We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hotel Monte Codeno

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Monte Codeno
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 62: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were unfortunately booked into this hotel for a night after a double booking in the place we had booked. The room we were given was incredibly small and basic with barred windows and was very unpleasant smelling when we arrived. This improved once we opened the window and there was airflow. The shower tap was loose and in desperate... More 

Helpful?
Thank White4551
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is really nice: the city center is really close and it also extremly close to the harbour where you can take a ferry to the other cities on the shore. The staff here is great and welcome. I've got a lot of useful info from them. The rooms are quite good either. Anyway I can recommend this hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roman N
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

The good in this hotel is the location, which is near the train station, WIFI and the hotel owner. While the bad things are many such as, the furniture is very old and un-convenient, the room is small, and there is no welcome package. In general the hotel require total renovation.

Helpful?
Thank Mohammad D
Albergo M, Proprietario at Hotel Monte Codeno, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for you review. I'm sorry that you wanted to write this kind of review, but I think you could see all about the hotel by our picture here, on our website, on the site that you use for reservation, we use true pic and we are simple hotel, if you wanted the luxury hotel you have to... More 

Level Contributor
428 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed our 3 nights stay here. This is a small family run business. The room was clean and comfortable. However the shower is a tiny open space enclosed with an acrylic curtain which stuck to our skins during showers. There's a simple complimentary breakfast. The room charge was reasonable. This place is located close to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank CKY281
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

My husband and I stayed here for one night. Our experience was great--from arrival until after we left. We were extremely impressed with our hosts and hostesses, who did everything they could to make us feel welcome and enjoy our stay. They went above and beyond for us. The room we stayed in was clean, and the bathroom was (by... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

Family run hotel 5 minutes walk to train station, ferry station and restaurants. The garden view room we had is in the back, on top of a flight of stairs. It is very clean, and has a charming cottage feeling to it with whitewashed walls, simple furniture, and is spacious and quiet. The free wi-fi is strong, the bathroom with... More 

Helpful?
Thank thu51
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016

We had an amazing experience! Clean rooms, friendly staff, and a great breakfast. I never caught the owners name for which I am sorry for, but she was super-friendly. Yes, she could not speak English, but we are in Italy. When I go to someone else's country, I dont expect them to speak anything but their native language. Just like... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tyler C
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2016 via mobile

We were in Italy for business and only had one day to make a detour to view the beautiful area of Lake Como. Hotel MonteCodeno was the ideal solution for the place to stay. Right next to the train station, free WiFi and in the cozy and tranquil town of Varenna where you have easy access to the rest of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mchirch
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2016 via mobile

Just a bad hotel. Very not good looking, horrible bed and pillows, noisy, hostess doesn't speak a word in english, the room was frozen with no option for heating... Apart from that the location is good, free close parking, free Wifi, clean, OK shower.

Helpful?
Thank tal_do88
Albergo M, Proprietario at Hotel Monte Codeno, responded to this review

Hello, I'm sorry you had to write this revie without stay at our hotel, You made a no show, so for the cancellation policy we let you pay the first night of your stay by credit card, and you decide to give us a bad review without reason. No problem, we know that is nothing true into your review. Wish... More 

Novato, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2016

From our first phonecall...to our 3 day stay...Marco and his mother were kind, warm and so helpful. After a rough time in Sicily...we intended to stay only one night..but ended up staying 3!! It was clean, warm, inexpensive and half block to docks...nice lake view...but more importantly... Marco and his mom made it the PERFECT choice. We had the breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank wmef4d
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varenna hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
4.0 of 5 stars 676 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albergo Beretta
Albergo Beretta
#6 of 6 in Varenna
4.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#3 of 6 in Varenna
4.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family-run hotel with restaurant and possibility of discounts in the adjacent beach . If you contact the hotel directly via email you can receive discounts on longer stays . Located a short walk from the ferry and the train station to the hotel Montecodeno will try to make you feel at home . Available moto parking and free rental bikecycle ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Codeno

Address: Via della Croce 2, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Price Range: $84 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Codeno 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Monte Codeno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay