We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Milan

Save
Share
9 Piazza Duca d'Aosta, 20124 Milan Italy
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Epicurean Escape
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
LuxuryCollection$463
Expedia.com$461
Hotels.com$461
Travelocity$461
Priceline$460
ZenHotels.com$685
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1677)
Room & Suite (637)
Videos (3)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 06/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Milan
Updated 06/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#30 of 461 hotels in Milan
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.7
Value
4.4
Travelers' Choice
Excelsior Hotel Gallia reflects the glittering essence of Milan's sophistication. Originally opened in 1932, the hotel has been completely renovated by renowned Milanese designer Marco Piva. An architectural jewel of belle epoque grandeur, Piva has created an extraordinary new destination in the city of style.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Rooftop bar
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Safe
VIP room facilities
Laptop safe
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 4 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Epicurean Escape
1568Reviews44Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,267
  • 203
  • 41
  • 23
  • 34
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
RR22RR wrote a review Oct 3
Washington DC, District of Columbia245 contributions155 helpful votes
What a great hotel and staff! This was an unexpected find – I have been to Milan many times and never stayed at this hotel. Since it was near the centrale station, I thought it was more of a short term stay hotel without the luxury touches that great hotels in Milan have. I was wrong – the Gallia exceed all expectations and is certainly a great Milan hotel. The staff is incredibly attentive and professional – they go to great lengths to ensure your stay is impeccable. From the moment you arrive until departure, it seems as if you are the only guest at the hotel and they want you to experience all it has to offer. The décor is astonishingly beautiful - built in 1930s in belle epoque style. Its exterior is reminiscent of the old great hotels and the contemporary interior is sophisticated and comfortable. My room had furnishings designed by Achille Castiglioni – fitting in perfectly in the splendid designed shell. The rooms are super comfortable with every possible modern convenience and VERY quiet. Location is great – short walk to new financial center, city center, Brera and Corso Como. This is my new go to hotel in Milan. The only problem I had was check out – I wish I could have stayed much longer.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
YoaRobe wrote a review Jul 2022
Florida114 contributions54 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
This hotel is by far the best hotel we’ve stayed at in Europe. Everything, from the room size, the hotel location, the breakfast products, to the great service we received from every member of the staff. Everyone was super courteous and friendly, always willing to help. The breakfast staff was the greatest. They are always attentive, willing to help and very worried that you are 100% satisfied. The rooms were very spacious, clean, and everything was very well maintained. We had to call maintenance to unclog the bathroom sink and were impressed with the speed and effectiveness of the hotel staff. Location-wise, it’s a little far from the city center. It’s right next door to the Central Station, but it’s about 30 minutes walk to the Duomo and the Castello. You can always rent one of the electric scooters parked around the station. We used them to move around and it was a great experience. I highly recommend to go to the top floor and have some drinks or snacks on the hotel rooftop bar/restaurant. We didn’t have dinner, but went up for drinks and it was a great experience.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Have some drinks at the terrace and use the electric scooters to move around the city.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gianrico Esposito, Other at Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Milan
Responded Aug 3, 2022
Dear 'YoaRobe' Thank you very much for taking time to share such wonderful review. We are so pleased that you were 'wow-ed' by our hotel and the service delivered by our Team. Everyone here takes pride in what we do and it's through feedback like yours that we continue to always try our best. Your review makes a difference to us and it is incredibly helpful as a way to introduce others to the five star service that we provide. It has been a pleasure to have you staying with us and we hope it will not be too long before we have the opportunity of welcoming you back. Kind regards, Gianrico Esposito General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BabyBoomerCouple wrote a review Sep 2022
New York City, New York76 contributions67 helpful votes
We arrived at the Excelsior Gallia after an exhausting multi-day train tour, and after 3 days at the hotel left refreshed and happy. We had a large quiet room on the 4th floor with a fantastic ultramodern shower/bath setup, comfy king size bed and beautiful amenities. During our stay we ate at the formal restaurant as well as the outdoor bar, and enjoyed friendly prompt service and delicious food in both venues. Pricing was reasonable as compared with NYC. On our last day I splurged on a facial and massage at their Shiseido spa with therapist Anna, who did a great job and was wonderful to talk to. We've travelled a lot, and really feel this hotel is top level. Grazie mille!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Larry P wrote a review Sep 2022
Lakeland, Florida51 contributions32 helpful votes
This hotel is a Marriott Bonvoy member and I have Platinum Elite Status. This means that I travel a lot and stay at Marriott hotels at least 60 days a year so I find myself bewildered when there is not a simple solution to a simple problem. My reservation was for a room with a view of the Piazza, which is quite beautiful. When I made my reservation the Piazza room, king was over $100 dollars more per night than the room without a view. (See my 2 photos so you can see why). After unpacking we took a look out out patio door to see rooftops. When I asked management why we did not get room we booked I was told that hotel is full because of conventions in city and they made a mistake and they could move us to Piazza room tomorrow. We are on a 2 month trip throughout Italy and have 5 large suitcases. The last thing we want to do is unpack for one night and spend first tour day making to another room. I suggested deducting the difference in price from our bill. Not a minor amount for 5 nights stay. I was told there was no difference in price, which is not correct, and therefore if I did not want to change room the next day it is not their problem anymore. Marriott is my favorite hotel chain but of course traveling over 4 months a year we book other hotels as well. This type of experience will move Bonvoy out of 1st choice in future bookings.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gianrico Esposito, Other at Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Milan
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Mr. Larry P Thank you for taking time to share with us your feedback. We are sorry to read about your disappointment caused by the room allocation and that this has made your entire stay experience less than desirable. As a highly valued Marriott Bonvoy member, we appreciate your open feedback and I would be glad if you could reach out to me directly at gianrico.esposito@luxurycollection.com in order to further discuss this matter. Please accept our apologies if we have not provided you with a level of standards that you expected to receive and that we set to ourselves. We nevertheless hope to have another opportunity to welcome you to our property; we all would do our utmost for a memorable stay. Thank you and kind regards, Gianrico Esposito General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeff wrote a review Sep 2022
Los Angeles, California6 contributions
The room we originally booked didn't live up to our expectations as it faced the street cars that run outside the hotel and the curtains weren't working properly. We asked to be moved and the very helpful people at the front desk offered us an amazing alternative in one of the nicer suites in the hotel. The room was more than we could ask for and was probably the most comfortable room we had on our 2 week trip through Europe. Breakfast was brought to the room each morning and amazing. The location next to the train station was super convenient as we did a number of day trips. The staff was excellent as well. Would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a high end hotel that gives you easy access to the train station for day trips around northern Italy.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The Panoramic rooms overlook the street car tracks and can be a bit noisy during the day and into...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jay B wrote a review Sep 2022
Seattle, Washington11 contributions3 helpful votes
We had a small room. Unfortunately the location of the room did face the street cars that run all night long. This and the very warm room (AC did not work) caused for several nights of uncomfortable sleep. We would not return.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gianrico Esposito, Other at Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Milan
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear 'jhcdotcom' Thank you for taking time to share with us your feedback. We are sorry to learn that you consider your recent experience "just ok" and that you were not satisfied with your room. We apologize for the inconvenience that occurred with the air-conditioning. Guests' happiness and satisfaction is always our priority hence we regret that the above matters have put such negative spin on your overall impression of our hotel. While we truly wish you had a most enjoyable visit and we understand that you are not considering to return, we do hope that in the future you might reconsider to stay with us on another occasion giving us the possibility to have you as our Guest again. We would go above and beyond in order to leave you with a long lasting impression for the right reasons. Kind regards, Gianrico Esposito General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
S P wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
+1
We're staying in the hotel now, so this is being written in real time. Simply stated, this hotel is a disgrace. In our room a portion of the wall covering is torn and actually missing, the carpet is badly stained, the bathroom floor is filthy (I can't imagine when it was last cleaned), and the bathroom door does not shut--the door is so misaligned that it does not fit into the door frame, remaining open. It has obviously been this way for a while, betraying management's attitude toward guests. We've stayed in grand hotels all over the world. We anticipated a similar experience. Instead, we were charged for a very expensive, very poorly maintained third-class room. Photos are available. Avoid at all costs.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gianrico Esposito, Other at Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Milan
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear 'S P' Thank you for taking time to share your review here on TripAdvisor. Please allow me to extend my most sincere apologies once again for the number of inconveniences that you have encountered while staying at our Hotel. I regret that your experience did not reflect the level of standard that you anticipated to receive and that we set to ourselves. I am however glad that I had a chance to meet you in person, it has been a great pleasure, although I wish we have met under different circumstances. As mentioned during our conversation, I highly appreciate and thank you for your feedback, it has been taken into highest consideration and it is being followed up internally. I remain at your disposal and I do hope that next time you visit Milan you will give us another possibility to have you as our Guests. We would most certainly go above and beyond in order to leave you with a long lasting impression for the right reasons. Kind regards Gianrico Esposito General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John wrote a review Aug 2022
Irvine, California, United States32 contributions33 helpful votes
good location, very close to the Milan central train station and also to the metro station. The cable car station is a couple of blocks away which is less than 3 minutes walking. The hotel has great modern decor inside as well. The approximately to the cable cars means that some of the rooms will get traffic noise all day. Also, there are no ramps around the lobby, so you have to lift up your luggage. Despite the small inconveniences, the location of this hotel is great and can't be beaten.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gianrico Esposito, Other at Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Milan
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear '10kdragon' Thank you for taking time to share with us your kind review. We are happy to read that overall your stay here at the Excelsior Hotel Gallia was enjoyable. We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back next time you visit Milan. Kind regards, Gianrico Esposito General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
windycityfamily wrote a review Aug 2022
Chicago, IL370 contributions168 helpful votes
+1
Marriott titanium member, upgraded using my SNA to the Atelier suite!!!!! 1 bedroom, 1.5 baths, very luxurious. Across the street from the Centrale train making it an easy location if arriving from MXP. From the beginning Francesca made us feel welcome at checkin, breakfast amenity for 2 (40€ pp), pool, etc etc. Room was available for check in at 11a. Spacious, well stocked room with nightly turn down service (we never needed it because we were out most of the day). They sent a lovely gift for our anniversary and a snack on the 3rd evening. Breakfast was a wonderful buffet of fruit, pastries, meat, etc with made to order eggs, hash brown and terrified service. Pool and hot tub were nice to have for an evening soak after walking all day. It was a good way to relax prior to dining out. Alessandro was very helpful at the concierge for directions and when we needed packing tape for a box of gifts. The hotel is about 1.5 miles from the Galleria/Duomo which we walked several times but also easy to get on the M2/M3 if needed. Lovely experience, lovely hotel and a definitive recommendation if you’re traveling to Milan. Upon leaving, man at the desk asked we were headed and I said the St. Regis in Venice and hopefully it would be equally fabulous. He said “it will be amazing”. If it’s amazing compared to the Excelsior that will be incredible.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Be nice, the staff is so accommodating.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gianrico Esposito, Other at Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Milan
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear 'windycityfamily' Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel and the service your received, we greatly appreciate it and we feel proud that we managed to make your experience this extra special. Everyone here takes pride in what we do and it's through feedback like yours that we continue to always try our best. It is wonderful to know that your stay was fabulous all around and we cannot wait to welcome you back next time you visit Milan. Kind regards, Gianrico Esposito General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Fredi879 wrote a review Aug 2022
London, United Kingdom138 contributions56 helpful votes
Value for money we are not there. Staff very friendly, room spaces ok but overpriced. Valet parking not available. Client has to pay to park the car during night. I had not chance to visit the restaurant but the lounge at roof bar had high price
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gianrico Esposito, Other at Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Milan
Responded Aug 16, 2022
Dear 'Fredi879' Thank you for taking time to share with us your review which we have read carefully and we are sorry that your stay experience was not entirely in line with your expectations. Your open feedback is genuinely appreciated and we are pleased to read your compliments towards our colleagues as well as our rooms. Thank you once again for sharing your views and we nevertheless hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel on another occasion. Kind regards, Gianrico Esposito General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$414 - $817 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
le meridien gallia hotel milan, le meridien hotel milan, le meridien milan, milan le meridien
LOCATION
ItalyLombardyMilanStazione Centrale / Zone 2
NUMBER OF ROOMS
237
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Milan
Which popular attractions are close to Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Milan?
Nearby attractions include Palazzo Lombardia (0.2 miles), Milano Centrale (0.1 miles), and Grattacielo Pirelli (0.09 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Milan?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a rooftop bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Milan?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Milan?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Milan?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Milan?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ta Bonu! Culurgiones Bar & Gourmet Sardo, Antica Gelateria Sartori, and MU Dimsum.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Milan?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Milan have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Milan offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Milan have airport transportation?
Yes, Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Milan offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Milan?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Milan?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.