We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Danieli, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Venice

Save
Share
Castello, 4196 Riva degli Schiavoni, 30122 Venice Italy
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
LuxuryCollection
$429
View Deal
Free cancellation until 11/07/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (3429)
360
Panoramas (16)
Room & Suite (1049)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 06/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Danieli, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Venice
Updated 06/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#117 of 405 hotels in Venice
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Luxury, sophistication, and timeless elegance combined with contemporary comfort. This is what to expect when you choose to stay at Hotel Danieli. Evoking the opulence for which Venice is known, you'll find us right next to Piazza San Marco, placing the masterpieces of Venetian art at your doorstep. Accompanying you home long after your visit are the magnificent panoramas to be enjoyed from Restaurant Terrazza Danieli and the Danieli Bistro, exceptionally matched with eno-culinary journeys of indigenous ingredients.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Rooftop bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Concierge
Newspaper
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
269Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
173Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
Neighborhood
Castello
Castello is the largest of the six sestieri (districts), and the only one not facing onto the Grand Canal. More than half of Castello is situated within Arsenale, the naval base, which occupies over one-fifth the area of Venice. This gentrified maritime neighborhood feels busy but casual. Castello’s side streets are laid back, with small boats lining canals criss-crossed by laundry. Semiannual exhibitions add a strong artsy current to the Arsenale area. Via Garibaldi in Castello, with its shops and bars, has one of Venice's rare straight and wide boulevards. When a large ship turns around the Lido to enter the Giudecca Canal, the startling sight creates an illusion that it will run aground right on Via Garibaldi! Families treasure Giardini near the island's tip, green with rare trees and grass, and Riva degli Schiavoni is a popular spot for Venetians to take a stroll to watch the sunset.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
3,931Reviews79Q+A100Room tips

Reviews

Earn 100 points towards your next badge level for every review you write
Traveler rating
  • 2,415
  • 813
  • 360
  • 198
  • 145
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Heather wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We booked a family trip to stay at Hotel Danieli in June 2020. When COVID hit and it was apparent we would not be able to make our scheduled trip we were informed through Marriott that we would receive a refund (we have the email that states this exactly). However, Hotel Danieli will NOT refund us our money. Furthering the terrible customer service of Hotel Danieli we were going to pass our 2 rooms onto friends in Italy since the hotel would not honor their commitment of refunding us our money. Hotel Danieli would not honor this alternative either as they had closed their doors and no guests were allowed to stay at their hotel. The customer service is non-existent, we understand the plight they were facing, yet they will not give us the same courtesy. If this is how they treat upcoming guests I cannot imagine the actual stay!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Danieli Bistrot, Marketing at Hotel Danieli, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Venice
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest, Hope this email finds you and your family well. We are sorry for your disappointment regarding your cancelled reservation. We know that our CEO, Mr. Sorenson, sent the communication you have mentioned. However, on our official website, there were the specification that some exclusions may be applied and that the form of refund may be subject to applicable laws where each hotel is located. Further The Decree-Law 17 March 2020, n. 18 (so-called "Italian Care Decree"), we are giving the opportunity to our guests, that reserved prepaid non-changeable and non-refundable rates, to use the amount already paid for a future stay at our property, within the validity of the voucher. Therefore any accommodation reservations made but not consummated due the Covid-19 emergency ( including the closure of the hotel) must be reimbursed by issuing a voucher. We know this period has many variables and may be not easy to plan a trip. We would like to give you the possibility to change your reservation in 2021 in a more convenient and enjoyable moment and for this reason we are pleased to extend the validity of your voucher until 31st December 2021 Dear Valued Guest, we seek for your understanding. Thank you for choosing Marriott, and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Kind regards Silver Carpanese Resident Manager
Read more
RSG wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution8 helpful votes
We left the Danieli hotel extremely dissatisfied! So much so that I am writing my very first review on Tripadvisor despite being an avid traveller. Travelling about 3 months of the year, we are accustomed to staying at the finest hotels around the world. If you seek palatial luxury and excellence in service, the Danieli is certainly NOT the hotel. The splendor and grandiosity of this hotel is but a distant memory. What remains of this historic hotel are its walls and yesteryear reputation. To say the hotel is in decadence and decline would be an understatement. Literally everything is old (not in a charming way), worn out and grubby looking. Avoid looking at the details or it would be a real eye sore! No doubt, this property is in desperate need of major refurbishments. The overall service is a reflection of the hotel. Service is poor to non-existent, probably more suited to a 2 star establishment. In all our travels we have not experienced this. I called housekeeping and the concierge answered the phone. I went down to the reception but no one was around and so the concierge dealt with my needs. No doormen or bell boy to be seen at anytime during our stay. It seems like the hotel is under staffed and/or staffed with unqualified people. The efficient concierge seems to be handling more than the traditional hotel concierge tasks. As we had booked with Amex FHR, we were upgraded to a room with a lagoon view and while the view is splendid, the room itself is mediocre and shabby with an outdated bathroom. The towels and slippers provided were tacky and of very low quality. If it hadn’t been for the view we wouldn’t have even stayed a night. At breakfast, when you request for freshly squeezed juice they confirm it is possible but instead deceive and serve stale bottled juice. Choice and quality of food is poor or low average at best. Service at the table was very brusque, inattentive and unrefined. We had lunch at the Terrace restaurant. The food was unremarkable but compensated by the spectacular view of the lagoon. After lunch, my husband had forgotten his phone on the table, he went back 3 minutes later and all 4 people on duty insisted they did not see any phone on the table. Perplexed, I tried calling my husband’s phone twice, someone had declined the calls!!!! So I immediately started the find my iphone alert which made a loud beeping noise and miraculously my husband’s phone was found in the kitchen area! Apparently, the person who had cleared our table did not see the black iphone on the white table cloth!!!! And somehow the iphone ended up in the back kitchen. This is a scandalous and pathetic act that never should have happened. It definitely puts a bitter taste in our mouths and created a bad souvenir. The next morning, Mr Carpanese, the Resident Manger spoke to us about the incident. While we appreciated his elegance, he provided no clarifications. Instead, he offered to invite us for one night at the hotel should we accept to stay on an extra night. However, after our very unpleasant experience, it would be unimaginable to ever consider staying another night only to prolong our discontent. We don’t need, wish or expect for any freebies. We just desire for good service and a comfortable stay, which unfortunately the Danieli so terribly failed to deliver. We actually felt so relieved and happy to check out of the hotel, we even curtailed our stay in Venice and headed straight to the airport. We had enough! The Danieli claims to provide « Luxury, Sophistication and Timeless Elegance » what a BIG JOKE! It is extremely surprising that the Danieli still maintains its 5 star ranking and is recognized by the American Express Fine Hotels and Resorts. We have stayed at several other hotels in Venice booked via the Amex FHR which were much more luxurious and befitting than the Danieli. Comparatively, the rooms at the Danieli were lower priced and now we understand why. As the saying goes........You get what you pay for! Sent from my iPhone
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
13 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Danieli Bistrot, Marketing at Hotel Danieli, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Venice
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback concerning your recent stay with us. Please accept my personal apologies for your disappointment, your description does not absolutely correspond to what is expected to be found in a hotel of our caliber. We always welcome both positive and negative comments as they are an important instrument to evaluate and improve our level of service. The renovation of the Hotel Danieli an on-going process, the room we assigned you is a recently completely renovated room with a marble bathroom and I am sorry that the room was not to your liking. Regarding what occurred with your mobile at breakfast, I can only assume that it was a serious distraction by our attendant during table clearing, please accept our deepest regrets. I confirm you that the new situation has forced us to drastically change the way we do provide most of our services, in effect from the hotel reopening after the lockdown, we do not deny some difficulties in managing the new normal; but the quality of the products served is always guaranteed at the highest levels. I would have been glad that you had accepted the offer to stay as our guest one more night, in which case I could have let you know what our usual level of service is. The offer is still valid and in occasion of your next visit to Venice, I will be pleased to welcome you personally. Yours sincerely, Gianrico Esposito General Manager
Read more
Sofi wrote a review Mar 2020
Dublin, Ireland18 contributions5 helpful votes
I stayed here for a night during my visit to Venice. I knew the hotel was used for the movie THE TOURIST and as a massive Angelina Jolie fan, I just wanted to have that shared experience ... It was a last minute booking, so I was very pleased when the staff informed me that a room was indeed available. My finacee and I had a cheese board and a couple pf cocktails in the bar downstairs as we were not in the mood for dinner.. There was live music and the service was fantastic. Yes, it is pricey but we were expecting that. The room was as luxurious as it can be for a standard room. I loved every minute of it (the bed and bedding are exceptional) and I left with a big smile on my face the next day. Loved it!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Areeya T wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution9 helpful votes
I would suggest you not to stay at this hotel. I have experienced worst customer service ever!! To start with: here is what happened. I book the hotel for 2 nights at the end of APR 2020 with the total cost of 1084 euro. I plan to take my 65+ years old mum to Italy during Thailand long holiday. However, given the outbreak of Covid-19, I have decided to cancel the trip for health reason (Covid- 19 is deadly for elder so I am concerned on the health of my mum as well as for myself). I emailed the hotel on 25 FEB to ask for a refund and explained to them that I shall postpone/ or cancel my trip. I am aware that I book under the non refundable condition" but again in this case, i feel that there should be an exception. Nonetheless, the hotel insist on charging full amount (with no extension of date and whatsoever). When the situation got worsen -- Italy announced on the lock down of its country and my flight got cancelled since Thai government banned the citizen from travelling to Italy- I emailed the hotel again, this time asking for their hotel policy should they allow any refund or extension -- AGAIN, No refund and no extension. At this point, I was mad and after the 4th email explaining everything in details about my difficulties-- the hotel agrees to give me "hotel credit" with the condition that I have to inform them my next travel date. I told them that i would like to have full refund since I have already cancelled my flight and have no intention of visiting Italy this year. Then..... on this day (13 Mar 2020) I was informed by the credit card that the hotel just charged me another 1084 euro. Meaning they have double charge me on the amount that I have requested a refund and they charged me without getting my approval or even informing me. The first 1084euro was paid since 10 JAN 2020. In total the hotel charged me 2168 euro. This is unacceptable and very unprofessional of this hotel. I am very displease and I don't think I will ever visit this hotel again. For those of you who consider staying at this hotel, i urge you to think twice. In normal situation, this hotel might be ok, However, in your time of need -- this hotel will surely put their own benefits and profits above everything else. A hotel plan to charge you even if their country got lock down/ no shop open/ your flight was cancelled and your government issue travel banned. Maybe in your 4th persistent email (and several international phone calls on your own expense), they might get annoyed and might agree to give you hotel credit with the condition of you have to inform them the travel date ---------- oh they might double charge you without informing you too!! To me, this show the level of ethic and humanity of the hotel which is extremely low. Given that i have cancelled my trip, I need to contact many hotel, The Lugarno collection and Bulgari hotel allows me a full refund on the 1st request. (i also booked with them under non refundable clause) To make the matter worse, I am also the gold member for Marriott Bonvoy. This has me considered should I stay at any marriott chain again. For those of you who wants to see the email threads -- please email me at areeyaorn@gmail.com
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Service
9 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
HeatherMegaMauriFan wrote a review Feb 2020
London211 contributions226 helpful votes
We had an afternoon Tea experience at this wonderful luxury hotel (actually it was for 3 people) and it was a surprise. The downstairs reception area is a "work of art" in style and glamour, as well as being very comfortable. There are beautiful stained glass windows and Murano Chandeliers to show case the surroundings and make your experience sumptuous. We did not know what to expect from an Italian tea, having only the English High Tea to compare it with. We had finger sandwiches, fresh scones, the local carnival cakes, patisserie delights, prosecco and a selection of teas. With the hectic sightseeing of St.Mark's Square it was a refreshing counterbalance in a very relaxing setting.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$376 - $712 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ItalyVenetoProvince of VeniceCity of VeniceVeniceCastello
NUMBER OF ROOMS
204
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Danieli, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Venice
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Danieli, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Venice?
Nearby attractions include Doge's Palace (0.1 miles), Basilica di San Marco (0.1 miles), and Piazza San Marco (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Danieli, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Venice?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Danieli, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Venice?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Danieli, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Venice?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Danieli, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Venice?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ristorante La Piazza, Ristorante Alle Corone, and TUTTINPIEDI.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Danieli, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Venice?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Does Hotel Danieli, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Venice have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Danieli, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Venice offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Danieli, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Venice located near the city center?
Yes, it is 1.0 miles away from the center of Venice.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Danieli, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Venice?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Danieli, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Venice offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Danieli, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Venice?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Italian.