We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Dorint An der Messe Basel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Dorint An der Messe Basel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

306 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 157: English reviews
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed for a week and breakfast was included into my package I like the variety of breakfast and my colleagues also liked the food while having dinner. Basel is a small place and hotel has very good connectivity with Bus (50 mtr) Tram (2000 mtr) and Train (700 mtr). I took the double bed room which was costing around... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lucky S
Uerikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have stayed many times and each time I am more disappointed. From the start: Negatives -Not enough parking and cars parked in any free area in the carpark so it is difficult to get in or out -Tiny room, imagine a child`s bedroom where there is a large family. -Quite expensive for what you get -I had to ask... More 

Helpful?
Thank lad1916
Iran
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Basel is a rather small town on the Rhine, but perfectly suited for international meetings. It is easily reached through france and germany, as well as through the rest of switzerland. The congress meeting center is magnificent; many small or big hotels are situated close by. The town is calm, not like big business hubs elsewhere.. at 7, everything is... More 

Helpful?
Thank AliZareM
Arcimbold_CH, Manager at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this review

Dear AliZareM Thank you for the beautiful description of our nice little Swiss town of Basel. We hope you had a successfull time and you have enjoyed the stay in our hotel as well! We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. All our best wishes Christian Gesslein Assistant Executive Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So why is this my third stay at this hotel - because the company I work for from time to time said there was no other room available in Basel as there was a Fair that week. I believe them. It is still one of the last places I would stay. Clean, nice staff but so very basic and at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Toddy098
Arcimbold_CH, Manager at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this review

Dear Toddy098 Thank you for both - your stay with us and the time you took to comment on it. We regret that we do not satisfy you - perhaps some of our suggestions can help to feel you at least a little more comfortable with your next stay. Let us know when you stay with us the next time... More 

Level Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There is nothing thrilling about this hotel, rooms are rather small but still OK, it is clean and relatively modern. Its architecture is very basic and boring but it is well located, close to the fair and other major places - but quite far away from the old town. Very small bar area, good breakfast selection and the service speaking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Piomak64
Arcimbold_CH, Manager at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this review

Dear Piomak64 Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are happy that you have enjoyed the stay with us - and our reception staff are very happy to show you the old town of "Kleinbasel" (that is our, the northern part of the town), not far away from the fair and hosting some... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016

Very clean hotel. Staff were very friendly and efficient. No delays at checkout. Good selection of food at breakfast. Hotel is in a good location. The Exhibition centre is a short walk away (less than 5 minutes). The old town of Basel is only a 15 min walk or a short ride on a tram.

Helpful?
Thank HCPUK
Arcimbold_CH, Manager at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this review

Dear HCPUK Thank you for being our guest - and of course for taking the time to send your feedback. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back soon again! Our very best wishes Christian Gesslein Assistant Executive Manager More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

I had made a booking for a couple of rooms in September 2016 through hotels.com, paying a higher rate in order to be able to amend my booking. When I tried to amend my booking today, the hotel told me this was not possible due to being fully booked and their 'pricing strategy'. Now we are left with 2 alternatives:... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom V
Arcimbold_CH, Manager at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this review

Dear valued customer Thank you for taking the time to share your experience you made while doing a future reservation. As discussed on the telephone already we only can ask you for your understanding that we only can accept bookings for the complete fair period and not only for single days, otherwise other guests who require rooms for the entire... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

We stayed here as my husband had conference at convention centre which was an easy 5-8 minute walk. It was the perfect location for him and also for me to get tram into the city. The rooms were well appointed with very comfortable King-size bed. Bathroom was good size and the room was serviced daily. Very clean, comfortable room. Good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynne033
Arcimbold_CH, Manager at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this review

Dear Lynne033, It has been a pleasure for us to have you as our guest. We highly appreciate you took the time to send us the feedback on your stay and want to say thank you for the nice words you have found to share your experience. We hope you have enjoyed dinner in our restaurant as much as our... More 

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

Stayed here for business trip, only 8min walk to the convention Centre, 10 mins from city center. The best thing about the hotel are the staff. All are very friendly, helpful, efficient and welcoming. The comfort rooms are very large with tea/coffee facilities, sink, fridge and microwave. The air con isn't great but having a larger room helps. Excellent soundproofing... More 

Helpful?
Thank Youngcouple481
Arcimbold_CH, Manager at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this review

Dear Youngcouple481 - Our entire team is proud on your compliments. It has been a pleasure to have you as our guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon again. We hope you had the chance to taste our home made bircher muesli. All our best wishes, Christian Gesslein Assistant Executive Manager More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016 via mobile

Overall this is a nice place to stay on a business trip. Rooms are comfortable and overall the facilities are good. The surrounding area is not the best but the town centre is a 10 minute walk away so some decent restaurants are reasonably nearby.

Helpful?
Thank Drakesy
Arcimbold_CH, Manager at Dorint An der Messe Basel, responded to this review

Dear Drakesy, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you could enjoy our restaurant and bar as an alternative to the limited offers in the surroundings. Looking forward to welcoming you back we are sending our very best wishes, Christian Gesslein Assistant Executive... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (70)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Hotel D - Basel
Hotel D - Basel
#11 of 50 in Basel
4.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Dorint An der Messe Basel

Address: Schoenaustrasse 10, Basel 4058, Switzerland (Formerly Novotel)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Price Range: $96 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dorint An der Messe Basel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Dorint An der Messe Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorint Hotel An Der Messe
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Basel
#22 Business Hotel in Basel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay