We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Aia Mattonata Relais

Travelers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Aia Mattonata Relais
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

651 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Aia Mattonata Relais
See the most recent reviews
Showing 477: English reviews
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed September 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in early August and had such a wonderful experience, made all the more memorable by Mario and Elizabetta, Victorio, Bruna and Stephano (and Runa!) They could not have been more helpful and genuinely did all they could to make our stay as wonderful as possible. The package they organized for us for the Palio...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meg B
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review

Dear Meg B, thank you for taking the time to post your lovely feedback. We are grateful for your kind words about us and our staff ( including Runa!). We are so glad to hear that you loved Tuscany, our packages for the Palio Race and ….the panzanella. We hope you will always have good memories of your trip in...

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed September 4, 2014 via mobile

We have unfortunately only been here for one day but will stay longer on our next trip. The hosts are extremely friend kit and helpful. They recommended tips for our ongoing trip which have all been perfect. Especially a very nice restaurant called il pozze further south in Tuscany. The hotel has only a hand full of rooms which gives...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bummelpeter
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review

Dear Bummelpeter, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the view and that you found our advices useful. We do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in Siena, for a longer stay! Warm regards, Elisabetta & Mario

Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Everything so perfect, personal care from owners, nice pool with amazing view to Siena, designed rooms, free minibar, tasty breakfest with endless options. The details decided - it´s difficult describe how perfectly the Elisabetta and Mario think and seek for your satisfaction.Everything is solved befor you would even get idea to ask for it :-) Forget the rudy staff in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pavel R
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review

Dear Pavel R, thank you so much for your very positive feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our little gem, our breakfast, the gardens and the pool, the view, thanks again. We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at Aia Mattonata . Grazie e arrivederci! Elisabetta & Mario

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed August 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for only one night cause originally Siena was not one of the destinations on our list. But It was highly recommended by the travelers we met in Rome, so we decided to check it out. Now we regret that we couldn't stay longer. LOL I found Aia on Tripadvisor and contacted the owner the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AmberSunshine
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review

Dear Amber and Criss, thank you so much for your wonderful comment about your - short :( - stay with us. Mario, I and all the staff very much look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit for a longer stay! Warm regards, Elisabetta & Mario

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Absolutely wonderful B&B in Tuscany, outside of Siena, wonderful views, amazing room and villa! All of the excellent reviews are 100% true! Mario and Elisibetta are amazing hosts and immediately make you feel like family. We were only able to stay for one night, but we tried to add a second night to our stay, unfortunately for us they were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nate p
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review

Dear nate p, thank you for your review which means a lot to us. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we thank you so much for the beautiful words. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit in Siena, for a longer stay! Warm regards Mario & Elisabetta

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We had a brilliant three night stay at Aia Mattonata. We had the pleasure of being able to stay in two different rooms and were just sad that it went so quickly! Elizabetta welcomed us in the car park and made us feel instantly at home and that was the theme of our stay. Breakfasts were delicious; lovely selections of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Victoria S
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review

Dear Victoria S, thank you so much for your positive review and for your kind words. We are delighted that we have been able to let you feel like at home. It is very important for us. So nice to hear that you enjoyed the two rooms, our breakfast, the view of Siena from the garden and that you will...

Brisbane
Reviewed August 20, 2014

My sister and I had the pleasure of staying in this magnificent establishment for four blissful nights. We choose it simply because of all the stunning reviews on TripAdvisor - and they were 100% spot on. We had just spent 2 nights right in the heart of Siena (which we loved too) but to come out to this paradise was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bianca S
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review

Dear Bianca S, thank you for your positive review on the site, so nice to hear that you had enjoyable stay with us and that you recommend Aia Mattonata. Thank you for posting your pictures on Facebook, we will be very glad to welcome all your friends!! Of course we hope we will have the pleasure of meeting you again...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We booked a 3 night stay in this relais after reading so many positive reviews on TA. We were not disapointed! The place is spotless, our hosts Mario and Elizabetta are attentive,helpfull and made sure that everymorning as we were getting ready to explore the surroundings, we were equiped with maps, suggestion of restaurants, point of interests (beautiful little towns...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chantal B
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review

Dear Paul and Chantal, thank you for taking the time to post your beautiful feedback following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you were not disappointed and that you liked our breakfast. Nice to hear that our advices were useful and that we made the difference. Thank you again! We hope we will meet you...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed August 13, 2014

All the rave reviews about this place are spot on - this is a beautifully done up villa ( a lot of love and meticulous thought has gone into this place) about 3 miles from the old town of Sienna. Being driven up to it in a taxi we saw the place and said, this has got to be the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leigh C
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review

Dear Leigh C, thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and for your detailed account of your stay at Aia Mattonata. All the information about your room and about our services are very important for the site’s users. Our aim is always to exceed expectations of our guests and we are so happy when we hear that you were...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon. Not only is the relais simply stunning with the most amazing view of Siena, the service from both Mario and Elizabetta was above and beyond. They went out of thier way to make us welcome, dropping us into town at night, suggesting places to go and even bought us a little honeymoon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalie B
Mario_Olivo, Proprietario at Aia Mattonata Relais, responded to this review

Dear NatalieB we very much appreciate you taking the time to post your review on the site, it is very important for us. So nice to read that you had a very special experience with us on your very special occasion, it was our great pleasure taking care of you. All the best for your future, we look forward to...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

545 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (311)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (146)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (208)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Girasole Room (29)
Viewed
La Calla Suite (31)
Viewed
La Salvia Room (22)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)
Viewed
Ulivo Room (18)
Viewed
Uva Room (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.5 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
611 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,318 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
2,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
1.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#4 of 40 in Siena
697 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villa Scacciapensieri
Villa Scacciapensieri
#10 of 40 in Siena
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Aia Mattonata Relais

Address: Strada del Ceraiolo 1, 53100, Siena, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Price Range: $168 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Aia Mattonata Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aia Mattonata Relais Hotel Siena
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Siena
#2 Family Hotel in Siena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Aia Mattonata Relais staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Aia Mattonata Relais staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The most beatiful place in Tuscany”
 of 5 bubbles sergiomH3663FH, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“All of the rooms are great!”
 of 5 bubbles GDM01, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“All rooms equally lovely”
 of 5 bubbles isabelh858, Oct 16, 2016 | Read review
“There are no bad rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles LJW755, Sep 20, 2016 | Read review
“There are no bad rooms - you can't go wrong staying here.”
 of 5 bubbles davisten, Sep 11, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay