We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hotel Mr. Pickwick

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Mr. Pickwick
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

255 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 201: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
254 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

This hotel only 400 or so metres from the train station is in the perfect location to immerse yourself into Lucerne's old town. Look out your window directly onto the river and the Chapel bridge. Our double room with bathroom, included tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TV, a fan a small balcony and strong wifi. Down stairs the... More 

Helpful?
Thank GaryandLesleyTravel
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location within minutes of the train station, the ship landings, many restaurants and shops. Great view over the river Reuss, the old bridge and up to the Pilatus. The rooms have been renovated with new bathrooms (shower only) with fresh towels every day when needed. There are no frills: No air conditioning, but a fan, no mini bar, no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lenk53
JSGastrag, Inhaber at Hotel Mr. Pickwick, responded to this review

Dear Lenk53, Thank you so much for your positive and constructive review. We do in deed have a "Swiss lodge" hotel classification which means that we do not have any stars ***. We aim to provide a great and comfortable stay with a few luxuries that you would get in a three*** hotel. The view however is 5*****. You are... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great location I don't think you could get a better location in Lucerne. Smooth check in and check out. Didn't need to interact with staff more than that and that's a good thing. Only complaint is about the beds Id have liked single queen instead of two twins pushed against each other.

Helpful?
Thank HC310
JSGastrag, Inhaber at Hotel Mr. Pickwick, responded to this review

Dear Harshith C Many thanks for your review. We will note your comment about the queen sized bed. We do try to provide transparent information for all our guests so will review our room descriptions. We do, however, also try to provide flexibilty and many guests like to share a room without sleeping in the same bed. We are very... More 

Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel itself is a pub/restaurant with rooms above it. The pub is lively and has good comfort food. The rooms are very small but adequate. Considering the location and convenience this is a good choice. Our room was on the 3rd floor looking out over the river and the famous wooden bridge. Be aware that the bar can be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael W
JSGastrag, Inhaber at Hotel Mr. Pickwick, responded to this review

Dear Michael W Thank you for your review and we are very glad that you were able to appreciate the location and view! We do not make the claim, " a room with a view" without a good reason! By the sounds of your feedback you had reserved a "Two-bedded room" (2 beds, one behind the other). These rooms are,... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

My mom & I stayed here during our 2 week backpacking trip last December, 2015. The hotel is literally across the bridge from the train station in Lucerne. You see it immediately. The check-in is in the bar, which is kinda fun and neat. There is a great atmosphere in the Mr. Pickwick Pub. The views from the room are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Savannah R
JSGastrag, Inhaber at Hotel Mr. Pickwick, responded to this review

Dear Savannah R wow, thanks for your great review! There is not much else we can add apart from there are a range of rooms varying in size so we would please advise checking our website before booking. We hope to see you again in Lucerne soon! Best regards More 

Berkeley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2016 via mobile

We had mid-morning flights out of Zurich and opted to stay over night in Lucerne. Hotel Mr Pickwick was perfect. Clean, comfortable, great view, and very near train station. We spent a lovely afternoon wandering along the water front and taking a boat cruise on the lake. The hotel staff gave helpful advise about which train to take to Zurich.... More 

Helpful?
Thank three2010
JSGastrag, Inhaber at Hotel Mr. Pickwick, responded to this review

Dear three2010 Thank you so much for your great review. The team strive hard to provide a great service for all our guests so they will appreciate your review. You are one, of many, that appreciate the location of our hotel. We hope to see you again sometime soon! Best regards More 

San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2016

I have very mixed feelings about reviewing this hotel, as the location, bed quality, cleanliness, and staff was top notch. Kinda cool that the rooms are above a little bar. The view out our window was awesome, overlooking the old bridge, and the river. Now the worst part... upon check-in we were inserviced on how the room key works, escorted... More 

Helpful?
Thank parka
JSGastrag, Inhaber at Hotel Mr. Pickwick, responded to this review

Dear parka Thank you for your feedback. We are very glad that you found the overall quality "top notch". You are right in saying that we have no air conditionning; this is due to building regulation restrictions due to the age and design of the building. Maybe one day the regulations will change in our favour! We ensure that every... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

- location: facing the river so it's easy to access from lucern station when you arrive - it's only a 7 minute walk. - room: really clean and river facing so you have a great view of lucern. Tea and coffee are also provided. We had a triple room so our room was more spacious. - wifi: unfortunately it only... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ekta J
JSGastrag, Inhaber at Hotel Mr. Pickwick, responded to this review

Dear Ekta J Thank you for your positive review. Our hotel is very popular due its` locality and our Swiss lodge standards. We do not pretend to be a 3, 4, or 5 ***** hotel but we strive to provide a great stay for our guests. Did you report the issue with the Wifi as this should not have happended?... More 

Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016

I always pick our hotel based on location, unfortunately this time it did not work for me. The location is perfect as you have a great view of the river and the wooden bridge from your room. And it is indeed centrally located...a few minutes walk from the train station on one side and the old town on the other... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maria G
LMGastrag, Assistentin Brand Support at Hotel Mr. Pickwick, responded to this review

Dear Bilou G Many thanks for your review. We are sorry that your stay with us did not fulfil your expectations. We endeavour very hard to communicate on all internet platforms that Hotel Pickwick is classified under the category of a “Swiss lodge” and not a 3* hotel – we do however claim that we offer a room with a... More 

Newcastle, South Africa
Level Contributor
193 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2016

the rooms are basic, we had two fold up beds on both sides of the walls! there is no closet, just rails? the bath room more than basic, there is no dining room or lounge, just an extremely noisy Pub. if you visit London, great, but not in Switzerland, unless you are local and tired of the Swiss scene! OR... More 

Helpful?
Thank heilavh2016
LMGastrag, Assistentin Brand Support at Hotel Mr. Pickwick, responded to this review

Dear Heilavh Thank you for your review and we are sorry that our hotel did not fulfil your expectations. We strive hard to be as transparent as possible to all our guests and offer a complete overview of our hotel on our Hotel website. Hotel Pickwick is not a 3, 4, or 5 star hotel but a “Swiss lodge”, an... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

168 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (158)
Viewed
View from Room (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 stars 819 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz
0.1 mi away
Altstadt Hotel Magic Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 stars 867 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#13 of 67 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 stars 688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#16 of 67 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Pickwick is a popular tourist hotel and "Swiss lodge" approx. 600 Yards from the railway station. Located directly on the banks of the river Reuss, in the heart of the historical old town of Lucerne, the hotel commands a superd view of the world famous wooden "Kapell bridge". Very well maintained simple rooms with en-suite shower and WC, flat-screen TV, room-safe, tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryer, and free WIFI. Most rooms have a small balcony overlooking the river. Every room is a "room with a view"!Breakfast is not included but we recommend a nearby restaurant (only a few steps away) that offers a great breakfast buffet.Parking: due to our location in the historical old town we recommend that you use the parking garage at the train stations (600 yards away). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Mr. Pickwick

Address: Rathausquai 6, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Price Range: $153 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mr. Pickwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mr Pickwick
Mr Pickwick Hotel
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Lucerne
#17 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay