We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Hotel Locanda Gaffaro

Corte Del Gallo - Dorsoduro 3589, 30123 Venice, Italy
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Locanda Gaffaro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 125: English reviews
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a nice hotel, good room, good service, friendly staff. Very difficult to find the hotel, spotty wi-fi but good overall location. Good value for amenities, efficient use of space although everything is somewhat cramped.

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank drjay81
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2016

My husband and I stayed here for three nights. Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor, I knew what to expect. We had a second-floor room that was not spacious, but adequate for two people. Breakfast is only served during a 90-minute window and if you can't make that window, you're out of luck. But it was a satisfactory continental... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ringnab
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2016 via mobile

Three of us spent two nights cramped into small loft whereby we could only stand upright in half the room space. The bathroom was tiny - we could not raise our arms to wash hair in the shower; we could not sit on toilet without knocking knees on bidet. Despite outside cold, we kept the window open all night because... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 5ContinentsTraveller
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2016

Hotel only a 5 min walk from bus station and 10 min from train station. Located in a quiet location of Venice, it was easy to get to everything. Staff was helpful, breakfast was delicious and brought to our room every morning. Would definitely come back and would highly recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank Theresa G
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2016

This aint a hotel rather just a lodge or B&B. Its run by a local and do not have any traits of a hotel. Probably the guys doesnt even know what a hotel is. Its just an old building transformed into hotel with some minor structure changes. Room wasnt ready when we reached and no bell boy concept. We had... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Dapinder_Dhillon
north carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2015

This is not a hotel, it is a B&B. They do not have full time service in the building, and particularly not at night. There is essentially no service except checkin/out, room maintenance and breakfast. But I have no complaints of any serious level. I stayed 4 nights in October, 2015. The owner/manager is seldom to be found or seen,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank roadgard
gaffaro, Proprietario at Hotel Locanda Gaffaro, responded to this review
Google Translation

Grazie per la Sua recensione . Terremo presente le Sue considerazioni per migliorare il nostro servizio nei limiti di una... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

My husband and I recently visited Italy for our honeymoon. Due to a storm in the Mediterranean, we left Sardegna a day early and headed for the mainland. After a 10 hour ferry ride to the main land, we were welcomed to this hotel with the horrid smell of cigarettes and a grumpy owner named Peter. We had a long... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney E
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2015

The hotel is 10 min walk from Plaza Roma, where you can take people mover to cruise terminal. I stayed in their best room: family room with belcony, excellent service and included breakfast. If hotel could use better bed, I will give it a perfect score.

Helpful?
Thank siwei7686
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015

The hotel is in a good location, near the bus and train stations, yet in a quiet area. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great. My only complaint is the mosquitoes. There was air-conditioning, but we didn't use it because the nights were cool.

Helpful?
1 Thank luna f
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015

Rated this place based on 5 criteria Location - 4 stars -Close to the train station -more "local" neighbourhood than staying near St. Marco Square Breakfast - 3 stars -they'll make you Cappuccino if you order it -they have croissants -other food quality is ok -quantity is limited Room - 1 star -not sure about the other rooms, but we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shaheen G
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Malcanton
Hotel Al Malcanton
#217 of 387 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Alla Corte Rossa
Alla Corte Rossa
#210 of 387 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Falier
Hotel Falier
#186 of 387 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Locanda Herion
Locanda Herion
#168 of 387 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel ai Tolentini
Hotel ai Tolentini
#234 of 387 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Santa Croce
Gardena Hotel
Gardena Hotel
#171 of 387 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Santa Croce

Neighborhood Profile
Santa Croce
Santa Croce gained importance as a sestiere (district) when Piazzale Roma was created in the 1930s to bring cars and buses close to the center of Venice. Constitution Bridge spans the Grand Canal linking Piazzale Roma to the train station. This area buzzes with energy from travelers and students. Historic palaces and former industrial buildings house some departments of Ca' Foscari and IUAV Architecture universities. On the Fondaco dei Turchi, Venice's Museum of Natural History offers Venetians prehistoric thrills, plus an overview of lagoon fish and wildlife. The Grand Canal, northern boundary of Santa Croce, is lined with palaces and decorated by the tall green dome of San Simeon Piccolo. Ca' Pesaro attracts Venetians to its contemporary art exhibitions. The Grand Canal exposes only one face of these buildings. On the opposite side, the palace often interacts with a square or a busy street to represent its neighborhood identity.
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Hotel Locanda Gaffaro

Address: Corte Del Gallo - Dorsoduro 3589, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Price Range: $91 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Locanda Gaffaro 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Locanda Gaffaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Gaffaro Hotel
Locanda Gaffaro Venice
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay