We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni
See the most recent reviews
Showing 90: English reviews
sunshine coast, queensland, australia
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Originally booked Hotel Moderna but was closed and referred to Carettoni for upgrade at no extra cost. Staff were brilliant, helpful with tourist info an friendly. Close to train station and no bridges to cross. Room typically european small but clean and modern. Wifi @ 1 Euro 30 mins and breakfast typically european, light. Overall a wonderful experience for refuge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neild
Carettoni, Direttore at Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni, responded to this review

Dear Neil, We remember of you, who agreeable, polite and friendly person you are. Thank you for posting a so nice review: it makes us full of proud give you the best service we can, and have response of this. Your satisfaction for the room and the hotel facilities makes us wish on a your return: in this case, don't...

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Very well located, near the rail station and vaporetto stop and ticket office. Apart of the fact that Venice prices are outrageous, it’s a nice but simple Hotel. Please expect the European standard of 50% of the value you paid. It’s clean with friendly staff, I recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VeraBF
Carettoni, Direttore at Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your opinion on our hotel and for recommending us to the readers of TripAdvisor who want to visit Venice. While we don't want underestimate your judgement, we feel to be a hotel with an interesting value for money, testified by other opinionists and the most part of our customers. Renewing thanks for choosing us,...

Rome
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Very good staff and an OK hotel make this a good budget option for the budget traveller. Room sizes are mixed so make sure you ask for a larger one. The real plus side of the hotel is the staff especially the excellent Elisa. Breakfast is extra but at 5 euros it is worth taking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GoodisonRome
Carettoni, Manager at Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and also that you appreciated the politeness and the care of the hotel staff, and as you reported especially of Elisa: she has read with pleasure your congratulations and thanks you sincerely for them. We hope to have again the pleasure of your visit during your next Venetian...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We did not actually stay at this hotel however we were transferred from hotem basilea to this hotel moderno. As hotel moderno had no reception itself, the reception was through antica casa. On arrival the receptionist was very nice, somewhat even a little charasmatic. After being eacorted to our room we returned to the reception to understand why we had...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lucachizz
Carettoni, Manager at Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni, responded to this review

First of all,we want to put some order in this affair: in your booking was writen that, in case of technical problems (such as the restoration of the Hotel Basilea), your reservation might have been transferred to a sister hotel; so, everything was well specified, but you haven't read all the informations in the booking, probably attracted by the very...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were delighted by the lovely spacious room at this fantastic location close to the train station in Venice. The hotel was charming and our room was tastefully decorated with artwork, furniture and fabrics that gave it a peaceful, elegant feel. We even had a couch for relaxing and the marble floors felt cool under our feet - wonderful to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carol S
Carettoni, Manager at Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we would like to thank you for sharing your feedback. We read with pleasure your enthusiastic appreciation of the beautiful furnishing of the Hotel, and we thank you another time for the wonderful words. But it's with disappointment that we learn your negative judgement concerning the breakfast: we always...

Vilassar de mar
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The room was a little small, but with beautiful tiled floors and a cute little bathroom. The hotel is on a main pedestrian street full of restaurants, shops, and very close to the train station and the bus stop for the airport. But the best is the staff. We had the most wonderful breakfasts included with homemade cappuccinos and scrambled...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeannette L
Carettoni, Manager at Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feelings with all the readers of TripAdvisor and with us. We are so pleased to hear what a splendid impression our Hotel has made on you, and very flattered by your compliments to our staff, very grateful to receive them. We are waiting you come back soon for another wonderful stay. Best Regards....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Where do I start... I paid about 180 euro in total for 1 night. What I got was a dark pokey box of a room, that looked nothing like the picture on the website. A mouldy rotting ceiling in the bathroom A TV with no remote You have to check in via another hotel A feeling the room was dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Crux_ki
Herning, Denmark
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My daughters first visit to Venice. Hotel situated just 300 mtrs from the railroad station on a "tourist trap" street. Nice room with air condition, but costly (as it is in Venice). Breakfast not included.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank STLHerning
Carettoni, Manager at Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comment. Here we affirm that our prices are not so much costly, on the contrary, in our class we are one of the most competitive Hotel in Venice (as can be easily seen). Our quality and our location certainly don't disappoint the offer. The breakfast is continental style, at a cost of 5,00 euro...

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Spent two nights here as a solo traveller in July 2012. Location was excellent - I walked out of the train station and the hotel was literally a few hundred metres on the left in a busy street with lots of shops, cafes and gelato stands. I had to wait about 15 minutes in reception before I could check in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ema51n
Carettoni, Manager at Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your thorough review. We are so pleased that you have appreciated the friendliness and carreful of our staff, who thanks you sincerely. We specify and guarantee, as you mention it, that the WI-FI is perfectly working just in the hotel hall, and because of this motive you found troubles with the connection in your room....

Sumter, South Carolina
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was my second stay at the Antica. Small, european rooms, that are clean. The shower is tiny but always had hot water. The location is on the main street in front of the train station. The continental breakfast is okay. It was much better the first time I stayed. The staff is amazingly friendly and knowledgeable about the city....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rthomas34
Carettoni, Manager at Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were so pleased to had you as our guest, and we want to thank you for the comliments. Your nice review make us proud, because it underlines the dedication and quality of our facility with sincerity. Looking forward for your welcome come back, with the Best Regards. Antica Casa Carettoni.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Staying in Cannaregio

Neighborhood Profile
Cannaregio
Cannaregio is the second largest sestiere (district) with its busy Santa Lucia train station. Many transplanted Venetians commute from the outlying areas, “terra firma” to the locals, which is shorthand for any place that is not Venice. Two Grand Canal bridges serve Cannaregio, the newest (Constitution, 2008) still a local hotbed of controversy. Ponte degli Scalzi is a busy link to the train station. Nearby shops on the Lista di Spagna offer specialties like pastries and coffee that lure Venetians with a down-to-earth attitude. The Ghetto, where the Jewish population was segregated in Cannaregio, has five historic synagogues with an active Jewish community. The Fondamente Nove bustles with foot traffic to the Rialto and San Marco while vaporettos (water taxis) head to Murano and other islands. Side streets lead into quiet picturesque neighborhoods and palaces like Ca' d'Oro rise directly out of the water.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni

Address: Rio Tera Lista di Spagna Cannaregio 130 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy (Formerly Hotel Moderno)
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Price Range: $246 - $1,065 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderno Hotel Venice
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Room Nr. 11 , windows not to main street”
, Mar 3, 2017 | Read review
“For me, it MUST be QUIET. Ask for a room facing back of the house, not Lista da Spagna.”
tesoro7, May 11, 2016 | Read review
“It might be worth asking for a room not overlooking the main street. Also see if a larger shower cabinet is available.”
104steven, May 9, 2016 | Read review
“we stayed in 210. There is no reason what so ever to moan about anything. Simple, plain, clean and pleasant.”
lisamwil, Jan 20, 2015 | Read review
“we had room 123 on ground floor”
SusanD387, Oct 14, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question