We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Martelli Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Martelli Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

554 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 189: English reviews
Start your review of Martelli Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The room we got was not all good. Washroom was smaller than my office cubicle. So small thay you could just stand. And room heater was not working during winter!! Can u imagine how we survived and over that no one cared about all this even if we tell at reception. Reception staff guy was rude and not friendly at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shekhil H
hotel martelli h, Proprietario at Martelli Hotel, responded to this review

Sincerelly i don't agree with your comment.I I cannot find it true.That's all i can answer to such an unpolite description of my staff and my hotel

Reviewed January 11, 2017 via mobile

Heaters didn't work and only 2 thin wool blankets were supplied, we asked for extra blankets as they couldn't fix the heaters and we were supplied with one extra blanket. Didn't sleep the entire stay. Could hear every time the neighbouring room went to the bathroom, would only recommend for location if you need something central.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisa c
Lismore, Australia
Reviewed November 15, 2016

We had previously stayed here in 2008 for 3 nights and liked the hotel and the location, so decided to return this year for another 3 nights. Unfortunately things are different now. I requested the same room, as it was large with a balcony. We were given that same room, but it now has rotting floorboards just outside the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn A
Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 12, 2016

A real 'Gem', albeit my first review, but previous visits confirm it is a lovely Hotel, in a good central position for the City as a whole, the balance being the wonderful staff, with adequate 'Continental' breakfast and the delightful 'Maria' (And colleague) in the dining room. The reception and other staff are also worth a mention, as always very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jm044
Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewed November 2, 2016

In the magic city of Florence Hotel Martelli is equally impressive, considering design and place. Great place, near railway station and near all the main sights of Florence. You can go everywhere by walking. Very small single room, difficult to move in it and even smaller shower. There isn't a shower cabin and this makes everything wet. You barely can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evi K
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 30, 2016

Good central location, few minutes walk from airport bus which terminates by the main station. Reception staff were a tad grumpy. No receipt given for tourist tax, which had to be paid in cash. Being built around a courtyard the bedrooms are randomly scattered. Took us more than one go to find our room, easier using stairs than lifts! Room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ironingqueen54
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed October 24, 2016

Every important place is so near so the location is perfect. The room wasn't the best, but it had a good atmosphere. Wifi was only available at the breakfast room, but we were lucky, because our room wasn't far from there (2016 february) We loved the hotel, it's like a labyrinth.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Péter K
Jounieh, Lebanon
Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 4 days with my friend. Perfect location..4 min walk from train station, 5 min walk from the farthest place u need to go. Didn't take a taxi or a bus cause there was no need to. Friendly staff, family business. The room was sufficient, we didn't stay in ot for long. Overall it was great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 94tracy94
Moreton, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 20, 2016

Positives:The room was clean and basic, the shower and bath was good. Had a TV. Negatives:Wifi worked about 10% of times. The mini fridge did not chill. Limited power sockets. The loo had a loud noise after each flush. Receptionist wasn't too informing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
Bangalore
Reviewed October 13, 2016

Visited this place in Aug 2015...I know it is a late review, but better late than never....Stunning room....the moment I entered the room after a long walk from the train station, I could not take away my eyes from the architecture and the room decor....excellent breakfast and finally...location....location.....location They also allowed us to store our luggage for half a day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chandrasekar L
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

203 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (179)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
San Giorgio e Olimpic
San Giorgio e Olimpic
#236 of 421 in Florence
603 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#338 of 421 in Florence
337 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Delle Tele
Hotel Delle Tele
#227 of 421 in Florence
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Unicorno
Unicorno
#130 of 421 in Florence
566 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#124 of 421 in Florence
1,336 reviews
San Lorenzo
Galileo Hotel
Galileo Hotel
#235 of 421 in Florence
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in San Lorenzo

Neighborhood Profile
San Lorenzo
San Lorenzo’s lively merchants shout out from behind stalls with an array of products in one of the most traditional neighborhoods in Florence. Different ethnic groups join together in the large outdoor market of San Lorenzo and in the Central Market, a vast multi-floored building. Visitors are bound to fall in love with this area and in particular, with its variety of food, especially those focusing on Florentine dishes as well as international selections. Nobody leaves San Lorenzo without a shopping bag in hand or with an empty stomach.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A lovely hotel with great character and warm welcome in the heart of Florence only a few steps away from Duomo and the railway station of Santa Maria Novella. Hotel Martelli is one of the few hotels that retains the typical Renaissance atmosphere of the past. Previously owned by the legendary Medici dynasty, the hotel offers refined ornaments such as frescoes, antique furnishings and accessories that complete the high ceilings, a characteristic of the years of Florence’s splendor. The hotel offers a warm and friendly service, privacy, security as well as a helpful staff that could advise you on the best way to visit this beautiful city. Each room is equipped with air conditioning, heating, desk, telephone, TV sat, minibar and private bathroom with toiletries. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Martelli Hotel

Address: Via Panzani 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Price Range: $68 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Martelli Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Martelli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martelli Hotel Florence
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Martelli Hotel staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Milford Michigan USA

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Martelli Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms (we have used many), have their own character and we have found them all to be fully acceptable.”
 of 5 bubbles jm044, Nov 12, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms around 50/54 are close to WiFi hotspot.”
 of 5 bubbles Ironingqueen54, Oct 30, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on a lower floor; the upper rooms are a LONG way from the door.”
 of 5 bubbles nebtraveler2016, Jul 20, 2016 | Read review
“Try Another Hotel First; if you find yourself here though, insist on a GPS to help you find your room”
 of 5 bubbles 722gastonw, Jun 4, 2016 | Read review
“frescoed ceilling ones are very particular”
 of 5 bubbles kikkir2016, May 10, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question