We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery

Save
Share
Via Dei Cerretani 68, 50123, Florence Italy
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$236
View Deal
eDreams
$236
View Deal
Trip.com
$294
$230
View Deal
SAVE $64
Snaptravel$230
Expedia.com$237
Prestigia.com$294
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (325)
Room & Suite (197)
Dining (46)

About

#57 of 419 hotels in Florence
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
In the Heart of Florence, between the Cathedral and the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, it is the prestigious Hotel Cerretani, ideal starting point to discover the wonders of the city. Cerretani Firenze is the perfect base for a cultural trip in the beautiful country in the footsteps of Donatello, Botticelli, Leonardo da Vinci and Michelangelo. Located near the Duomo, the Medici Chapels and the Basilica of Santa Maria Novella, this hotel, which boasts 500 years of history, it will take a leisurely stroll to the Ponte Vecchio and the Boboli gardens. The palace of the XVI century, was born as a former home of a wealthy Florentine family, the Family Carnesecchi, still offers its unchanged facade chamfered in the architectural style of the time and the beautiful staircase in Liberty style, enriched with precious mirrors of a more recent past; tangible evidence of the historicity of the place. The Bar 'Michelangelo', intimate and welcoming environment, is ideal to taste the famous wines produced in the Tuscan territory accompanied by delicious meats and delightful cheeses.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Concierge
Currency exchange
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Green
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 3 more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
559Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
278Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
683Reviews50Q+A32Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 468
  • 167
  • 32
  • 7
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Laurent P P wrote a review Oct 2020
Paris, France271 contributions100 helpful votes
A Great place to stay next to the Duomo. Excellent service, super team, advices and service. Warm welcome. The room was perfect and the breakfast as it should be, a very good day starter. And the sanitary measures are present without being too painful, the team did everything possible to make our stay a pleasure.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from MGallery Cerretani Firenze, Direttore generale at Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Laurentpp2013, Thank you very much for the five-star review! We are extremely happy to read that we were able to fulfill your expectations and we are so proud that you highly recommend our Hotel Cerretani! We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon. Wishing you all the best, Kind Regard, Esther Enna General Manager Hotel Cerretani MGallery Collection
Read more
FrederickWentworth wrote a review Oct 2020
Rouen, France708 contributions169 helpful votes
Stayed there Oct. 11-19, room 421 (junior suite supposedly, though only a room with a long corridor, a chair and an armchair--no upgrade). I hate writing a bad review but this hotel deserves it -- certainly NOT because of its location which is ideal between the Duomo and Santa Maria Novella, a 3 mns walk to the tram which takes you to the airport in 20 mns; -- certainly NOT because of the staff who are just adorable, eager to please, and good at their jobs (perfect housekeeping); -- certainly NOT because of the very comfortable bed, of the abundant supply of tea and coffee, towels and good-quality toiletries; -- BUT certainly because all that is wasted: the absolutely horrendous smell in the lobby, in the corridors, in our bathroom, and in our room literally made us sick and headachy every morning when we woke up and in the evening when we came back. If we hadn't paid in advance we would have gone elsewhere (we only had breakfast once because of the smell in the breakfast room). The smell was reminiscent of some of the worst parts of old Cairo--blocked drains, sulphur, rot, gas--just terrible. We did complain to the receptionists and to the very nice lady who came every day around 6 p.m. to ask if we were OK. It was only suggested we should move to the first floor (we checked the corridors on that floor--it was perhaps even worse). The General Manager never descended from the Empyrean to say sorry--too busy I suppose even though the hotel was almost empty. There were deodorizing sticks everywhere but to no avail. One member of staff pretended (weakly when challenged) it was exceptional and due to the recent rains, another told us it was constant. I think many corners were cut in the sanitation as corners were cut in the (poor) quality of the carpet in the corridors, the noisy faux-wood floors (plastic) in the rooms, the very slow lift, etc. In any case we think Accor should renegociate the MGallery status and "read the riot act" to the owner. Something MUST be done. As Accor Diamond members we shall complain directly.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from MGallery Cerretani Firenze, Direttore generale at Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery
Responded Oct 23, 2020
Dear Ms. Pichardie, Thank you for taking some time to write a review about your recent trip in Florence and your stay in our Hotel Cerretani Mgallery Collection. We are very sorry to learn that during your recent stay we did not meet your expectations, as you can see from other reviews, we are extremely focus on ensuring that our guest have a wonderful experience in our Hotel Cerretani. We thank you for your excellent value, for central position, our service and cleaning. Our procedures foresees a severe tracking of eventual dissatisfaction but according to our logbook I couldn’t find any record regarding inconvenience occurred during your stay with us. I know you asked to have a free upgrade to our unique SUITE MEDICI and we were not able to do it for all your stay because was already booked from another guest. I am sorry I did not have the opportunity to meet you in person and I hope to have the change to meet in another occasion. Our reception desk is available 24h a day to solve any kind of issue and request for all our lovely guests. We would like to apologize for the bad smell caused by the street works during your stay that was something that was not under our control. We will keep in consideration your suggestions in order to improve our service. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in Florence, Kind regards, Esther Enna General Manager Hotel Cerretani
Read more
Globerunner12 wrote a review Oct 2020
Sydney, Australia67 contributions68 helpful votes
Months’ ago, I knew at the end of what had turned into an absolute utter nightmare, and no doubt the worst experience I have ever had with any hotel, and any service provider for that matter after travelling around the world, for the last 12 years’, this review needed to be written and published for all to see, after what this hotel put me through in a needlessly protracted, unfair, frustrating, dishonest and unethical way. I waited till this case ended so I could finally tell my story end-to-end in the most factual, accurate, comprehensive, detailed, complete and conclusive way. The hotel manager may respond to this and pretend to provide great customer service, denying anything I have written in here but I can already respond in advance and say they are all lies and please do not bother to reply to state your false case. So living in Australia, most of the world knows that we are not allowed to leave the country and have not been able to since March 2020. There is no timeframe for re-opening international borders, and there is some talk that it may not be before July 2021. I had booked a 5-week trip to Europe for September/October 2020 and had to cancel everything. I have had very little issue obtaining refunds (albeit had to wait a few months’ for some which is understandable and I was willing to wait) for everything I booked – EXCEPT THIS HOTEL. I will note here that most of the following events have been sent to my credit card chargeback case as supporting evidence, that I had to raise a month ago, due to the dishonesty of this hotel, and I could not get my promised refund back. Hence this description was a legal account of the events sent to my bank (paraphrased for this review as Tripadvisor does not allow direct copy and paste of information in large chunks), which then got sent to VISA and then the hotel’s merchant bank. I won this case because the hotel could not dispute the account of events, and there was no evidence to dispute my evidence, as I provided very evident proof that I was being illegally short-changed. In November 2019, I spent 1716 Euro and booked a 7-night stay with this hotel for the end of October 2020. It was booked with a FLEXIBLE RATE which meant it was fully refundable with the required notice period. The Sales Condition as stated on the booking confirmation Cancellation Policy is that there is no cancellation charge if the cancellation is completed prior to 6pm on the day of arrival. I was not allowed to directly copy and paste the cancellation policy verbatim from the booking confirmation due to Tripadvisor regulations. I cancelled the booking on 4th July 2020, which was well ahead of the booked hotel reservation dates (check-in 16th October 2020), providing more than just the requested 'prior to 18.00(local time) on the day of arrival' condition to get the full refund. When I cancelled the booking, I had a nasty suspicion that this hotel would create pain for me and so, I took a screenshot of the cancellation confirmation page which was also provided to my Bank as my evidence and the confirmation page said that there is no cancellation charge if the cancellation is completed prior to 6pm on the day of arrival (I cancelled on the 4th July 2020). I was not allowed to directly copy and paste the cancellation policy verbatim from the cancellation page due to Tripadvisor regulations. After cancelling the booking and realising they did not automatically process the refund after the hotel reservations manager Nicola wouldn’t respond to me after denying my refund, I proceeded to call the global ACCOR CUSTOMER CARE hotline. I was assigned two agents who have been looking at my case since this date for the last 4 months’. I had proof of their correspondences through countless emails exchanged which I forwarded on to my bank. Both of them verified that my cancellation policy is indeed what is in their reservation system, and that this is the 'legal' document that proved I am eligible for a FULL REFUND. They had been trying to help me contact the hotel and follow internal procedures to get this escalated, level by level of management, as they have not been successful in contacting the hotel to initiate the refund from July through to August for 2 months’. I had been informed the hotel were the ones who took my payment, and hence, it is they, that had to initiate and return the refund. For four months’, I have been calling them every 3 to 5 days for the last 4 months', including many emails exchanged between myself and the agents due to the time differences. Each call took at least 20 minutes’ due to waiting time on the phone, and sometimes the agents would need to get off the phone, put me on hold, search/read the case if it was a new agent (as I could not always get a hold of my assigned agents if they were busy/at lunch/on holiday), or if the agent tried to call the hotel and speak to the managers or staff trying to obtain an update on the situation and/or make them process the refund. I even tried to contact the Reservations Manager of this hotel – Nicola before I tried to contact the Accor Customer Service Centre and he replied to me once only back in July saying that I am not eligible for a refund because I booked a non-refundable rate which was not true. I emailed back immediately after and provided the evidence. He did not respond. I followed up with an email a week later requesting a response. He did not respond. I then contacted the Accor Customer Service and he told them that they already emailed me and was waiting for a response from me. Total lies as I already emailed them back twice and he ignored me. And then I knew the dirty games would begin and it was going to be a huge fight and a war to get my money back. I didn’t raise a credit card chargeback yet because I understand that businesses are experiencing challenges due to the COVID-19 pandemic and I gave them the benefit of the doubt as they were still closed. I continued to call the Accor Customer Care hotline because I knew they would help me to progress the case, even though they had no power and I needed to maintain momentum of the follow-up even though I was going around in circles. At some point I knew I would be raising a chargeback if I felt I was really at the end of the road. The case got escalated a few times to the Accor Senior Managers and I was told I could not speak to them. All my correspondence had to be through the Customer Care Agents who to Accor’s failure, had no real power but to act as an intermediary between me, the hotel and the Accor Senior Management Escalation Team. Only when the case got escalated, would the hotel respond and then the case would get routed back to the agent to contact me with the update. The hotel made all sorts of dishonest excuses as to what they were going to do with my refund. This ranged from: 1. Hotel is closed till August and they will look at my refund then; 2. When the hotel opened in August (and they promised my agent they would refund my payment on day 1 of the hotel opening), they then said the Accounting department was not opening till September so they will look at my refund then; 3. Agent asked me to provide a bank statement with the proof of payment to provide to the hotel for security reasons, I have no idea why they needed this but I complied with their request. 4. Multiple times when the agents called the hotel, the hotel manager was never available. When the very last English agent called, and he was about the most honest and candid with me, he said the situation sounded really dodgy because when he asked for the manager, the staff “checked” and then said the manager was with customers and cannot take the call. When my English agent pushed her and said he will wait, the manager then came to the phone within seconds. 5. When the accounting department supposedly came back to work (and I said to the agent that I do not believe that when a hotel opens for business that no one is available to manage payments and process refunds because how else do you do business and deal with the accounts when you are making money when the business is open??), there were further delays saying that it would be done in another week. At the end of August when I knew I was never going to get my refund from the hotel I raised a chargeback and it was found in my favour the other week as I had such ample and clear evidence that they could not dispute it, nor did they attempt to, and they were aware that I had raised a chargeback but left it till the 30th day when it automatically closed in my favour. While the chargeback was in process, when the hotel manager finally gave a date at the end of September to process the refund, and an agent called in to ensure it was done, I then asked for proof of the refund. They claimed they made the refund (LIED) which they never did as I got my money back through the chargeback process. They failed to give me any proof of a refund and in two weeks (after delays) they only gave a piece of paper in Italian with the hotel letterhead saying refund processed which is not proof at all and in fact, as this is a legally signed document, I could actually take them to court to say they lied about it. If they really processed the refund, I would have lost the case and the chargeback would not have occurred several weeks’ later – you do not win chargebacks if they find that the refund was processed. So not only have they been telling flagrant lies for the last four months’ to avoid giving me a substantial amount of money that was legally and rightfully owed to me (AND Please don’t forget that COVID-19 had nothing to do with my legal right to get my money back as I booked a totally flexible rate), but they went as far as to issue a letter to me in Italian, Signed and dated, with the hotel letterhead to say someone processed the refund without it actually happening! Now that is another level of dishonesty, let me tell you! Before the case was closed, and just before I got my money refunded by VISA, both agents were on / holiday and I dealt with a new agent who was English. The previous two were Southern Europeans. This English fellow had been extremely honest and candid with me saying that he didn’t feel like the hotel was being honest with him and that when he called the hotel manager, he was nervous and that he had a lot of things to say and it sounded like he was making up stories along the way when my agent asked for evidence of a refund which he could not provide. After my agent rejected the Italian letter I mentioned above and asked for a SCREENSHOT (which all hotels can provide), of their payments system showing the refund was processed, after two days of promising to send me the screenshot directly, the hotel manager, Nicola, sent me the letter that his bank sent me notifying them that a chargeback had been initiated. What a joke. In the end they couldn’t come up with the proof that they refunded my booking, because it NEVER HAPPENED. I have never in my life experienced such blatant dishonesty and it is absolutely shocking that this is a luxury Sofitel Accor Group hotel. The Accor English Agent even said to me “I don’t have a good feeling about this” during my last and final call. Although the Accor Customer Care agents were helpful, friendly, responsive and tried their best, they are powerless and told me so. They could only escalate to their Accor Senior Managers which did nothing and were useless in any case. All they did was sit on my case for weeks’, and prompted the hotel to respond to the agents. I kept asking, what would happen if I never got my money back? Surely the head office / Accor Group should compensate me due to their failure to get the hotel to issue the rightful and legal refund. It SHOULD NOT have come to this point. I spent in total, probably weeks’ of effort over the last four months’ trying to make endless calls to the Accor Customer Care centre, emails to the same agents, emails to the hotel, stitching a pack of evidence to my Bank to raise the chargeback, endless follow-ups calls regarding the chargeback to my Bank and unnecessary stress on my part, for what should have been a painless and seamless ‘click-of-a-button’ with an automated refund in my Accor account, when I cancelled the booking back in early July. On most occasions, I never got provided proactive updates between calls, which is why I had to call every few days’. Only when the case got into the final stages/month, and the agents themselves found the situation absolutely horrendous, did they amp up the communication and follow-ups in between calls. During the first couple of months’ even this hotel was unreachable by the agents which is a total joke. No one in the Accor Head Office had ever promised me compensation in the situation of a refund never taking place by the hotel. I was also told by my agent that the hotel wished to contact me to explain themselves about the “miscommunication” which I never received. The hotel never apologised to me and never explained anything. They were unresponsive, evasive and only sent me fake evidence of a refund when pushed severely by the Head Office. This hotel is absolutely a disgrace to Florence and Italy. I love this country and I just assume this hotel and its mismanagement and dishonesty is an exception to the country’s culture. I implore everyone to stay away from this hotel. When I do come to Florence, there is absolutely no way I would ever stay here even if they offered me free accommodation. I am that disgusted and insulted by this situation and anyone who I have shared the story with (many Australians and foreign friends) are abhorred. Accor Management and Head Office are also useless in pushing for action and representing customer rights. In the end my refund was received only through Visa/My Bank and the chargeback process. I should have raised it many months’ ago. It really is the last time I have trust in this company. I will make sure to avoid Accor Group hotels in future. AGAIN A MESSAGE TO THE HOTEL STAFF - DO NOT BOTHER RESPONDING TO THIS REVIEW JUST BECAUSE IT IS NOW PUBLICLY ON TRIPADVISOR AND YOU WANT TO MAKE UP EXCUSES. YOU HAD FOUR MONTHS' TO COMMUNICATE WITH ME PROPERLY AND APOLOGISE AND NEVER DID. AND PLEASE DO NOT POST UP LIES CONTRARY TO THIS REVIEW.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Roman R wrote a review Sep 2020
Oberengstringen, Switzerland92 contributions36 helpful votes
We jsut stayed 3 nights in this wonderful hotel and were surprised how easy everything is within reachable walking distance. It's amazing how many important spots are so close around the hotel. We stayed in room 121 which was on the 1ST floor, looking to the main street, but the windows were perfect and no noise disturbed our sleep during the night. the entire staff in the hotel was very friendly. I very much appreciated the perfect solution with the breakfast. Irina showed every morning on a movable table the choice of the breakfast, and later on we received fresh prepared food and a good coffee. This was excellent, one of the best solution ever I have seen during our trip to Italy. Instead of explaining which kind of food we liked, we could easily point at the different prepared plates and later on it was prepared in a perfect way. The room was very clean and all the articles were from a good quality. This is definitely worth to come again to this place when next time we discover more from Florence
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from MGallery Cerretani Firenze, Direttore generale at Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery
Responded Oct 3, 2020
Dear 25Romanr, We would like to thank you for your lovely comment on TripAdvisor Community. We are very glad that you appreciated your stay among us and that you were seduced by the friendliness of our Staff as well as our central location and our Breakfast proposal. Your satisfaction is our priority and we are very happy to know you spent a memorable moment with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Best Regards, Lara Vitaliti Ass. Front office Manager Hotel Cerretani
Read more
abr30 wrote a review Sep 2020
London, United Kingdom24 contributions23 helpful votes
Had a wonderful stay at the Cerretani earlier this month - was upgraded to a beautiful room facing the street, which was still amazingly silent and soundproofed. The room was tastefully decorated and very clean (e.g. tv remote in a sealed bag) and the bathroom spacious and well equipped - the toiletries were wonderfully fragrant and I fell in love with the Aqua Elba Reed diffuser - now need to buy one for home! Breakfast was wonderful - they rolled out a demo buffet to your table each day. After making your choice, you received a freshly cooked version of each dish. Location was great too, less than a minute from Duomo and seven minutes from SMN train station. Service from Nicola at the front desk and Lara at breakfast were especially worthy of a call out.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MGallery Cerretani Firenze, Direttore generale at Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery
Responded Sep 22, 2020
Dear Abr30, We are delighted to know that you had a great experience at the Mgallery Cerretani Firenze Hotel Collection, that you enjoyed our Breakfast Proposal, that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff as well as our Central location. We thank you for the positive review, to get such gratitude from our guests, it is extremely rewarding for the whole team. We look forward to welcoming you again! Sincerely, Lara Vitaliti Ass. Front Office Manager Hotel Cerretani
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$157 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cerretani firenze hotel florence, sofitel hotel florence, sofitel hotel firenze, sofitel florence, florence sofitel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Cerretani Firenze
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of FlorenceFlorenceFlorence Historic Center / San Lorenzo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
86
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery?
Nearby attractions include Duomo - Cattedrale di Santa Maria del Fiore (0.2 miles), Mercato Centrale (0.2 miles), and Florence in few hours (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gustarium, I' Girone De' Ghiotti, and Bambi Trippa e Lampredotto.
Is Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Florence.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Arabic.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Duomo - Cattedrale di Santa Maria del Fiore (0.2 miles), Basilica of Santa Croce (0.6 miles), and Basilica San Miniato al Monte (1.1 miles).
Is Hotel Cerretani Firenze - MGallery accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.