume Cambour.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from The Alpina Gstaad, Geschäftsführer at The Alpina Gstaad
Responded Mar 7, 2021
Dear Mr. Cambour, Thank you for having taken the time to fill in the guest satisfaction questionnaire. We do strive for complete guest satisfaction, and are grateful for a high number of very loyal repeat guests, who come primarily for our service standards and the friendliness of our staff. I am very sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations on this stay. I understand that you were unhappy with the north-facing standard rooms. I am sure that their location should have been better explained during the booking process. We have very few south-facing standard rooms. Nearly all south-facing units are much larger and therefore higher priced suites. We do feel that the north-facing rooms have a wonderful forest and mountain view, and are often well appreciated for their calm exposition. The building is usually very well sound insulated, so I am surprised that you would have heard the kitchen in the morning. We have only had one comment like this before, when there was actually a technical fault in the kitchen, which made the mixing machine hit against the wall. This had been rectified immediately. Did you mention the noise to our team so that we could better find the source of the problem? For any future stays, I have already added to your profile to allocate higher floor rooms. I have also spoken the service team about the precision of wine orders. Mixing the wines should of course not happen. While I fully understand these disappointments, we would look forward to welcoming you again in the future, and I would be happy to personally assist with your reservation. Please feel free to reach out to me at any time. With kind regards, Tim Weiland General Manager | The Alpina Gstaad
Read more
ClovisSaad wrote a review Feb 2021
Saanenmoser, Switzerland33 contributions21 helpful votes
We recently decided to try The Alpina for one night. We already go there often for drinks and dinner. as we have a holiday home in the region. We already knew the service was of high standard and very friendly and their excellent Megu restaurant, but even though were pleased surprised. Everywhere in the hotel staff is friendly and highly professional. Our room was beautifully decorated, cozy, comfortable and functional. The mattress is a dream. Breakfast served in the room was delicious, as we chose the chefs suggestion, a Japanese broth. Dinner at the Megu was fantastic as usual, with high quality ingredients and attentive service. Do not miss the tuna tartar with avocado and cheese starter. Simply amazing. The only problem is that the stay was too short. Will return!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from The Alpina Gstaad, Geschäftsführer at The Alpina Gstaad
Responded Mar 25, 2021
Dear Mr Saad, Thank you for this positive feedback. We are delighted to know that we were able to exceed your expectations and provide you with a memorable experience. More than a place to stay in Gstaad our environmentally conscious hotel, situated in the heart of nature uses local products and resources which are integrated seamlessly throughout the hotel into creating a modern interpretation of Alpine chic. Your kind remarks about the quality service you received will be passed on to all our hosts who contributed to making your time with us worthwhile. The recommendations you have made will inspire our Executive Chef to continue with his efforts to deliver an innovative and memorable dining experience to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you again toThe Alpina Gstaad soon for a hopefully longer visit. Best regards, Tim Weiland General Manager | The Alpina Gstaad
Read more
Galya wrote a review Feb 2021
Zurich, Switzerland59 contributions13 helpful votes
I have decided to celebrate my Birthday with a friend here. It was more than incredible. From the reservation through the upgrade in a suite and a special cake with a glass of champagne till to the restaurant dinner. Thank you, team! I am not Schwarzenegger, but I will be back :)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from The Alpina Gstaad, Geschäftsführer at The Alpina Gstaad
Responded Mar 25, 2021
Dear Galya, We appreciate your feedback following your recent stay with us at The Alpina Gstaad. It is a pleasure to have welcomed you to our hotel, an icon in Gstaad that combines Swiss traditions with state-of-the-art infrastructure and services. Ensuring the satisfaction of all our guests is a top priority, so we are especially pleased to know that we contributed to making your special occasion a memorable one. We look forward to the pleasure of having you return and hopefully celebrating many more milestones with you. Best wishes, Tim Weiland General Manager | The Alpina Gstaad
Read more
Roman A wrote a review Jan 2021
Zug, Switzerland389 contributions46 helpful votes
We were in this Hotel in first decade of Jan’21. On the first day of arrival we had a dinner in the Swiss Restaurant and have ordered typical food which was appropriate quality. The real surprise came with the bill! I’ve never checked my bills before but this time it was CHF451 for four people without vine. So, It drives me to check the numbers. I have found a five mistakes in the short bill with the CHF150 (50%) overcharges!!! With the 7 bottles of water instead of 3, bear and some food was counted in a more volume then we have ordered in reality. We were crossed with the waitress Mariaele when she tried to resist and behaved very rude. Neither Restaurant’s Manager no General Manager of the Hotel brought any meaningful explanations of this situation. Our stay in the Hotel was spoiled unfortunately. It is hard to expect from a such luxury place when you pay serious money for the stay and get robbed at the end. I really hope Hotel’s management should fix this asap.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from The Alpina Gstaad, Geschäftsführer at The Alpina Gstaad
Responded Jan 23, 2021
Dear Roman A., We had spoken personally after this incident. The bill is always presented for the guests to be able to check it. All items that you had marked were taken off the bill as per your requests. You ended up paying 3 starters and 3 main courses or 4 people at the table. Yours sincerely, Tim Weiland I General Manager The Alpina Gstaad
Read more
lmp2021 wrote a review Jan 2021
Milano1 contribution
We stayed with a 1 year old child and we had a great time. Perfect experience. We would recommend for families. Spa is amazing and all the restaurants too. We felt at home. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice activities around for Children
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from The Alpina Gstaad, Geschäftsführer at The Alpina Gstaad
Responded Jan 26, 2021
Dear Imp2021, Thank you for having visited The Alpina Gstaad and for sharing your kind review here. Once you enter the entrance tunnel, we connect with you in a familiar manner, inviting you to get settled at home – in your private refuge, whether alone, with your partner or with the entire family. Our hosts never forget a familiar face and you will always be reminded of being at home while staying with us. Until your next visit, we look forward to welcoming both of you, along with our newest member of The Alpina Family back to and to continue creating memories with us. Tim Weiland General Manager I The Alpina Gstaad
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$616 - $1,635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of BernSaanenGstaad
NUMBER OF ROOMS
56
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Alpina Gstaad
Which popular attractions are close to The Alpina Gstaad?
Nearby attractions include Lake Lauenen - Geltenhütte SAC - Lauenensee (0.3 miles), Pedestrianised Promenade and Shopping Mile (0.2 miles), and Historical village of Saanen (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Alpina Gstaad?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Alpina Gstaad?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Alpina Gstaad?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Alpina Gstaad?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Alpina Gstaad?
Conveniently located restaurants include Posthotel Rössli Restaurant Stübli und Restaurant Alti Poscht, La Bagatelle, and Megu.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Alpina Gstaad?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Alpina Gstaad have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Alpina Gstaad offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Alpina Gstaad located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Gstaad.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Alpina Gstaad?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Alpina Gstaad?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.