We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Royal Victoria

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

262 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 192: English reviews
Coto de Caza, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We got the view with patio although next time view with open door is all you need. Great view lovely morning sight while sun is behind you. Afternoon you get hit with sun. First night ate in their grill, wedding at restaurant on the water so was closed to us. Room is simple, clean & big enough. Breakfast included was... More 

Helpful?
Thank danajayne
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks so much! It's a great pleasure for us to read your words. We hope to welcome you again. More 

New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

As the morning sun clears the mountain, it shines down on the lake and the charming Royal Victoria. The hotel could not have a better location, it's front door on the Piazza San Giorgio and the wonderful restaurant, pool and terrace give you sweeping views of the lake. Treat yourself to a lake view room, open your shutters and take... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lililuke
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

We really thank you! It's a pleasure for us to read your words and see that our efforts are well understood. Hope to welcome you next time you'll be in Italy! More 

Scottsdale
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I stopped in Como on our honeymoon and when other rooms in the area were booked we found the Royal Victoria. This place should be #1 in Siena hands down!!!! The hotel is right off the main town square and walking distance from the train. The view from our room was unreal, its worth the extra money... More 

Helpful?
Thank MandersPandersAZ
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks so much! See you next time! More 

Sunny So Cal
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We chose this hotel off TA and weren't disappointed. Upgrade to the Lake View, it's why you are here. We had room 105 and it was terrific but try to get off the main floor. It got way too noisy hearing people coming and going. Well appointed, not 5 star but fine. Close to everything and a wonderful city to... More 

Helpful?
Thank GolingGal949
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks so much, We hope to welcome you again in the future! More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Firstly Varenna is beautiful but then you know that. Reasons to stay here. Rooms have been recently refurbished or at least seem so. Very clean, very new. The hotel has a pool which is rare and lovely gardens for chilling in the day. Also right on the lake for a swim out there too. Staff are lovely particularly the guys... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steven G
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks so much, We hope to welcome you again! More 

Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you don't want consistent internet this is the place for you! It went in and out every few minutes during most of the week I was there and was told there's nothing that can improve that. Upon arrival the safe didn't work (needed battery), the TV remote didn't work (needed battery) and the room was dark and bathroom darker.... More 

Helpful?
Thank A C C
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We now solved our missing with wifi. We fixed it and it's working well. You wrote as Anonymous, so we don't know who you are and which was your room. Sorry for the inconvenience of the batteries, we think we solved in a few minutes. The rooms rates could be different according to kind of rooms or period.... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is good looking and the room is great.. however the breakfast is pretty poor and there is no free parking for guests. I would go with airbnb next time or rent an apartment in Varenna instead.

Helpful?
1 Thank liri84
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We're afraid if your stay with us has not been as you though. Our breakfast buffet provides sweet/ salty hot/cold homemade food. gluteen free corner and extra services. The kitchen is open from 7.00 o clock for all kind of needs. It would be good for us to know what you mean with "poor" only to know what's... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a fabulous holiday in Varenna. The Royal Victoria made us very welcome. We enjoyed our meals in the grill and were well looked after by Martin. We were also well looked after in the car by Martino. The balcony gave us a fabulous view of the lake . Our room was comfortable and we enjoyed the mood shower.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mvfttuihdd
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us so much! We'll tell our staff about your review, they'll be happy at our Restaurant Victoria Grill to know it! More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this hotel for 3 nights as it was close to the venue of a friends wedding. We had a lake view room on the ground floor that was spacious although the bathroom was on the small side but it did have a walk in shower. The view was spectacular from the balcony but it was not very private... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bellskiblue
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Dear Guests, We are glad you enjoyed your stay here! Unfortunately the outdoor laundry service doesn't support us during weekend and hodiday day. Hope to welcome you again More 

Conegliano, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed a brief vacation at Hotel Royal Victoria with our parents (three rooms), and it has been fantastic. Varenna is a jewel in itself, and the Hotel is in a perfect location within the small village, and short walking distance (scenic pedestrian path along lake Como shore) from the ferry to Bellagio. Very nice and comfortable rooms with large... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Piero G
StefaniaCorti-Royal, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind words! We hope to welcome you again More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

450 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (154)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Other (80)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (207)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Junior Suite Manzoni (35)
Viewed
Lake View Room (34)
Viewed
Outdoor Swimming Pool (16)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Square View Room (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (89)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
4.0 of 5 stars 662 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
4.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 stars 860 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#3 of 6 in Varenna
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Royal Victoria is a four stars hotel facing the lake, situated in the historical centre of Varenna, a charming medieval village and one of the most appreciated tourist destinations of lake Como. The recent renovations have preserved its XIX century aspect; the rooms offer all modern comforts while maintaining the atmosphere of a charming hotel. The bright and comfortable hall provide a refined and attractive atmosphere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Victoria

Address: Piazza San Giorgio 2, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Price Range: $194 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Varenna
Royal Victoria Hotel Varenna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay