We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Hotelbern

Traveler (214)
360
Panoramas (15)
Room & Suite (286)

About

#23 of 30 hotels in Bern
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Housekeeping
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Italian

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
182Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
56Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
570Reviews
22Q+A
48Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 109
  • 261
  • 141
  • 30
  • 30
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Hotel is under renovation and it is noisy smelly stinky and very hot! NO air conditioning only a small fan. No water after midnight. No free water. No garbage cans in the room no tissue. No nothing Room is poorly organized. Outlets are inconveniently located very low in corners! Almost no space to walk aroun. Receptionists are unfriendly Not worth money paid The only good point is location and very nice efficient breakfast staff. Food is okay. Everything else is BAD! NEVER AGAIN will we set forth in this overrated hotel.
Read more
We stayed at the hotel which is being renovated, so much of it is a mess with exposed fittings & plastic on floor & boxes laying around. The corridors are basically a building site. Not sure why the hotel didn’t just close but I guess profit is more important than providing guests with a proper service. We were told that the building work would only be carried out from 0800-1800. But it started bang on 0715. So no lie- in for us. Staff were very nice, but we were not happy with the awful state of the hotel & the noise. My advice: stay away until renovations finished.
Read more
Response from HOTELBERN, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Best Western Hotelbern
Responded 1 week ago
Dear star17city First of all, we would like to thank you for your booking at the Hotel Bern and your feedback. We deeply regret that you could not fully enjoy your stay. At the moment we are modernizing the Hotel Bern in order to present it as attractive and modern in the future. You can be assured that the safety of our guests and the cleanliness of the hotel rooms and other facilities have our highest priority, especially during the renovation work. Should you have felt otherwise, we are sorry and would like to apologize for this.In the planning phase, we decided consciously to carry out the conversion during ongoing operations, thus guaranteeing our 60 employees a permanent job. The plastic planes on the floor were just there to cover the new carpet. There are removed now. From beginning of July the half of our hotelrooms are newly renovated. So from now all our hotel guests stay in a renovated room. Dear star17city, despite the negative experiences, we would be very happy to welcome you back after the renovation to convince you of our "new" hotel. Warm regards - Your Hotel Bern Team
Read more
Location was paramount because we took day trips by train. The tram was located a few steps from the hotel which dropped us off at the train station. It would have received a rating of excellence but the hotel is under dramatic renovation. We were only notified shortly before arrival. We were offered a glass of wine in the restaurant for our troubles. The hotel renovation looked like Arnold Schwarzengger had been by. From a PR stand, the hotel guests should have received complimentary breakfast daily for their inconvenience. The hotel staff was impeccable. Once the hotel is completely renovated, it will be the ideal stay in Bern.
Read more
Response from HOTELBERN, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Best Western Hotelbern
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Yvette H Thank you very much for your stay at the Hotel Bern and your review. We appreciate your comments about our staff and the location. Furthermore we deeply regret that we did not met your expectation. The Hotel Bern is currently being redesigned to offer our guests a modern hotel in the future. By beginning of July the first half of the rooms will be ready. We would be pleased to welcome you again in our new and modern hotel despite negative impression at another time. Sincerely, your Hotel Bern Team
Read more
+1
The hotel is undergoing extensive renovation and is a construction site. You have to go through the work areas to get to the room. The staff do their best despite the situation. Had been in place to warn about construction work when booking.
Read more
Response from HOTELBERN, Manager at Best Western Hotelbern
Responded Jun 5, 2019
Dear LKS20190528 Thank you for your review. We regret that you could not enjoy your stay with us. We hope, that you will give us a new chance in 2020. Best wishes from Team Hotel Bern.
Read more
I travel for work a lot and this is probably among the worst visits I've had to date. There was major construction going on which would not have necessarily been an issue if it had been reflected in any of the following: Price Advance warning Possibility to cancel Noise control management of construction to only affect parts of the hotel. sticking to advertised times instead of starting to drill at 7 am Even without any construction activity I would never come again as their handling of the issue shows a lack of care and respect for hotel guests.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Response from HOTELBERN, Manager at Best Western Hotelbern
Responded May 24, 2019
Dear Sir Thank you for your feedback. Too bad this is anonymous. Unfortunately, you didn't mention anything at the reception. Because we can react directly on the spot. We always try to make our guests' stay as pleasant as possible. To our regret we could not arrange a pleasant stay for you. We hope you enjoyed your time in Bern nevertheless and that we have the possibility to welcome you back soon. Best wishes from Bern - Your Hotel Bern Team.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$146 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Bern Hotel
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of BernBern Mittelland DistrictBern
NUMBER OF ROOMS
99
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing