We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Auberge Sur Mer

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Auberge Sur Mer
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 33: English reviews
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2016

We made reservations at the restaurant for 8pm. On arriving just minutes before 8pm I gave my name to the lady who greeted us but she ignored it, and did not check it on any list .We were told there were no tables available now,yet there were definitely some vacant and told us to sit in the lounge area to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lunaraker
Aubergesurmer, Responsable réception at Auberge Sur Mer, responded to this review

Hello, We are really sorry that you had to wait for your dinner. On busy nights it is often not possible to arrive before the time of your reservation and there could be a little 10 minutes of wait to give you the best table as possible. At the end of the season it is sometimes hard to evaluate how... More 

Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2016 via mobile

This is a charming old inn with adjacent motel rooms. Both are right on the water. What makes this place special in my opinion, is the restaurant. They have skilled servers and chef. I'd recommend including the optional dinner and breakfast...worth every penny! Bon voyage!

Helpful?
Thank Eileen D
Aubergesurmer, Responsable réception at Auberge Sur Mer, responded to this review

Hello Miss Eileen, Thank you so much for that great review ! Your satisfaction really is our reward. We hope to see you again. Thank you ! More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2016

We stayed on our way travelling from Moncton, N.B. to Mt. Tremblant. We were to stay in the main building (which looks absolutely beautiful), but because we were early and our room wasn't ready, we were offered an "upgrade" room in the attached hotel section. The room was very clean and comfortable, but dated. We assume the "update" must have... More 

Helpful?
Thank SharonDon O
Aubergesurmer, Responsable réception at Auberge Sur Mer, responded to this review

Hello Mrs ans Mr O. Thank you for the great review! I think that you agree that being so close to the water is a nice upgrade to any kind of room. We did renovations on a lot of rooms this summer and we are still upgrading the other ones. We really are famous for the quality of the restaurant,... More 

Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2016 via mobile

We had dinner in this restaurant and it was the best dinner we had in our stay in Canada. Delicious ! Surprising mains, definitively extremely good. The personnel is very nice and quick. The place is old style decorated and classy. We loved this dinner.

Helpful?
1 Thank Oriana P
Aubergesurmer, Responsable réception at Auberge Sur Mer, responded to this review

Bonjour Mrs. Oriana, Thank you so much for this review. We work very hard to keep that good reputation and we are pleased to read this nice comment. We hope to see you again in the future ! More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2016

Ae have been driving from Toronto to the east for many years. We have tried stopping in various places...Quebec City, Levis, Edmonston. But we have settled on Notre-Dame Du-Portage as the perfect place to stop. We have probably stayed there now on 10 occasions for a single night on our journey. You can stay at a simple clean room in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
Aubergesurmer, Responsable réception at Auberge Sur Mer, responded to this review

Dear Mr Robert, You made our day with that nice review ! It is our best reward to know that our visitors are happy with us. L'Auberge sur Mer is a nice stop in between Ontario and PEI or New-Brunswick and many people choose to stay with us every year. We hope to see you again. Thank you ! More 

1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2016

The place is amazing but when I got there one room I had booked was not reserved for me. Don't trust this place. I was then overcharged (paid the price for a room with river view and got a back view, with no good conversation or apologies but bad treatment. And I also saw a French guest left our of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Norton L
Aubergesurmer, Responsable réception at Auberge Sur Mer, responded to this review

Hello Mr Norton, We don't understand your comment. We do not recall such a situation this summer ! Are you sure you were here at L'Auberge sur Mer of Notre-Dame-du-Portage ? You can be sure that we do our best to see all our clients happy. You can contact us directly at info@aubergesurmer.ca and we will clarify what happened that... More 

Hellertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2016

We came on a rainy day when the river was hidden by fog. The restaurant was fantastic - I wish we had been able to enjoy the sunsets everyone saw. We were warned that our room, in the older section of the inn over the restaurant, might be noisy, but we didn't experience that at all. Rooms are a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jan C
Aubergesurmer, Responsable réception at Auberge Sur Mer, responded to this review

Hello Mr Jan, Thank you for this review. Indeed, the sunset here is one of the best in the world. We hope you will have a better weather next time so you can enjoy the magnificient colors of the sky ! Thanks for staying with us. More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2016

Auberge sur Mer is an old three-story wooden building with a two floor motel adjoining it. The third floor rooms in the main building are tiny, cramped, with no space to put luggage down other than the floor. There was no decent reading light, but there was a twelve-inch television. The "beach" is rocky/pebbly and the water cold so plan... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill M
Aubergesurmer, Responsable réception at Auberge Sur Mer, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for you comment. The rooms on the 3rd floor are not the best. We agree that they are smaller and we always beware our visitors of that fact. However, many people like those because they have a very low price. I would recommend you the room in the motel section they are much bigger and overlooking the... More 

Rosemere, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2016

I am very familiar and fond of that area. My family tree brings me to the lower St-Lawrence at least every 5 years or so. I love Notre-Dame-du-Portage for it's view of the river as well as it's history. I usually only stay 1 night as we are driving through the area but this time I made it our destination.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peggy H
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2016

My room on the main floor had a beautiful view of the water. The room smelled and felt damp. I was lucky that the guests were quiet (mostly old folks) but when they got up at 4am to take their showers, you could hear everything. I have to say that the food at the restaurant was UNBELIEVABLE. I had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharonstp
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (38)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Notre-Dame-du-Portage
2.3 mi away
Auberge du Portage
Auberge du Portage
#1 of 2 in Notre-Dame-du-Portage
70 reviews
5.6 mi away
Auberge de la Pointe
Auberge de la Pointe
#3 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
375 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Levesque
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Levesque
#1 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Universel
Hotel Universel
#6 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
319 reviews
3.5 mi away
Days Inn - Riviere-du-Loup
Days Inn - Riviere-du-Loup
#4 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
417 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B Chute Couette Cafe
B&B Chute Couette Cafe
#1 of 3 in Notre-Dame-du-Portage
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Auberge Sur Mer

Address: Du Fleuve Rd | 363, Notre-Dame-du-Portage, Quebec G0L 1Y0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Notre-Dame-du-Portage
Price Range: $82 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Sur Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Auberge Sur Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Sur Mer Notre-Dame-Du-Portage, Quebec
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Auberge Sur Mer staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Motel rooms are average. Suggest trying a room in the main building.”
 of 5 bubbles SharonDonO, Sep 16, 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from the third floor rooms, and from the front where road noise can be bothersome.”
 of 5 bubbles Bill_and_Daniele, Aug 1, 2016 | Read review
“I stayed on the second floor of the motel section. I enjoyed the view and not having anyone upstairs from me.”
 of 5 bubbles PeggyH383, Jul 15, 2016 | Read review
“Top floor may be better, away from stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles Sharonstp, Jul 11, 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in the motel, which I think is MARGINALLY less crap than the main building”
 of 5 bubbles Nonworkingmonkey, Nov 1, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay