We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Caparena Hotel

Via Nazionale 189, 98039, Taormina, Sicily Italy
3 people are viewing this hotel
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Booking.com
$122
View Deal
Trip.com
$122
$108
View Deal
SAVE $14
Orbitz.com
$110
View Deal
Travelocity$110
Agoda.com$108
Expedia.com$110
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (417)
Room & Suite (87)
Pool & Beach (76)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to Caparena Hotel, your Taormina “home away from home.” Caparena Hotel aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year. For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Taormina, Caparena Hotel is located a short distance from Porta Messina (1.1 mi) and Palazzo Corvaja (1.2 mi). You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a minibar, and you can stay connected during your stay as Caparena Hotel offers guests free internet access. The hotel features a concierge and room service. Plus, Caparena Hotel offers a pool and free breakfast, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available. While in Taormina, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Caparena Hotel, including Bam Bar (1.2 mi), il Barcaiolo (0.9 mi), and La Capinera (0.3 mi). If you are interested in exploring Taormina, check out a , such as Quattro Fontane di Taormina. Caparena Hotel puts the best of Taormina at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Internet
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Concierge
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Air conditioning
Private beach
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Private balcony
Room service
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Family
654Reviews10Q+A59Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 229
  • 197
  • 104
  • 63
  • 61
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+1
The hotel has a direct beach with pebble beach. Umbrellas and sunbeds are free of charge. There is a private bus service to Taormina, several times a day, free of charge. The rooms are decent, though there could be more furniture in them to make them even more comfortable. Cleanliness is fine, the staff is very nice. It has a wonderful garden. You can reach the beach through a small tunnel. The train goes in front of the hotel, but is not heard at all. Volt disco szombat este, ami hajnalig tartott, csukott ablakokkal nekünk nem volt zavaró. Very good hotel, very good location.
Read more
Don’t stay over a weekend. We arrived on a Wednesday. Hotel was ok. Rooms were clean and recently redone. Sparse but ok. Not a great view of the ocean. Big shrubs blocking the view. Main hotel spaces were ok. Pool needs a serious update. Was really disappointed they had no outdoor space for drinks at night. The hotel has great beach space but the outdoor beach bar closes at 6pm. Ridiculous. There is nothing but a buffet restaurant at the hotel you can dine in. A separate restaurant on the property for lunch or dinner but again no place for drinks on the water. We went to our friends hotel a five minute drive down the beach with half the space but an amazing bar area with drinks and snacks open until midnight. And then Friday night it all made sense. A HORRIBLE night club on the beach. We were never made aware of this. We have a child who could not sleep. And when we called the front desk all they said was we tell people on the websites. Nowhere did it say anything about a beach disco. Do not stay here. In addition the parking is horrible. If it were not for a party tomorrow night we would leave right now. Unacceptable. They clearly would rather put all of there money into a horrible DJ party than the hotel guests paying food money. And the parking is the absolute worst. Don’t stay here. Spend your money where someone cares about your experience.
Read more
Response from GHG_Taormina, Direttore vendite at Caparena Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, we are thankful for your review and that you have appreciated the cleanliness of our renovated rooms, the great green spaces of our gardens, the private beach and the restaurant service. We regret that you didn’t have the chance to enjoy the disco night on the beach, a special august event with good music and excellent drinks. Arrivederci a presto! The Management
Read more
Me and my husband booked this hotel because for years it has been said to be one of the most popular hotels in the area ( we are from Sicily and know that area very well) and after visiting the website and seeing the pictures it looked like a very good 4* hotel so our expectations were very Lobby area is nice however the overall look of the hotel, corridors and rooms is very old and in need of a refurb especially for the price they charge. Room is very basic and definitely doesn’t present as a 4* deluxe charging over £250 per night. Cleanliness also was not good, when we arrive the floor was not properly hoovered and in the bathroom we found a quite big spiderweb hanging from the shower. Not to mention the beds that when we arrive were not set up as a king bed but as twin. However one of the housekeepers swiftly and very kindly managed to set up the bed again. Carpets in the corridors need to be changed as they are all stained and definitely do not reflect the rating of the hotel. Breakfast was very basic and not interesting at all. The beach area is very nice however we couldn’t quite understand why we couldn’t use the first row of umbrellas and sling backs. Nobody gave an explanation of why not and advise we had to use the row behind. We assumed they were reserved for some sort of VIP guests they have but most of the time they were totally not used and anyway made the other guests feel like we were not ‘VIP’ enough to use them. Staff is polite and it’s a shame that the management doesn’t see how much the hotel is in need of a renovation and that their rates do not reflect the quality of the product hence being extremely overrated for what they provide.
Read more
Response from GHG_Taormina, Direttore vendite at Caparena Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, thank you for your review and for having appreciated the professionalism of our staff and the quality of our services. All Caparena guests have a free beach pass for their whole stay with free access to the beach, free use of deck chairs and parasols. First rows at the regular beach may be used for all our guests (both from the hotel and external guests) paying a daily fee. Executive beach area may be used for all our guests (both from hotel and external guests) paying a daily fee. Best regards, The Management
Read more
+1
We stayed here for a week in early September 2018 booked through EasyJet. We booked a sea view room rather than a garden view. The room was spacious and very clean with a nice balcony and reasonable sea view from the second floor. The railway line was a little noisy at first, but not really an issue as the trains were very slow, you soon get used to them. The beach on the other side of the railway line was nice, but a little crowded with parasols and sun loungers, but this is understandable as the beach is not all that large. The beach bar was good, with a decent selection of drinks and snacks. The restaurant food at both dinner and breakfast were excellent, with full waiter service at dinner with a different menu every evening. Breakfast was a very good quality buffet. We made a lot of use of the free shuttle bus into town as it was too far to walk along a busy road and then up the hill into Taormina. The only real downside was the parties at the beach club at the weekend, but this was only one night out of a week. This was a very good base to explore the Eastern part of Sicily.
Read more
Response from GHG_Taormina, Direttore vendite at Caparena Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your kind review. Best regards, The Management
Read more
We stay in a this hotel for a 14 days. We really enjoy in the swiming pool, then on the beach, at especially at dinner. We don't have any complaint, the staff was very kind, at the end we become friends.
Read more
Response from GHG_Taormina, Direttore vendite at Caparena Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
14 days...thank you! We are proud to have thankful and happy guest like you. Looking forward to welcoming you again we send you our best regards. The Management
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$136 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
caparena hotel taormina
LOCATION
ItalySicilyProvince of MessinaTaormina
NUMBER OF ROOMS
88
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing