We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 47: English reviews
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 20, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on a visit to Basel. It was handily located for the train station and well connected by the tram to get into the city centre quickly. The room and bathroom were clean and the lady at reception was really helpful. It is located off the main road so was nice and quiet. The room had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sez1966
California
Reviewed May 11, 2016

The Apaliving Hotel is a nice budget hotel. It was my first stay, and I was surprised how nice it is, even when the word "budget" frightend me first. I enjoyed my three nights in the deluxe room. The room was very very clean! Even 4* and 5* hotels are not so clean like this!!!!!!!! Peaople at the reception are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MeMehea
LeitungApaliving, Geschäftsführer at Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this great review, dear MeMehea! Cleanliness is very important to us and we are very happy and proud to here that you were satisfied with the quality! We are looking forward to having you here anytime soon again. Best regards, your Apaliving

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 20, 2016

Great place & location. Lots of good restaurants, supermarkets etc. Frequent trams and buses to Basel and Euroairport, and SBB trains. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Parking available. Rooms very comfortable with wifi excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jill564
LeitungApaliving, Geschäftsführer at Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, jill564! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you very soon again! Best regards, your Apaliving

Haliburton
Reviewed April 17, 2016

We had a basic room ( there is some kind of upgraded room that has slightly more amenties such as the Nespresso machine some other reviewers mention). The room was clean and functional but small with two single beds, a built in closet, fridge, 2 desk chairs and a kettle. The room and halls made us think of a new...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LokiFreya
Manila, Philippines
Reviewed November 12, 2015

Apaliving Hotel is a budget hotel in Basel suited for the thrifty traveler or the weekly commuting business traveler. They have rooms with the Nespresso machine, mini-fridge and hot water pot which allows you to prepare your own meal or snack which is heaven if you've been eating hotel breakfasts for too long. It's a good alternative, staff are friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tgancayco
LeitungApaliving, Geschäftsführer at Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tgancayco! Thanks for that great review! We hope to see you soon again! Kind regards, your Apaliving

Reviewed September 21, 2015

I loved this hotel with the neat, spacious, comfortable rooms. The staff was very helpful with all the information and they are so efficient with informing well in advance about self check ins and check outs. I will highly recommend this hotel for a comfortable stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richa S
LeitungApaliving, Manager at Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richa S! Thank you very much for your great review and for having chosen us! We hope to see you very soon again! Kindest regards, your Apaliving

Rome, Italy
Reviewed August 14, 2015

I like the rooms, nice furnishing And equipped of fridge, nespresso coffee machine, boiler And a choice of tea bags. The problem is that if you arrive after they close the reception And theres a problem you are left to your own. Once the code to get the Key did not work. Rooms are too hot during summer, no air...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LivingDeadMeow
LeitungApaliving, Manager at Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LivingDeadMeow. Thank you for your review! We have removed the wasp's nest immediatly after your notification - thank you! We check our rooms very carefully and we are very sorry that you had this inconvenient. Please also note, that we have a helpline you can call outside our reception opening hours in case you have any trouble. We hope...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed July 26, 2015

The room was very basic, but spotless. It had an Ikea feel about it. I thought it was large enough to hold an aerobics class! Well, not quite, but it was spacious. Nice bathroom with nice towels. When you book, make sure you get your confirmation. It'll have the information you need to get into the hotel and to get...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Wordtech
LeitungApaliving, Manager at Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wordtech. Thanks for your great review and for having chosen us! :-) We hope to see you soon again! Kindest regards, your Apaliving

Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Reviewed January 5, 2015

I book a room today via booking.com and when I click submit. I've just realise that this booking is non-refundable. I immediately try to contact the hotel and ask if they could cancel this booking. btw- I book the hotel 3 months in advance. The receptionist is listen to my request and she said that she will talk to her...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pongpatra P
LeitungApaliving, Manager at Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pongpatra! Thank you for your statement. I am sorry for this unpleasant and awkward situation, but we will find a solution. Please just give consideration that the situation was very confusing due to your several bookings, cancellations and phone calls. I will get in touch with you by e-mail. Thank you for your understanding and kind regards

Villach, Austria
Reviewed December 14, 2014

Just stayed in this hotel to visit the Basel Christmas Market.Room was very clean with excellent bathroom,BUT,the hotel reception does not tell you there is no room service at the weekend.After Friday room cleaning there is no fresh towels or bed making for 2 days and the price is still the same.I did not like the fact that reception closed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iangray13
LeitungApaliving, Manager at Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ian! Thank your for having stayed at our hotel. I very much appreciate your straight forward review and will instantly try to improve our way of informing our guests, so that the expectations meet the reality. Regarding your safety concerns, I wish to point out that the hotel is absolutely safe and that we have more than the minimum...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
St. Alban
ibis budget Basel City
ibis budget Basel City
#31 of 51 in Basel
327 reviews
ibis Basel Bahnhof
#17 of 51 in Basel
846 reviews
Hotel Balegra
#40 of 51 in Basel
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Munchnerhof
#46 of 51 in Basel
35 reviews
Vorstädte
Hotel City Inn
Hotel City Inn
#32 of 51 in Basel
215 reviews
St. Alban
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#43 of 51 in Basel
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
APALIVING offers near the center of Basel a pleasant, quiet living for the best value for money. In a few minutes by bus or tram you are at the train station SBB (2 minutes), in the city center (6 minutes), at the fair (9 minutes) or at the St. Jakob stadium (7 minutes). The stations are two minutes’ walk away from the hotel.180 rooms in two categories are available. Laundry facilities and WIFI access are free of charge. An ironing station can be used during reception opening hours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel

Address: J. J. Balmer-Strasse 1 | 4053 Basel, Basel 4053, Switzerland (Formerly Appartementhaus Gundeli-Park)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Price Range: $91 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appartementhaus Gundeli-Park Hotel Basel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Apaliving Basel - Budget Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Top floors are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles fiftysomething100, Jul 21, 2016 | Read review
“The room I had was an even number with a nice view of a residential, leafy street,”
 of 5 bubbles justalways, May 21, 2016 | Read review
“The room we had was too warm so ask for a cooler room in warm weather”
 of 5 bubbles Syngentian, Nov 22, 2014 | Read review
“Stay on the 6th floor for an awesome view.”
 of 5 bubbles vsomerset, May 25, 2014 | Read review
“The double rooms do not feel quite as basic as the singles”
 of 5 bubbles Timmo_66, Feb 5, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question