We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Il Palazzo

Traveler (73)
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (4)


Hotel Il Palazzo is set in the left wing of Palazzo Bartocci Fontana, a 16-th century building halfway between Assisi's Basilica of Saint Francis and Piazza del Comune square. The building has been completely renovated in October 2017. Rooms offer free Wi-Fi. Some rooms on the 3rd floor offer views on the rooftops and the Umbria Valley. Il Palazzo's breakfast room feature original vaulted ceilings, stone walls, and striking modern decorations. Breakfast is buffet style.
Read more
Property amenities
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Airport Transportation
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Room features
Accessible rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
6Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 71
  • 16
  • 3
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This hotel has recently had a very nice upgrade. Everything looks very new and clean. Very close and easy walk to all the restaurants and wine tasting spots. Everything from the hotel is walkable as long as you don’t mind hills!
Read more
We had wonderful time, our stay in Assisi was fantastic. Our room, the 303 has a fantastic sunset view in the evening and beautiful sunrise view as well in the morning. Lovely! Nice staff, good breakfast, clean room! Thanks!
Read more
We are planning a 3 day stay in Assisi in March and read the excellent reviews of the hotel. Posted on their website was an offer of a 3rd night at 50% off. We then began what I can only say was a remarkable email exchange - we were (rudely) told there was no offer, we said it
Read more
Response from MicheleS4972, Direttore at Hotel Il Palazzo
Responded Jan 14, 2019
Dear Mrs. Burke. I gladly respond to your comment. First of all, I’d like to reassure you that the additional 50% discount to the price of the third night we offered you (a price that was already discounted with our promotion “minimum stay 3 nights” ) was not given in response to your veiled threat to write to Trip Advisor, but because of your determination to obtain an ulterior reduction of an already discounted room rate. I can also assure you that the symbol with the wording “Spring promotion” (by the way, at least in Italy, Spring begins on March 21 and not March 11), left erroneously and in good faith in the template by the web master, was not active and has never been so, also because otherwise you would have been able to make your reservation from there. In a year of activity, no other client has ever misinterpreted this and requested a similar double discount. I remind you that after you pointed this anomaly out to us we immediately eliminated the button/it to avoid further misunderstandings and we even thanked you for informing us of its existence. I am sorry if I have upset you by not proposing an additional discount at your initial request, but during the reservation process on the final page where you find the wording “ COMPLETE THE RESERVATION ” a summary is given with the final price clearly and unequivocally written and upon clicking “RESERVE NOW” you accept the conditions established, including the price. Therefore if you had any doubts you could always have either telephoned or written an e-mail for clarification, certainly not by merely writing a telegraphic “we ask for the promotion of 50% discount on the third night” in the notes. To which we replied - not “rudely” but equally telegraphically - “Dear sir, we are not offering a 50% discount on the third night, I do not understand where you found this information, cordially Michele.” Finally, given that the price was not acceptable to you, (since it is a cancellable rate) you have been able to cancel without penalty. There has been absolutely no problem in this regard! I am only sorry that you are unwilling to accept even the final offer; to date there have not been any guests who have found their a stay in our hotel to be anything less than a pleasant experience and I am sure that you would have been quite at your ease. Nevertheless, everyone is free to decide for themselves and to express their own ideas, however debateable. Wishing you a happy new year full of positivity and serenity, Sincerely, Michele
Read more
A really charming small hotel (around 10 rooms) with a great location in the centre of Assisi. Our room was spotless, with a great view, and Michael, the manager, was a star. Incredibly helpful, and really knowledgeable about the town, he gave us some great recommendations.
Read more
Response from MicheleS4972, Direttore at Hotel Il Palazzo
Responded Jan 14, 2019
Dear Sir, thanks for your comment, I hope to see you again, yours sincerely, Michele
Read more
Staying here is like being a resident in the town. With a perfect location on the main street for the main attractions, you are mid-way between the ancient Forum and Santa Chiara on one end of town, and the Basilica of St. Francis on the other without being too close to the
Read more
Response from MicheleS4972, Direttore at Hotel Il Palazzo
Responded Jan 14, 2019
Dear Madame, thank you for your comment, yours sincerely, Michele
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining
Photo provided by managementHotel Il Palazzo
Camera Matrimoniale Classic
Photo provided by managementHotel Il Palazzo
Dear Sir there are a couple of parkings closeby the hotel (5 minutes walking). My suggestion is to come to the entrance of the hotel to unload the luggage and then we will show you tha way to reach the closest parking, yours sincerely, Michele
1 vote
Show all answers
"303 the best view ever!"
"Room 2 is great!"
"Take a taxi from the station straight to the front door of the hotel. Very convenient and affordable to do so."
"Get a superior room. It is worth the cost."
"There is no such thing as a 'bad room,' at Hotel Il Palazzo"
$80 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ItalyUmbriaProvince of PerugiaAssisi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing