We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Martelli Hotel

Via Panzani 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Martelli Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

481 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 168: English reviews
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We chose the hotel because of the price, location and WiFi available. The room, the breakfast and the athmosphere were good in the hotel, but we missed the WiFi. I was only once able to access the Network in the front of the lift door, which was a shame as there was promise that there is a functional network in... More 

Helpful?
Thank teegeevee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Booked this for a few nights just before new years. I don't remember what site, but much better rate than the one offered through the hotel. So, check internet sites for the best rates. If you are in Florence this is a GREAT location. Probably less than 1/4 mile from Duomo... GO TO DUOMO!... You can walk from this hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eldredge W
hotel martelli h, Proprietario at Martelli Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing us and thanks fro sharing yor experience on this website. Hope to have you back as soon as possible kindest rergards Francesca More 

Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We loved the location of Martelli Hotel, between Santa Maria Novella and the Duomo. But the room we had some issues. The air conditioning performed so poorly in the July heat that we opened the windows on a hot summer night to get fresh air. The bathroom was so narrow you had to stand in the hallway to rinse your... More 

Helpful?
Thank nebtraveler2016
hotel martelli h, Proprietario at Martelli Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing us.Your comment always help us to give a better service.Sorry if something was not of your complete satisfaction Kind regards Francesca More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I will start by saying this is our 4th hotel in Europe. Just slightly below average in accommodations, ranking below our hotels in Lyon and Rome. We paid more in Rome but less in Lyon. This more or less meets our expectations for the price, with the exception that the other hotels did not mislead us about their provisions. Free... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elliot D
hotel martelli h, Proprietario at Martelli Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning from hotel Martelli, sorry if your stay was not as good as you supposed it to be. Your comment help us to give a beter service to all our guests regards Francesca More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The accommodation was basic. The bathroom was terrible with a shower over a bath with no curtain or screen. Wifi service was poor. Staff were not friendly. The only good thing about the hotel was its location not far from the Duomo.

Helpful?
Thank linda b
hotel martelli h, Proprietario at Martelli Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry if your stay did not matched your expectations.Your comments help us to improve the service and make us reflect. Best regards Francesca More 

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived by train and the hotel is five minutes away in a straight shot. The staff were friendly and helpful and there was a nice breakfast. Location was great - in less than five minutes we were at the Duomo. They don't have wifi in all rooms. We were told our room didn't have it, we were able to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hafa44
hotel martelli h, Proprietario at Martelli Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing Hotel Martelli.Glad you had a good time. Sorry if the air conditioning did not seem cold enough. your comments will always help kindest regards Francesca More 

hurstpierpoint
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very close to Florence S.M.N train station so an easy 10 minute walk with the suitcases and no need for a taxi. Similarly close to the centre a mere few hundred metres from the Duomo. Very friendly and professional staff. The hotel has an usual layout that required using two different lifts but once the suitcases were deposited just as... More 

Helpful?
Thank annette s
hotel martelli h, Proprietario at Martelli Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comment and thanks for choosing Hotel Martelli. We are glad you apreciate your stay and our quality. We really hope to have you back soon Kindest regards Francesca More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

We stayed here for 4 nights in May for about $100 per night. We stayed in one of the better rooms, on the top floor of the hotel. This is not a typical modern hotel. There is no real lobby area and it is quite dated / feels more like an old apartment building than a hotel. Let's start with... More 

Helpful?
Thank NYCtravels84
hotel martelli h, Proprietario at Martelli Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing Hotel Martelli.Generally our guest apreciate a hard bed as it guarantees a good rest!Sorry if you were not able to enter the wi fi it generally works very well.We apreciate your comment as it is precious to give a better service to all our guests! Take the opportunity to send kindest regards Francesca More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

PROS: - Easy access from train station - Close to a good place to get coffee in the morning CONS - Our room was constantly hot with no way to adjust the A/C - upon checking in with our group, we asked for a small refrigerator to house medication and the rude desk clerk simply said, "Most of our guest... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gaston W
hotel martelli h, Proprietario at Martelli Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning and thank you for choosing us. I'm sorry if the receptionist did not meet his expectations (for sure i'll investigate on it), but it seems very strange as all the things that you asked were available and we do not have reasons for not satisfy your request... it's our job.The works that have given you discomfort are not... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

I must admit we were a little wary about booking this hotel given some of the reviews here on this website… However, we needn’t have been alarmed, everything was fine from the hotel’s wonderful location – only 5 minute walk from florence Cathedral – to the buffet breakfast which is served in a spacious vaulted room on the first floor... More 

Helpful?
Thank mrsimonjolley
hotel martelli h, Proprietario at Martelli Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing us your comment is precious!So happy you've had a nice stay at the Martelli. We hope to welcome you again Kindest regards Francesca More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

166 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (142)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
San Giorgio e Olimpic
San Giorgio e Olimpic
#237 of 422 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 527 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#332 of 422 in Florence
3.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Alinari
Hotel Alinari
#338 of 422 in Florence
3.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Unicorno
Unicorno
#130 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Delle Tele
Hotel Delle Tele
#204 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#127 of 422 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in San Lorenzo

Neighborhood Profile
San Lorenzo
San Lorenzo’s lively merchants shout out from behind stalls with an array of products in one of the most traditional neighborhoods in Florence. Different ethnic groups join together in the large outdoor market of San Lorenzo and in the Central Market, a vast multi-floored building. Visitors are bound to fall in love with this area and in particular, with its variety of food, especially those focusing on Florentine dishes as well as international selections. Nobody leaves San Lorenzo without a shopping bag in hand or with an empty stomach.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A lovely hotel with great character and warm welcome in the heart of Florence only a few steps away from Duomo and the railway station of Santa Maria Novella. Hotel Martelli is one of the few hotels that retains the typical Renaissance atmosphere of the past. Previously owned by the legendary Medici dynasty, the hotel offers refined ornaments such as frescoes, antique furnishings and accessories that complete the high ceilings, a characteristic of the years of Florence’s splendor. The hotel offers a warm and friendly service, privacy, security as well as a helpful staff that could advise you on the best way to visit this beautiful city. Each room is equipped with air conditioning, heating, desk, telephone, TV sat, minibar and private bathroom with toiletries. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Martelli Hotel

Address: Via Panzani 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Price Range: $73 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Martelli Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Martelli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martelli Hotel Florence
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay