We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Via della Scala 33, 50123, Florence Italy
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$196
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/11/22
Expedia.com
$196
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/14/22
Trip.com
$167
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/15/22
Hotels.com$196
Priceline$190
Hurb$231
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (716)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (564)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/01/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Updated 07/01/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#113 of 430 hotels in Florence
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.5
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
Located in the old town of Florence, the Rivoli Boutique Hotel offers class hospitality with charm, as well as spacious and elegantly decorated hotel rooms and suites. The Rivoli Boutique Hotel is a 4-star superior hotel that is set inside a restored 14th-century Franciscan convent, where guests can breath the charming and unique atmosphere of this ancient historic building in the city of Florence. The restoration has highlighted the architectural details dating back to 1500 such as arches and vaults, coffered ceilings and stone columns. Guests are welcomed in an enchanting setting full of cozy atmosphere, embellished by refined common areas, which are conceived as an oasis of tranquility away from the hectic pace of the city. The Internal Patio, which was obtained from a complete renovation of the Franciscan cloister, is now dedicated to relaxation and wellbeing, featuring an unforgettable 20 sqm-whirlpool that is also open during the winter with a constant water temperature of 36° C. The location could not be better, a few steps from the Santa Maria Novella railway station, the Duomo Cathedral, Ponte Vecchio Bridge, opposite the ancient and famous Officina Profumo di Santa Maria Novella, and the most important museums. In addition to the interior elegant and spacious patio, the Rivoli Boutique Hotel guests can enjoy the quiteness of the small "garden of medlar", an exceptional lounge where to spend moments of real relax; in summer time the garden is available for breakfast and dinners prepared and served by Benedicta Restaurant , 3 Michelin forks.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
272Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
111Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
2127Reviews39Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,067
  • 778
  • 198
  • 49
  • 35
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
brucewillisskypee wrote a review Sep 2022
Albany, New York38 contributions14 helpful votes
Our family was pleased with this hotel. the hotel is located close to the train station and walking distance to many restaurants. The staff couldn’t have been more accomadating and pleasant. We enjoyed breakfast each morning outside and two of the nights we had drinks from the bar to sit outside and unwind. Keep in mind this hotel describes itself as a renovated 14th-century Franciscan convent so if you are looking for a modern style hotel this would not be your best option. We liked the charm and feel of the hotel for Florence.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kathy H wrote a review Sep 2022
3 contributions
We were very disappointed in the room for our three night stay. The bathtub needs to be recaulked, furniture is beat up, carpet seams in hall are separated. Bottled water was not replenished or brought to our room when requested. The lobby areas are attractive and breakfast was fine. For a hotel in Tuscany, real wine glasses and water glasses should be in rooms, not disposable cups or plastic IKEA mugs. We are sorry our travel agent booked this for us.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Travel Expert wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions4 helpful votes
So there is only 1 complimentary 0.5 litre water bottle between 2 sharers. Wait for it .... it’s only for the first night after that you pay for the water bottles. Water bottles worth 0.5 euro in shops you have to pay for after 2nd and 3rd night where you have spent over 800 euros for the 3 days !! They can’t even provide complimentary water over those days They won’t tell you what’s free and what’s not free eg tea and coffee ( which most places do for free). ... Next I wanted to take a few things for breakfast because daughter didn’t come down. I was Told off like a criminal ! Wow such rudeness I thought. Everywhere else it’s just normal practice. I was told the policy was that they would bring up the little amounts of breakfast and charge me 7 euros. !! No Shame for an alleged 4* star hotel which in actual fact is more like 2-3 * if you disregard the foyer The so called swim pool which attracted us turns out to be a big jacuzzi only with heavy smokers around it. You simply cannot swim in it. Water was very cold Quality of breakfast was poor with tinned stuff. Not worthy of a 4 *. I have seen 2-3* places take pride in their breakfast. For a second cup of coffee I was told to sit down by the head waitress because she was coming after she dealt with many customers. Why bother when the coffee was not special and most places simply allow you to refill at will. Because it’s Florence the proprietors have lost sight of their customers and service and what it takes to attract people. Sorry this hotel failed miserably and staff seem to have far greater importance than customers..and an air of arrogance around themselves.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from , Proprietario at Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Responded Aug 18, 2022
Dear Travelexpert60, We are very sorry you didn't find your stay in our Rivoli Boutique Hotel satisfiing, this despite thousands of satisfied guests we hosted in our house in more than 58 years of hospitality. But, have you ever thought about your attitude while you werw styaying here with us? Probably if you have the same attitude, in no other hotel you will find satisfaction. Best regards, Gianni Caridi General Manager Rivoli Boutique Hotel Florence
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kathryn s wrote a review Aug 2022
9 contributions11 helpful votes
Unfortunately a huge disappointment. Lovely staff and comfortable beds, however it definitely is more of a 3 star than 4! A few reasons why: - The glasses and cups in the room are plastic (definitely not environment friendly and not the best to drink hot drinks). - The courtyard is tiny, and in big need of a renovation with a strong smell of sewage. - The pool is also extremely small and can only fit 4 people without feeling cramped and so packed with chlorine it burns your eyes. - The breakfast is less than average, with few options, low quality products (instant coffee - shocking for a 4 star hotel in Italy, fake orange juice, tinned fruit and hot dog sausages instead of real ones). - The wifi cut constantly, which was very frustrating! - The plugs in our room didn’t work - Only one small bottle of complimentary water for the whole stay A lot of small details that add up and disappoint. All in all if you are looking for a place to sleep in the centre of Florence the hotel is ok but if you are looking for relaxing moments by the pool, and enjoyable time in the hotel, good meals and a seamless experience - would look elsewhere! Such a pity as there is great potential, but for now we do not recommend !
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Michel B wrote a review Jul 2022
Zurich, Switzerland13 contributions11 helpful votes
As a solo traveller, I was assigned to room 503. Gentlemen, don't ever approach room 503!!! You'll get a view on a 15sqm courtyard filled with trash and discarded hand sanitizers. You'll have a bathroom that's 1m wide and room space that doesn't allow to open your suitcase. You'll get to sleep next to the cleaning personal's stash, and you'll jump awake at every single manoeuvre they need to do. So much for "Soundproof rooms"... Then I was reassigned to some other room. It was not soundproof as the description promises, and I'd like to apologize to my room neighbors for having interrupted with my irate banging their after-midnight appreciation of some singer's rendition of classic love songs. Just before some people in the street decided to let people appreciate how loud their car engine was. Yet, it was much quieter and more comfortable than room 503!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Say no to room 503.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from , Proprietario at Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Responded Jul 31, 2022
Dear P4245CDmichelb, can't you figure that many of our guest requests for that room ? Probably was not your preferite, and in that case ..I'm sorry. best regards Daniele Torrini Resident Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leonard M wrote a review Jul 2022
Sydney, Australia4 contributions1 helpful vote
What kind of hotel won’t let you borrow a wine glass and a bottle opener? This one. I can’t remember the last time I stayed in a hotel that didn’t already have glasses in the room. I had to go downstairs and ask for wine glasses, then the bartender was obstinate that I would have to purchase their average house wine to get the glasses and I couldn’t borrow a bottle opener at all. It’s a basic hospitality fail, especially in one of the world’s most famous wine regions. I had to go out and buy my own glasses and bottle opener at a nearby store.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else, where staff have better attitudes. There’s no shortage of wonderful places...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from , Proprietario at Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Responded Jul 27, 2022
Dear Leonard, just to point out that; probably you didn't read carefully the wine list, in that case you would have seen that there is a great selection of great wines made by Luciano, Benedetta and Francesco that are wine experts over 40 years. Concerning glasses and bottle opener we do not have any problem to lend a couple of glasses and bottle opener if used inside the hotel; you were asking a bunch of glasses to go out of the hotel and this is not possible. Our hospitality is operated since 1964 and can assure you that we know an practice a "little" more then Basic Hospitality. Best regards Daniele Torrini Resident Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
l l wrote a review Jun 2022
Vancouver, Canada1 contribution
We stayed at Rivoli Boutique Hotel for 20 nights. From checkin to checkout, the staff at the front desk was always helpful and friendly. An amazing hospitality experience with the willingness of the staff to assist and help with everything we needed. The breakfast that was included had a good variety and was well tended to by the staff that refilled the items and brought special order coffees. The location of the hotel can not be beat and everything within walking distance. short walk from the train station and the city center close to both the old town and the entertainment centers. highly recommend to anyone visiting this wonderful and historic city!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Proprietario at Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Responded Jun 9, 2022
Dear Guest, thanks for the great review!! it's so important for us to have feedback from our guests. We try to offer our best to guarantee a nice experience in Florence, and it's sucha great pleasure to read that you appreciated. I hope to welcome you soon again at the Rivoli Boutique Hotel, and on behalf of all the staff I send our best regards. Daniele Torrini Resident Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dia I wrote a review May 2022
8 contributions2 helpful votes
The hotel is European boutique. The shared areas are very well maintained and gardens in between too. Breakfast is good with impressive service. Bathrooms are a bit outdated with typical European tubs and no closed shower. Location wise is ok too.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Proprietario at Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Responded May 16, 2022
Dear Guest, thanks for the nice reviw. I'm glad you appreciated our service and the in general the hotel. Bathrooms will be refurbished soon (the last two years have not been that easy). Please come back and see our improvements. Bets regards Daniele Torrini Resident Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Explore459636 wrote a review May 2022
North Port, Florida7 contributions1 helpful vote
Nice hotel in a good location. Common areas were very pretty. Breakfast was good. Hotel is European standard including room and breakfast. Gals at the front desk were VERY helpful. Answered all of our questions with a smile. Bag breakfast was included with our 4 a.m. checkout and airport cab was on time as promised. Highly recommend for USA travelers.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Proprietario at Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Responded May 12, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for the great review! I'm so glad we matched your expectations. That's our way of Hosting guests, try to make everything easy while in Florence! Hope to welcome you soon egain at the Rivoli Boutique Hotel. best regards Daniele Torrini Resident Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carlos R wrote a review May 2022
Seville, Spain234 contributions120 helpful votes
Hotel is very well located, and service is very good, However our room was very disappointing. Especially the bathroom, which resembles a long, narrow corridor – it is in good condition but not convenient at all. Breakfast is OK, but not particularly good. Price is in line with other similar hotels in Florence. Good, but not excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from , Proprietario at Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Responded May 8, 2022
Dear Carlos, thanks for your comment ! I'm glad all in all you appreciated your stay end our service ! The Rivoli Boutique Hotel takes place ina a XVth century convent and it has not been possible to "create" a standard hotel, but can assure you that all our 87 rooms are different and by knowing we would have been glad to show you other solutions. Hoping to welcome you again to guarantee a 5/5 stay, best regards Daniele Torrini Resident Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$131 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western rivoli, best western florence, florence best western
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of FlorenceFlorenceFlorence Historic Center / Santa Maria Novella
NUMBER OF ROOMS
87
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Rivoli Boutique Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Rivoli Boutique Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Francesco Lionetti (0.2 miles), Chiesa di San Salvatore in Ognissanti (0.1 miles), and Officina Profumo-Farmaceutica di Santa Maria Novella (0.04 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Rivoli Boutique Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Rivoli Boutique Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Rivoli Boutique Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Rivoli Boutique Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rivoli Boutique Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ristorante Taj Palace, Ristorante Brandolino, and Il Barretto.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Rivoli Boutique Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Rivoli Boutique Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Florence.
Are any cleaning services offered at Rivoli Boutique Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Rivoli Boutique Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Rivoli Boutique Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.