We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (1644)
Room & Suite (917)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#11 of 38 hotels in Siena
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.5
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Hotel Athena is located in the historical centre of Siena at five minutes walking from the principal attrastions of the city (300metres far from the Cathedral, 500 metres far from Campo square). Easily reachable by car from San Marco gate getting the exit of Siena Ovest with private and guaranteed parking & garage. The hotel offers a panoramic view over the Tuscan hills from its terrace and from Deluxe & Executive rooms. The restaurant offers a typical Sienese cuisine every day, while in the morning, the rich breakfast American buffet is always included in the room rate until 11am. Our multilanguage staff is always available to give tips, suggestions and book tours and tickets.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Paid private parking nearby
Parking garage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Rooftop bar
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles4,507 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
Hotel Athena garners high praise for its meticulous cleanliness and prime location, with guests frequently mentioning the ease of accessing the city's attractions. The atmosphere of the hotel is generally appreciated, with comfortable beds enhancing the stay, despite some remarks about dated decor and noise. While the hotel's amenities, including a rooftop terrace and breakfast selection, are well-received, a few visitors have pointed out shortcomings like weak shower pressure. Opinions on the rooms and value offered are mixed; some guests find the rooms spacious and the hotel well-priced, yet others report cramped conditions and question the additional costs relative to the service received. Service staff often receive compliments for their attentiveness, although a few guests have faced inconveniences such as spotty Wi-Fi and parking issues.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Elegant
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
4,507Reviews57Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,695
  • 1,326
  • 331
  • 82
  • 73
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
jmlange wrote a review Mar 2024
Draper, Utah10 contributions2 helpful votes
I am so glad we booked our stay in Siena at the Hotel Athena! The hotel, which is located just inside one of the main city gates, is conveniently located a short walk from the main sights of Siena. The hotel itself is completely full service, and everything was so well cared for and clean. Our room for 3 was spacious, with great beds and a full-size bath. The upstairs terrace also has an amazing view of the Tuscan countryside — I just wish we had more time to enjoy it. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
L B wrote a review Oct 2023
Tinton Falls, New Jersey777 contributions129 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again. Room was clean and comfortable and of a good size. Parking came with the room however be warned that it can get crowded and difficult to get in and out. The parking is outside the controlled zone, ZTL, so that was nice. It was a short walk to the Duomo and the center of the historic district. The included buffet breakfast was good. The had lots of meats plus scrambled eggs and various pastries and yogurt. There is a terrace bar that opens up in the evening that was very nice. It turns into a so-so restaurant at night. There is one thing, the bill had a charge for Varie Al 10% that I am not sure about. We left before I noticed it so I am going to assume it was correct.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
whitestole wrote a review Jan 2024
Lowell, Massachusetts12 contributions2 helpful votes
Beautiful clean room, comfortable bed, beautiful view, professional friendly staff, elegant hotel. The breakfast buffet was the best I’ve ever enjoyed. Delicious and great variety. We also had dinner in the hotel restaurant the first night, and it was terrific. Easy to walk to all the sites in Siena. my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Meme2Bristol wrote a review Jan 2024
Bristol15 contributions14 helpful votes
The staff are the most welcoming we have experienced anywhere. The hotel was warm and the rooms extremely comfortable. Wonderful to have a bath after a long journey. The food was exceptional, the choice at breakfast amazing. We will definitely go back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Best way to reach the Hotel is via the Saint Marco gate and turn immediately left the hotel is on...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
ggabi wrote a review Dec 2023
Romania487 contributions237 helpful votes
This hotel is located within walking distance from the main attractions of Siena, still not really close to them. Got an upgrade for my room, had a very good dinner, an excellent sleep and a good breakfast. The place is old but kept in a very good shape. I interacted with many of the hotel's staff, they were nice and professional. Would come back here anytime! Parking might be an issue, I arrived late, tried for about 20 minutes to find a spot, then decided to go around the hotel only to find the reception which was located on the 5th floor, on an upper street. Problem solved next minute, the bell boy took care of parking my car and bringing the key back to the reception. If I only know this upfront...
