We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Ambassador

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Ambassador
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 117: English reviews
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Room was well laid out and spotless. Good location, 2 minute walk to the lake and 1 min walk from the Lucerne Lion. Small shopping mall with a CO OP grocery store. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast well stocked and plentiful.

Helpful?
Thank pablo602
East midlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Checked in two lovely girls couldn't do enough for us. Free iced tea very welcome in the hot weather. Room on the 6th floor was very quiet and very clean. No tea and coffee..no air conditioning. That's why I say very good and not excellent. Right in centre of town lots of shops. Subway next door in a small shop... More 

Helpful?
Thank nursetutor
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I, along with my wife stayed at this hotel in June 2016 for four nights. We found this hotel more than satisfying and equipped with all amenities & all as claimed. Location of this hotel is great. It is at 15 min. walking distance from main train station. There are two ways, one by lake side, slightly longer but more... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kunal_J_Rane
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a triple room in the second week of July 2016. There were some goods and some not-so-goods for us during our stay at this hotel. Goods – amazing friendly staff, clean hotel and rooms, central location, unlimited coffee around reception Not so goods – No air conditioning (average temperature was 30 Celsius and hence, AC would have been... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kanika c
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review

Grüezi Thank youf for your review. thank you for taking the time and writing your comments. We are sorry for not AC in all of the hotel. Our hotelbuilding ist over 100 years old. This makes it difficult to install aircondition. We need it only during the hottest day in Lucerne. We are really sorry about our WIFI System. Recently... More 

Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

Almost a full year ago a previous reviewer said that the wi-fi here is "terrible" and that it "kept dropping out, disconnecting." The hotel staff responded by saying, "Thank you for the comment about the WIFI - we are working on that. We hope to present you a very fast WIFI upon your next visit." I can assure you that... More 

Helpful?
Thank StefanZweig
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review

Grüezi Thank you for taking the time and sending us your review. We are so sorry that you had not been able to connect to our Wifi. We did in Fact replace the WIFI System with a fast fibre access and new connection (pending on Room Nr., Name and Departure Date) All free of charge. However we admit and still... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016

I stayed for 3 weeks at this hotel for a work visit. The hotel is about 15min walk from the Bahnhof Luzern (central station) and centrally located with easy access to buses, cabs, and the main shopping area. Staff is quite friendly and I got one of the 'bigger' rooms which was nice.The hotel is 3-star so doesn't have the... More 

Helpful?
Thank amtrna
Ferdinand Z, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review

Grüezi and Hello from Lucerne Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. Thank you also for staying so long time with us. We understand this as a compliment and that you had enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and in Lucerne. We hope you will be coming soon back to our hotel and wish you a good... More 

georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Clean and great location. Very modern rooms. Spotless. Restaurants and stores very close. Transportation very easy. Friendly atmosphere and great breakfast. Staff was wonderful and very informative. They gave us two free welcome drinks.

Helpful?
Thank ednita23
Ferdinand Z, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review

Grüezi Thank you very much for your review and the full points you gave us. We are so happy to read that you spent a great time with us and enjoyed your Birthday at our place. Would be nice to have you here as a guest soon again. Best regards from Lucerne, Ferdinand Zehnder and the Ambassador Team More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2016 via mobile

It's a budget hotel . But comfortable . The problem might be if the heating is not on before handed . But it can be checked . It's on walking distance from the railway station , nicely located , everything is close around . Break fast is good & so is the staff . I forgot my IPhone in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neeti K
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review

Hello form Lucerne. Thank you very much for the friendly review. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good time. Would be nice to have you as a guest in the Hotel Ambassador soon again. Best regards, Ferdinand Zehnder and Ambassador Team More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2016 via mobile

The only thing preventing this from being a 5-star review is an impolite receptionist (brown hair). The room was cosy and clean. They helped us open our wine NYE. Buffet breakfast (more than just continental - came with boiled eggs, and cold cut meat n cheese) was a god send considering the prices of food in Luzern - good variety... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bri B
DelapaixSwitzerland, General Manager at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review about the stay in the Hotel Ambassador. We are really happy to read, that you spent a nice and comfortable time in our hotel and had a great time in Lucerne . We are really sorry for the unconfortable moment with our usually very friendly reception team member. Thank you for your... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015 via mobile

Good hotel with centric location. Stayed there for a week on a family trip. We were four adults and one baby Rooms are nice and spacious the highest of the hotel The buffet breakfast is continental so not a big variety of options. Mostly bread, ham and cheeses. Very little fruit The only have one infant chair at the restaurant... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa Van d
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel Ambassador, responded to this review

Grüezi from Lucerne Thank you very much for your kind review. It is nice to hear, that you spent a good time with us in Lucerne. We are really sorry about the unconfortable situation with the infant chair. We will need to make a change. Thank you for the information. As we offer tickets (25 CHF/ day) for the underground... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (39)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel De la Paix
Hotel De la Paix
#29 of 67 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
0.6 mi away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#25 of 67 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#27 of 67 in Lucerne
3.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpina Luzern
Hotel Alpina Luzern
#31 of 67 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.4 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#20 of 67 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ambassador is an attractive and welcoming city hotel in the heart of Lucerne, and at the heart of the action. Sights such as the world famous Lion Monument or the fascinating Bourbaki Panorama are right on the doorstep. The vibrant historical city centre is only a few steps away. Also close-by is the lakeshore promenade along Lake Lucerne, a delightful place to stroll along and take in the atmosphere.Rest and relax in our friendly rooms with four-star comfort. And enjoy the market-fresh cuisine at Restaurant Lapin.A multi-storey car park offering special discounted rates is available right next to the Hotel Ambassador. We look forward to seeing you ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Address: Zurichstrasse 3, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Price Range: $158 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ambassador 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Lucerne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay