We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Smy Carlos V Alghero

Lungomare Valencia 24, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia Italy
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (773)
Room & Suite (551)
Dining (151)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#15 of 50 hotels in Alghero
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.2
Value
4.0
Smy Carlos V Wellness & Spa Alghero is the perfect spot for your holiday in Sardinia, thanks to its location just minutes from Riviera del Corallo international airport. Historically, the city is known for its splendid beaches of fine white sand, its coast there to explores and its historic centre, a focus for tourism by day and by night. With its saunas, massages and heated swimming pool, the spa is one of the main reasons why guests choose this hotel. Another reason why guests come back is the gastronomic offering. The restaurant is like a balcony overlooking the sea, with spectacular sunsets and dinners. Just imagine enjoying your breakfast overlooking the sea with a fresh morning breeze. And a sunset overlooking the bay with infinite views. Smy Carlos V offers different types of rooms, all spacious and fully equipped with WiFi and Chromecast so you can enjoy your favourite channels. According to our guests, "rooms are spacious, with incredible views of the sea, especially at evening time." Others have praised our "very comfortable beds." Looking after our guests' health while on their holidays is in our DNA. The hotel has a large outdoor swimming pool with a special area for children and children's pool. Services we offer include airport and city centre transfers, Technogym, and tennis court.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Car hire
Paid private parking on-site
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Hand massage
Massage
Solarium
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Minibar
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 2 more
1,404Review39Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 692
  • 473
  • 152
  • 53
  • 34
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Olivier V wrote a review Jan 2024
Paris, France5 contributions1 helpful vote
The person at the reception was not very pleasant. On arrival, no help to unload the luggage. Once in the room, no bathrobes and especially no down (a simple nylon blanket) that had to be negotiated because supposedly the latter was reserved for a higher category of room. The sound insulation with the next room was catastrophic so that it was necessary to go through the manager to solve the problem because the same person from the reception was not cooperative at all. The gym is a joke: dilapidated devices, one of which is broken but still accessible, no water or changing rooms closed due to Covid (???). We therefore preferred not to pay for a spa to avoid unpleasant surprises and have to go back through this sinister individual of the reception. In conclusion, I do not recommend this establishment. We are far from the 5 stars!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bambowmin66 wrote a review Dec 2023
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom14 contributions7 helpful votes
We had a great summer family holiday at this hotel, particularly enjoying the wonderful views, location and tasty food options. Would highly recommend upgrading to a sea view room and the half board package. Breakfast choice was first class too and bar prices etc were reasonable for the star rating. The property is also ideally located for walks into the centre.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
CMB wrote a review Oct 2023
Bandon, Ireland18 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
This hotel was perfect. We only stayed for one night but wish we had stayed longer. On check in our room wasn’t ready (we arrived at 12pm), so the really nice gentleman at reception took our luggage for us and we went to the bar for a drink. The bar has a cocktail menu and every cocktail we tried was absolutely delicious. The lovely waitress also bought us complimentary nibbles with our drinks. The views from the bar are incredible too. When we got the keys to our room we were immediately blown away by how beautiful the room was. Really well decorated with an amazing view of the ocean! The room was spotless and had all we could need and more. The bed was large and comfortable. We headed to the pool area to relax for a few hours which again was beautiful, a really quiet relaxing setting to get a few hours of sunbathing in. Breakfast was lovely, a lot of variety and everything was really good quality. Again staff in the breakfast room were lovely. All in all I would recommend if you’re in Alghero, just pay the little bit extra and stay here!!! You won’t regret it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
JimRiesterer wrote a review Sep 2023
Edina, Minnesota4726 contributions628 helpful votes
+1
We stayed at this large hotel just outside of the old city for 1 night in mid September while traveling around Sardinia in a room with a view to the sea up on the 5th floor. The lobby and hallways look recently updated with rich warm wood and a Spence of elegance and luxury. We saw one of the corner suites which had been updated that was super big and nice. Our room, 521, was large with a view of the large inviting pool and rocky coastline. The bathroom was large with a great rain shower, double sinks and plenty of room while the bedroom with king bed was spacious too. The furnishings seemed a bit drab given the look and feel of the lobby and halls. The low bed was quite firm as were the pillows but the quiet AC did a nice job of keeping things cool so I slept quite well. Parking for or car was free in a small lot next to the hotel. The price wasn’t too bad and included breakfast although the sprawling buffet seemed more focused on quantities than quality to me. A pleasant one night stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, Owner at Smy Carlos V Alghero
Responded Sep 22, 2023
Dear Mr. Jim Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay and that you liked the facility and our services. As far as breakfast is concerned, we always ensure a wide variety and quantity of products without affecting the quality, which is one of our strong points. With the hope of accommodating you again, we send you our best regards. The hotel manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Helsone wrote a review Sep 2023
76 contributions57 helpful votes
This is our 5th visit and unfortunately we won’t be returning. Positives breakfast excellent, the majority of the staff are excellent, the location excellent. Andreas the head bar man was super. The negatives the hotel is tired, and needs investment thread bare carpets on stairs, 3 football teams arrived for a local tournament they were loud and intrusive, shouting across balconies, stripping to underpants to wash themselves in the pool shower, very personal and obscene. Then on our final day a wedding which took over the only pool bar, guests couldn’t get served and tables were taken by wedding guests. Whilst I really appreciate that the hotel needs to maximise income as guests we felt like third class citizens. This is no longer a 5 star hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Deedeeshe wrote a review Aug 2023
Ireland20 contributions4 helpful votes
Kindest staff from reception onwards... they are so warm, friendly and helpful. Really comfortable beds so a great sleep, also excellent aircon important as it was 38C outside. Very very clean everywhere with a heavenly outdoor pool looking out to the sea. Lots of satellite channels with plenty of english options. Wifi was not strong in our room but we just used our data as we are european so its not extra. There were 11 of us in a family group aged 9 to 80 and everyone had a super time. We would definitely return to this beautiful hotel. ps I saw 2 difficult ladies test the patience and skill of reception staff as they demanded freebies because a spa treat (value€45) was included in their package but spa slots were unavailable. They would not leave the reception until they got freebies. After they were expertly handled by the staff one of them finished by threatening a poor review. This was after free lunches and room facilites after check out were given, Idiots.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, Owner at Smy Carlos V Alghero
Responded Sep 22, 2023
Dear Mrs D.S, we are very grateful for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted that the hotel, our services and all the staff lived up to your expectations and that you had a great time with us and a pleasant stay. We do everything to make this happen and it makes us proud when guests are satisfied, as in this case. I am pleased that you have witnessed what happened with the two 'difficult' ladies.... said by one of our guests certainly has another value than if we had said it. We are delighted that you will be returning to us on holiday, we look forward to welcoming you again, and in the meantime please accept our warmest and most cordial greetings. The hotel manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lauren wrote a review Aug 2023
Nottingham, United Kingdom13 contributions2 helpful votes
Breakfast every morning had a large selection and there were plenty of staff on hand to keep it looking good and assist you. The housekeeping and cleanliness of hotel was superb, everywhere always looked spotless and rooms were always made up nicely. The room was spacious with a generous bathroom and large bottles of toiletries. Lovely beds and balcony. It was really quiet even with our view of the pool, the glazing of the windows prevented any noise in our room. Great aircon! The pool area was well looked after, fresh towels ready to collect down there. It is a saltwater pool which is well maintained and of a good size. The pool bar down there is nice and has a great view of the sea. The location of the hotel is great and 10 minutes walk you are right in the centre of Alghero with plenty of restaurants and activities. It was great going in every evening and exploring all the little streets. Walking on further to the harbour was great and we saw some fantastic sunsets. The Carlos gave us the perfect mix of flopping and relaxing by the pool but also the ability to explore a new place at ease. Car parking was right next to it but was limited and you could reserve a space. An amazing, clean and friendly hotel that you should definitely stay at if you visit Alghero!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, Owner at Smy Carlos V Alghero
Responded Aug 8, 2023
Dear Lauren, thank you so much for sharing this wonderful review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are so happy to have met your expectations. Thank you for the detail with which you described our services and for telling our work so well. We are sure you will have good memories of your vacation at the Carlos V and of our beautiful city, and to read these comments it is very gratifying for us. We thank you again and look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Cordial greetings. The hotel manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
caroline l wrote a review Jul 2023
Oxford, United Kingdom169 contributions116 helpful votes
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is very well located close to the medieval centre (10-15 minute walk), the rooms are large with fabulous views (we had a garden view and it was lovely). The reception area was spacious and airy, well kept, polished marble floors you could see your reflection in. The reception staff were very helpful, gave great advice and looked after us well. The rooms were cleaned daily, breakfast was typical for a holiday hotel - fresh fruit, fresh meats and cheeses, fresh breads and cakes and some hot stuff. The pool was lovely, pool bar had a fantastic view and was well tended and stocked. All in all, an excellent holiday at a good price.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, Owner at Smy Carlos V Alghero
Responded Jul 16, 2023
Dear Caroline, We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We are grateful for this contribution in which you describe the hotel and our services. You described the facility and the working attitude of the various departments very well. We are happy that we made your holiday enjoyable and above all that it was an excellent holiday for you. We look forward to hosting you again in the future and send you our sincere greetings. The hotel manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paul K wrote a review Jul 2023
London, United Kingdom22 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
Excellent Hotel and great location. We're currently 6 days in to our 9 night holiday and we are loving this place. The views are amazing, so well worth a sea view room, but having dinner in the evening and seeing the sun set is special. The hotel facilities are excellent and very clean. The spar is amazing, immaculately presented and really clean, and our massages by Steffania and Carla we're excellent. The staff are all really friendly and cant do enough go ensure our holiday is perfect. Lorenzo and Pamela have been really stars and very helpful. The food from the restraunt is amazing and presented like works of art, Gabriel, one of the waiters has recommended some local wines for us, and they have been excellent. Well worth booking here if you want to get away from a hotel full of brits as we haven't heard any others. Lots of Italians, Americans and Germans that are really friendly and don't worry, sunbeds are a plenty around the pool so no panic or stress trying to get a bed. The location is perfect and the walk into the old town is a safe gentle 15 minute stroll along the sea front and past lots of bars, The old town is beautiful and has a great vibe throughout, lots of bars and restaurants and lovely shops. A great place to come and definitely recommend
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, Owner at Smy Carlos V Alghero
Responded Jul 13, 2023
Dear Mr Paul, thank you very much for sharing your impressions of your stay at our CarlosV. We are thrilled to read this comment and pleased with the excellent job done by our staff who were able to meet all your requests. Our greatest pleasure is knowing that we did our best to make your holiday special. We would also like to thank you for mentioning the boys who, I am sure, will be delighted with this attention. We hope to welcome you again in the future as our very welcome guests, please accept our best regards. The hotel manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
25Monique wrote a review Jul 2023
Berlicum, The Netherlands125 contributions73 helpful votes
My review is based on the price we payed and the fact that Smy Is a 5* hotel. As stated in lots of reviews about this hotel, although it has the facilities of a 5* hotel (like a spa) it definitely is not a 5* hotel. Pros: ~ Room is okay, not big and not small eather. It has a nice balcony and we had a room with a seaview which was stunning. Floor was lumpy in some areas. ~ The room was kept clean everyday and we received a few bottles of water everyday. ~ Breakfast was okay but lacked variation. If you are staying a week like us it gets boring. - The location is okay and the (sea)view is great. Cons: Let me start with the interior ~ Breakfast was served in a large room which lacked atmosphere. (Somebody else called it soulless). Everyone tries to get a table at the window, to have some sort of view. If you are paying the bucks you expect at least some atmosphere and better display of breakfast items. It is just dropped there on the counters and like I said before no variation during the week. ~ Not lots of bread but it had a decent selection of sweets and fruit from a can. ~ The reception area also lacked atmosphere. Exterior: ~ Again 0 atmosphere in the exterior. ~ A simple rectangular large swimming pool with gray loungers on the side without cushions. I should have inspected the pictures before booking. There are 4 cabanas though. ~ A simple lawn next to the swimming pool without any garden design and the wall is visible. No plants at all. Where is the fantasy of the gardener. Even alongside roads in Sardinie they have more colorful plants. ~ The hotel itself looks like a 3* hotel from the back and the side. Tip if you still want to book a room here: at least take a room with seaview. The sunset is stunning. And if you’re coming by car and arrive after 18:00 be aware of the fact that the parking spaces at the hotel are very limited and in high season it might be even difficult to find a parking spot alongside the roads as we have experienced. Would I stay here again when in Alghero. No there are better 3* and 4* options at the other side of Alghero.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Manager, Owner at Smy Carlos V Alghero
Responded Jul 13, 2023
Dear Mrs Monica Maria, thank you for this detailed review, it gives us the opportunity to clarify various points. You came through an agency, we do not know how much they charged you and we cannot be responsible for an overpriced quote compared to the services booked, if that is what you mean. We are glad that you liked the room and found the view beautiful, that you enjoyed the free water every day and that the breakfast was good. Whether it lacks variation always depends on what the guest chooses. We have over 230 references, if the guest always chooses the same things instead of trying different options, that is a personal choice. Often people see but do not look, not observe.... When you write that the breakfast room lacks atmosphere, that the reception lacks atmosphere, that the outside lacks atmosphere that the swimming pool lacks atmosphere, I wonder "what would this guest have wanted to see, find or experience to feel comfortable with the right atmosphere". If you would like to write to us detailing this wish of yours perhaps it would help us to understand and improve on this point. Thank you for confirming that the sunset is wonderful, I really must agree with you on that. As far as parking spaces, they are available to guests up to availability. The hotel is very big and we don't have parking spaces for everyone. However, as you well wrote, there is the possibility to park your car in the street right in front of the hotel, which is always well lit and well-attended. We hope you will change your mind and come back to visit us. We will be happy to give you a warm welcome and make you feel at home! Cordial greetings. The hotel manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Alghero area.
PRICE RANGE
$179 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel carlos v, carlos v alghero
LOCATION
ItalySardiniaProvince of SassariAlghero
NUMBER OF ROOMS
195
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SMY CARLOS V ALGHERO $174 ($̶2̶8̶2̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews - Italy

Frequently Asked Questions about Smy Carlos V Alghero
Which popular attractions are close to Smy Carlos V Alghero?
Nearby attractions include Agua (0.4 miles), Affacci a mare: Bastioni e Lungomare (0.06 miles), and Chiesa di San Francesco (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Smy Carlos V Alghero?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Smy Carlos V Alghero?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Smy Carlos V Alghero?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Smy Carlos V Alghero?
Yes, free parking and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Smy Carlos V Alghero?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ristorante Da Musciora Danilo Delrio, Alamo Alghero, and La Piccola Cucina 2.0.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Smy Carlos V Alghero?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Smy Carlos V Alghero?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Smy Carlos V Alghero offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Smy Carlos V Alghero?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to Smy Carlos V Alghero?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Palazzo D'Albis (0.8 miles), Palazzo Carcassona (0.9 miles), and Torre e Forte della Maddalena (1.6 miles).