We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YMCA Hostel Basel

Gempenstrasse 64 | 4053 Basel, Basel CH-4053, Switzerland
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
YMCA Hostel Basel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

319 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 220: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

bed was very comfortable, staff were friendly, location was good, 5 mins from main station yo get back to airport, close to trams and to centre. showers weren't the nicest, breakfast was limited just bread, cheese and cereal. Lack of communal area, not much atmosphere, but staff were friendly

Helpful?
Thank KatyBear84
Fabian K, Leiter Front Office at YMCA Hostel Basel, responded to this review

Dear KatyBear84, thank you for your review. We are always keen to improving our hostel. Therefore your opinion is much appreciated! Next time you'll visit us we'll have hopefully done some improvements! ;) best regards, Fabian More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The staff were extremely helpful and polite, the rooms modern and spotless. No flaws in this hostel at all, even got a free travel pass. Shared bathrooms were extremely private and spacious, didn't run into another guest in them at anyone time. Free shower wash was also provided.:)

Helpful?
Thank William M
Fabian K, Leiter Front Office at YMCA Hostel Basel, responded to this review

Dear William M, thank you for your review. It is always goof to hear positive feedback! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and you know that you are always welcome! best regards, Fabian More 

Portland, Maine
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is spotless, the employees extremely friendly & helpful, and you get a free-public-transportation to boot. Great value, ideal Location. This is THE niclst Y I have ever seen, in fact to call it a Y would be a disservice. Basel is a LOT of fun and the staff here goes WAY out of their way to help everyone.

Helpful?
Thank sstrand2016
Fabian K, Manager at YMCA Hostel Basel, responded to this review

Dear sstrand2016, thank you so much for your kind words! it was a pleaseure to accommodate you and I hope you will be back soon! Even though our place is not located in the mountains I am happy you found some nice hiking spots ;) Best regards, Fabian More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2016

I arrived at the YMCA HB yesterday after cycling from Strasbourg, France, only to realise on my arrival I had lost my wallet with all my bank cards and cash being with it. As anyone who travels and travels alone will know how stressful it is to loose something as serious as a wallet. Martin was soo helpul, reasurring, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank SAMEHEAD2014
Fabian K, Leiter Front Office at YMCA Hostel Basel, responded to this review

Dear SAMEHEAD2014, thank you for your lovely review. I fully understand how stressful such a situation is. Though I am glad to read that our receptionist was very helpful. It is our idea to provide a good guest services at any time! Hopefully, you could resolve all the issues in the meantime. We will try to provide you with an... More 

HK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

Every accommodation in Switzerland is expensive so this hostel is reasonable in price. Staffs are helpful. Room was clean. In the booking, it says breakfast is not included but they actually provide bread and coffee in the morning, which was a bonus. The only problem I had was uni-sex shower place -- A man shouted at me from my back... More 

Helpful?
Thank HkCurrywurst
Fabian K, Leiter Front Office at YMCA Hostel Basel, responded to this review

Dear HkCurrywurst, thank you very much for your feedback. I am glad to read that you were happy with our breakfast option. This is the experience we want to provide to our guests! The incident in the shower is obviously far from good. I am sorry that you had to experience something like this. In any case I hope we... More 

Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2016

The room is not a fancy one, but enough to get some sleep, advantages of this place are: big dining room in which you can work and take a long coffee break, big kitchen, free coffee machine, tea and basic breakfast included. Also good free wifi and a very nice quite location near the railway station. You will get a... More 

Helpful?
Thank RedRidingReaper
Fabian K, Leiter Front Office at YMCA Hostel Basel, responded to this review

Dear RedRidingReaper, thank you for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully, soon again we will be able to accommodate you! Have a good time, best regards, Fabian More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2016

booking number : 14724123822 I stayed in this hostel for 1 night of 05.01.2016. I booked this night via expedia.fr. This booking was fully charged from my credit card a day before arrival.Upon arrival to hostel, I have informed guy on the reception that my booking was fully paid therefore I should not be charged. He insisted that this never... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Alex F
Fabian K, Leiter Front Office at YMCA Hostel Basel, responded to this review

Dear Alex F, thank you for your review! First and foremost I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Second, I want to apologize for the confusion regarding your payment. It certainly is not a good business opportunity as we refunded you the wrongly charged amount in full and both parties had to face inconveniences. It is important... More 

London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2016

This place was great. Very close to the centre of Basel - just behind the train station - and in a quiet street. Large, well-equipped kitchen for guests to use and huge dining and breakout area. My room - a dorm - was quiet, clean, comfy and warm. Had a big locker and was given a key (so didn't have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tabitha-Traveller
Fabian K, Leiter Front Office at YMCA Hostel Basel, responded to this review

Dear Tabitha-Traveller, thank you for your kind words! Hopefully we will get a chance to catch up again, you are always welcome here with us! Best regards, Fabian More 

Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2016 via mobile

Great location as the street where the hostel is on is opposite the newer part of Basel station. If you get here on the 50 bus from euro airport. Enter the station and go up the escalators and walk in a straight line before exiting. Gempenstrasse is almost opposite on the right side. The place is clean with kitchen facilities.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
Fabian K, Leiter Front Office at YMCA Hostel Basel, responded to this review

Dear Robert W, thank you very much for your review! It was our pleasure to accommodate you and hopefully we can welcome you again at our hostel! With best regards, Fabian More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2016 via mobile

The hostel itself is well kept, clean and all. But the breakfast offered is juice with a croissant and a small bread piece nothing more. The hostel says they give free access to wifi but the truth is it does not work and never lets you connect. The showers look extremely bad and unclean. Overall not worth a visit for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kuba O
Fabian K, Leiter Front Office at YMCA Hostel Basel, responded to this review

Dear Kuba O, thank you for your feedback. Kindly note that officially we do not offer any breakfast at all, what we serve in the morning is complimentary and meant as a plesant surprise. If you want to have a full breakfast we cannot offer that. Usually, our wi-fi works fine, though we are aware that during your stay we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Basel hotels
ibis Basel Bahnhof
#14 of 50 in Basel
4.0 of 5 stars 745 reviews
St. Alban
ibis budget Basel City
ibis budget Basel City
#31 of 50 in Basel
3.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Basel
#4 of 50 in Basel
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#8 of 50 in Basel
4.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come here to rest. The YMCA Hostel Basel is only about three hundred metres from the Gundeldingen exit of the Basel SBB station, tucked away in a quiet side street with a courtyard garden. The YMCA Hostel offers 150 beds in 43 single, double and shared rooms. The hostel is suitable for families and groups. The whole building is non-smoking, but smoking is permitted in the courtyard garden. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YMCA Hostel Basel

Address: Gempenstrasse 64 | 4053 Basel, Basel CH-4053, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Price Range: $53 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — YMCA Hostel Basel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HRS, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your YMCA Hostel Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca Hostel Basel Hotel Basel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay