We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Auberge Sur Mer

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Auberge Sur Mer
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 32: English reviews
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This is a charming old inn with adjacent motel rooms. Both are right on the water. What makes this place special in my opinion, is the restaurant. They have skilled servers and chef. I'd recommend including the optional dinner and breakfast...worth every penny! Bon voyage!

Helpful?
Thank Eileen D
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed on our way travelling from Moncton, N.B. to Mt. Tremblant. We were to stay in the main building (which looks absolutely beautiful), but because we were early and our room wasn't ready, we were offered an "upgrade" room in the attached hotel section. The room was very clean and comfortable, but dated. We assume the "update" must have... More 

Helpful?
Thank SharonDon O
Aubergesurmer, Responsable réception at Auberge Sur Mer, responded to this review

Hello Mrs ans Mr O. Thank you for the great review! I think that you agree that being so close to the water is a nice upgrade to any kind of room. We did renovations on a lot of rooms this summer and we are still upgrading the other ones. We really are famous for the quality of the restaurant,... More 

Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had dinner in this restaurant and it was the best dinner we had in our stay in Canada. Delicious ! Surprising mains, definitively extremely good. The personnel is very nice and quick. The place is old style decorated and classy. We loved this dinner.

Helpful?
1 Thank Oriana P
Aubergesurmer, Responsable réception at Auberge Sur Mer, responded to this review

Bonjour Mrs. Oriana, Thank you so much for this review. We work very hard to keep that good reputation and we are pleased to read this nice comment. We hope to see you again in the future ! More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ae have been driving from Toronto to the east for many years. We have tried stopping in various places...Quebec City, Levis, Edmonston. But we have settled on Notre-Dame Du-Portage as the perfect place to stop. We have probably stayed there now on 10 occasions for a single night on our journey. You can stay at a simple clean room in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
Aubergesurmer, Responsable réception at Auberge Sur Mer, responded to this review

Dear Mr Robert, You made our day with that nice review ! It is our best reward to know that our visitors are happy with us. L'Auberge sur Mer is a nice stop in between Ontario and PEI or New-Brunswick and many people choose to stay with us every year. We hope to see you again. Thank you ! More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The place is amazing but when I got there one room I had booked was not reserved for me. Don't trust this place. I was then overcharged (paid the price for a room with river view and got a back view, with no good conversation or apologies but bad treatment. And I also saw a French guest left our of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Norton L
Aubergesurmer, Responsable réception at Auberge Sur Mer, responded to this review

Hello Mr Norton, We don't understand your comment. We do not recall such a situation this summer ! Are you sure you were here at L'Auberge sur Mer of Notre-Dame-du-Portage ? You can be sure that we do our best to see all our clients happy. You can contact us directly at info@aubergesurmer.ca and we will clarify what happened that... More 

Hellertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came on a rainy day when the river was hidden by fog. The restaurant was fantastic - I wish we had been able to enjoy the sunsets everyone saw. We were warned that our room, in the older section of the inn over the restaurant, might be noisy, but we didn't experience that at all. Rooms are a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jan C
Aubergesurmer, Responsable réception at Auberge Sur Mer, responded to this review

Hello Mr Jan, Thank you for this review. Indeed, the sunset here is one of the best in the world. We hope you will have a better weather next time so you can enjoy the magnificient colors of the sky ! Thanks for staying with us. More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2016

Auberge sur Mer is an old three-story wooden building with a two floor motel adjoining it. The third floor rooms in the main building are tiny, cramped, with no space to put luggage down other than the floor. There was no decent reading light, but there was a twelve-inch television. The "beach" is rocky/pebbly and the water cold so plan... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill M
Rosemere, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016

I am very familiar and fond of that area. My family tree brings me to the lower St-Lawrence at least every 5 years or so. I love Notre-Dame-du-Portage for it's view of the river as well as it's history. I usually only stay 1 night as we are driving through the area but this time I made it our destination.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peggy H
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

My room on the main floor had a beautiful view of the water. The room smelled and felt damp. I was lucky that the guests were quiet (mostly old folks) but when they got up at 4am to take their showers, you could hear everything. I have to say that the food at the restaurant was UNBELIEVABLE. I had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharonstp
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015

To put this in context: the only reason we stay here is because we've got family nearby - it's super-convenient, but that's about it. Last year, we stayed in the motel - pretty crap. This year, we stayed in the inn itself. The room was just about clean, but so scruffy, and so outdated, that we spent most of the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nonworkingmonkey
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (36)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Notre-Dame-du-Portage
2.3 mi away
Auberge du Portage
Auberge du Portage
#1 of 2 in Notre-Dame-du-Portage
4.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
5.6 mi away
Auberge de la Pointe
Auberge de la Pointe
#3 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
4.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Universel
Hotel Universel
#6 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Levesque
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Levesque
#1 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
4.5 of 5 stars 438 reviews
3.5 mi away
Days Inn - Riviere-du-Loup
Days Inn - Riviere-du-Loup
#5 of 17 in Riviere du Loup
4.0 of 5 stars 402 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B Chute Couette Cafe
B&B Chute Couette Cafe
#2 of 3 in Notre-Dame-du-Portage
5.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Auberge Sur Mer

Address: Du Fleuve Rd | 363, Notre-Dame-du-Portage, Quebec G0L 1Y0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Notre-Dame-du-Portage
Price Range: $78 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Sur Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Auberge Sur Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Sur Mer Notre-Dame-Du-Portage, Quebec
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay