We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Berghotel Trubsee

Save
Share
Truebsee, Engelberg 6390 Switzerland
Lowest prices for your stay
$248
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/13/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
eDreams$248
Priceline
Agoda.com$248
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (99)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (12)

About

#17 of 23 hotels in Engelberg
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Berghotel Trübsee (Alpine Lodge Trübsee) is situated at 1800 m above sea level and is surrounded by a magnificent mountain landscape. The hotel is reachable by cable car within 20 minutes from Engelberg. In winter you will be one of the first skiers on the slopes (ski in ski out hotel) and in summer it is a perfect starting point for anyone wishing to experience the mountains of Central Switzerland.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Game room
Skiing
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Karaoke
Board games / puzzles
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Business Center with Internet Access
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Ski In / Ski Out
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Telephone
Bottled water
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 2 more
103Reviews1Q+A6Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 44
  • 41
  • 10
  • 5
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Baslerin wrote a review Aug 2020
Switzerland33 contributions57 helpful votes
We had a two night stay in this hotel. The aim was to enjoy nature and quietness so we were actually very happy that the cable car stops operating at 17.00 because we got the place all to ourselves at night. But yes, the point of this hotel is to enjoy nature: hikes around the lake or around the mountains were very pleasant and beautiful. The weather was bad when we were there but it was still a good experience of tranquility. Now, for the price, the things we got were quite basic, in a typical mountain hotels style in Switzerland. The room is functional but basic (which is OK), the sauna was old and small (could be improved), but worst of all, the dinner. There was only one take-it-or-leave it menu for half-board. We did ask for an à la carte menu, thinking that we could order from the à la carte and pay the difference. But it wasn't available. At night, there was only one set menu. Back to the set menu, I think substitution is possible but we didn't try. We had beef tartar (which was utterly delicious) but I did wonder, how do they expect everyone to eat raw beef, especially children? And are the substitutes equally decent? If yes, why not make it an alternative? Good thing is, if the meal wasn't enough, we could apparently ask for second helpings. Overall, once one knows the pitfalls of such place, it is a good stay. We would love to come back, especially when dinner is improved.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
DeeDee wrote a review Sep 2018
St Leonards, Australia35 contributions8 helpful votes
Spacious rooms, comfortable beds and a views to die for. Food downstairs was really nice and quite generous also. I don't see why anyone would choose to stay somewhere in this area and then complain that it's far ... i mean thats sort of obvious. I loved my stay here and enjoyed all the activities we got to do up in the mountains as well!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
AlvinTaikor wrote a review May 2018
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia1277 contributions163 helpful votes
+1
Located halfway to the top of Mt Titlis, sounds good. Other than the convenience of getting up to the top of Mt Titlis quickly, it feels like being stranded or imprisoned here. Everything shuts down n closed after 5pm...other than the kitchen that serves its guests. Room is very basic n small. Bathroom is tiny, too. Kitchen staff not friendly. Too many stairs to climb up or down to move around the hotel. However the great time we spent up Mt Titlis was worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Eren U wrote a review Feb 2018
Istanbul, Turkey73 contributions65 helpful votes
This is a ski sport camp rather than a hotel. After 5 pm you're locked in. (No cable car after 5pm) This is a half board premise, breakfast is good but dinner is a problem. And you have no options. No entertainment for children and adults. The food and beverage is extremely expensive. Even tap water is paid. The bunk bed room is uncomfortable. The room amenities are poor. There is no ski rent facilities in the premise so, you should go down to Engelberg.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Rooms with no bunker beds for 3 or 4 persons
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from TITLIS_Hotels, Manager at Berghotel Trubsee
Responded Feb 8, 2018
Dear Eren U, thank you for having taken the time to provide your valued Feedback and beeing guest in Alpine Lodge Trübsee. We are very sorry to hear that you could not enjoy your stay with us to the fullest. Unfortunately we need to notice, that we were not able to convince you with the amazing nature and mountain skyline around the hotel and the 3 different main courses for dinner. However, we very much regret that we were not able to meet your expectations this time. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Engelberg in the near future. Best regards from Mount Titlis Christian Gerber Manager of Operations Alpine Lodge Trübsee
Read more
Roger D wrote a review Jan 2018
124 contributions30 helpful votes
already the information we received before our stay was outstanding. everything was well described and made it so easy to arrive. staff is extremely friendly, be it at checkin, checkout or any small question one might have. the dinner tasted sooo good and was presented in a nice way. looking forward to a next visit!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from TITLIS_Hotels, Manager at Berghotel Trubsee
Responded Jan 26, 2018
Dear Roger D, Thank you kindly for taking the time to write such a fantastic review about your recent stay with us. It fills me with joy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us to such an extent. I have shared your wonderful comments with our staff this morning and they are just as delighted as I am. Thank you, it really was a pleasure to have been able to take care of you and it is much appreciated that you have noted our special care and attention. Our hotel staff and I look forward to welcoming you back to Alpine Lodge Trübsee in the very near future. Best Wishes Christian Gerber Operations Manager Alpine Lodge Trübsee
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$196 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of ObwaldenEngelberg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
37
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Berghotel Trubsee
Which popular attractions are close to Berghotel Trubsee?
Nearby attractions include Mount Titlis (1.6 miles), Titlis Cliff Walk (1.6 miles), and Kloster Engelberg - Benediktinerabtei (1.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Berghotel Trubsee?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Berghotel Trubsee?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Berghotel Trubsee?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Berghotel Trubsee?
Conveniently located restaurants include Spice Bazaar, Alpenclub, and Wirtschaft zum Schweizerhaus.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Berghotel Trubsee?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Berghotel Trubsee?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Berghotel Trubsee offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Berghotel Trubsee?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Portuguese.
Does Berghotel Trubsee have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.