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
ΕΙΡΗΝΗ Β wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution2 helpful votes
I am still here at this beautiful hotel and I only have to say I couldn't have found a better place for my stay. Clean very good service the best breakfast and the receptionists very kind. Thank you very much
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Scarlettraveller wrote a review Nov 2023
Brisbane, Australia63 contributions18 helpful votes
This hotel is very nice. Rooms are spacious and bathrooms sufficient and clean. They give you water each day for free which is nice especially since it was still hot when we were there. The hotel is located just outside of the city centre and is a short walk away from everything you might want to see. We went to their restaurant for dinner one night and definitely DO NOT recommend it. You can get cheaper and better food 5 minutes away.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rebecca C wrote a review Oct 2023
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Great location, short walk to the il campo, restaurants and shops. Rooms were spacious and clean. Reasonably priced. Staff were amazing, so friendly and helpful, always happy to assist. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
eliz H wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
good room and hotel ambitious is good The only defect is staff only one person. the reception staff (long ponytail young man) is unfriending, Rude and unable to assist customers in difficult situations he is inexperienced and has rude manners to the clients
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Athena, Proprietario at Hotel Athena
Responded Nov 7, 2023
Thank you for your feedback, I would like to introduce myself as you mentioned quite a lot about the person you are talking about. My name is Francesco and I am working at the Reception (the young man with ponytail). It is a pleasure to me to reply to your review, and we must admit that my staff and I felt a bit surprised after reading your review, as you have mentioned nothing about your staying in our beautiful property but you immediately vented something happened with someone of the staff. We would really appreciate if you could provide us further details regarding your staying in our Hotel, because your review does not help us to understand what actually happened in order to say that you had such a bad experience and it does not help us to improve ourselves. When did you join our property? Could you kindly tell us which room did you have during your staying and why didn't you promptly warn us about it? As you can read in all our guests reviews, they always mention how wonderfully spend their staying with us and how well and pampered are treated by all our staff. This is our everyday own goal since is very important to us to act with others as we would like to be treated and we are always ready to kindly assist our guests in whaterver they need. Passion for customer support is what leads our staff in doing this job. As we are almost sure you have misunderstood Hotel to review, probably meaning another person in another property, and that the person you mentioned have never spoken with you (since we are not able to see your name in our system), please feel free to contact at francesco@hotelathena.com in order to explain better about what did not make your staying a good one. Looking forward to welcoming you again as our guest, we send you our best regards.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
GrandTour759641 wrote a review Oct 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
On the day of checkout, my father had to have an ambulance called at 6am to take him to the hospital for complications with Parkinson’s. The staff helped us call one but we’re more concerned about our room charges. After spending the day at the hospital, we still wanted to check out that afternoon as we are trying to change airline flights for health reasons. They insisted on charging us full price for both rooms even though they had been cleaned and not used. The excuse given was that they were “expensive rooms” yet the hotel was not full. Extremely disappointing as we have stayed at the property multiple times and has taken our families there for the first time. Rooms and facilities have not been updated since our last visit five years ago and given this experience we will not be back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelAthena Siena, Altro at Hotel Athena
Responded Oct 12, 2023
Dear Gandy Family, hopefully you will not mind if we add the details you haven't included in your review. the morning your father was at the hospital we asked you whether you needed the rooms for another night, then you later called us in order to confirm your willingness to exend your stay another night for both rooms. At the Hotel Athena check out is at 12:00, you admit that you wanted to check out "in the afternoon" however we would like to clarify that what you call afternoon is actually 6 pm (we have records). We believe to be speaking from authority: you will not find a Hotel that will allow you to check out six hours after the usual time with no further charge. This might come in handy in the future. Best regards The Staff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Siena area.
PRICE RANGE
$140 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
athena hotel siena
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of SienaSiena
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL ATHENA $155 ($̶1̶7̶6̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews - Siena, Italy

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Athena
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Athena?
Nearby attractions include Duomo di Siena (0.3 miles), Centro Storico di Siena (0.3 miles), and Complesso Museale Santa Maria della Scala (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Athena?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Athena?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Athena?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Athena?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Athena?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pizzeria Gurgu Kebab, La Piccola Ciaccineria, and Blandis Cafè & Wine Bar.
Is Hotel Athena located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Siena.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Athena?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Athena offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Athena?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Athena?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Centro Storico di Siena (0.3 miles), Battistero di San Giovanni (0.3 miles), and Basilica di San Francesco (0.7 miles).